Page 3 of 3 FirstFirst 123
    Quote Originally Posted by Glory Lurker View Post
    I wasn't at the game, but Scotland-England in 1985 was unsegregated. The English fans were taken out of the ground by the police because things had started to kick off a bit. Don't think there would be bother between Scotland and England fans these days.

According to this article, the England 'Fans' had gained entry to a part of the ground reserved for Scottish Supporters.

"These England fans had to be shepherded out of the ground and led to Mount Florida station after coming off the worst in skirmishing that accounted for many of the 85 arrests on the day."

Quote Originally Posted by Nakedmanoncrack View Post
    Almost every Scotland away game I've been at has been unsegregatated - with varying numbers of Scotland fans in home end. On only one occasion (Macedonia) was there any attempt to stop us gaining entry to home section, even then we eventually got in. Paris 07 is the best example, around half the stadium Scots. Games in finals of WC or EC are never fully segregated and this rarely leads to problems regardless of who the teams involved are.
    Me and my mate had tickets for the home end in the 1-0 game but, never got in. After they took an early lead we just headed back to the boozers along the river and watched it there, great trip.

First Team Regular scm70nyd1973's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by therealgavmac View Post
    I've been to Wembley on a number of occasions where in 100,000 at leat 90,000 plus were Scots fans. Also, the "goalpost" game, Ted Croker tried to ban the Scots from Wembley by not officially giving the SFA tickets..... that worked out well!

Cue the renditions of, "Ban us fae Wembley, Ye cannae ban us fae Wembley, Ban us fae Weeeeeeembley....." etc

The 'goalposts' game was '77 - it was '79 when the ban went in as a result of the goings on 2 years prior - pissing with rain that day in '79 and about 70,000 of us in there - banner saying "So you tried to ban us Mr Croker" - oh and we won 1-0 ! There was no transport that day so we had to walk back to the city centre - by that time it had stopped raining.

Back on topic - I remember that directly behind the goals where the penalty was scored there was a thin strip of English fans from top to bottom who were hardly heard all game - we were jam packed in and on either side if them. Don't remember any bother - you know the big hole that would suddenly appear when it all kicked off.

Remember going to a Hibs V Rangers game on a Wednesday night, just got in up the terracing walking along the causeway between the terracing and the high bank, my mate who was in front of me was hit on the head with a full can of beer and knocked out cold.
    Around us the white hankies were waving, he was put on a stretcher we were taken down the terrace over the half-way line down tunnel and into an ambulance.
    Time at that match less than 5 minutes, all because the mixed crowed were having a slanging match before the game had started, remembering at that time these games would have 30,000 plus attending.

Quote Originally Posted by where'stheslope View Post
    Remember going to a Hibs V Rangers game on a Wednesday night, just got in up the terracing walking along the causeway between the terracing and the high bank, my mate who was in front of me was hit on the head with a full can of beer and knocked out cold.
    Around us the white hankies were waving, he was put on a stretcher we were taken down the terrace over the half-way line down tunnel and into an ambulance.
    Time at that match less than 5 minutes, all because the mixed crowed were having a slanging match before the game had started, remembering at that time these games would have 30,000 plus attending.
    I remember the white hankies!

Unfortunately I think that game was maybe the one where Colin Stein scored an equaliser in the last minute.

I was walking along Albion Road after the final whistle when three Huns approached me and said, "You were lucky getting a draw." I said, "You were lucky getting a equaliser." Next thing I know, I got punched in the face and they ran off up Easter Road. I've hated the *********s ever since - although I did get my own back several years later - satisfyingly.

Changed ends

I've been to Wembley on a number of occasions where in 100,000 at leat 90,000 plus were Scots fans. Also, the "goalpost" game, Ted Croker tried to ban the Scots from Wembley by not officially giving the SFA tickets..... that worked out well!

Cue the renditions of, "Ban us fae Wembley, Ye cannae ban us fae Wembley, Ban us fae Weeeeeeembley....." etc
    In the 50s some fans went behind opposition goals and changed ends at half time. The was a bit of pushing and banter not much real trouble. I also recall a time when we played Rangers and Celtic at Easter road ic consecutive weeks, one week we were fienan bar steward the next we were blue nosed bar stewards. Hibs fielded same team both games. Nae subs then.

Quote Originally Posted by Glory Lurker View Post
    I wasn't at the game, but Scotland-England in 1985 was unsegregated. The English fans were taken out of the ground by the police because things had started to kick off a bit. Don't think there would be bother between Scotland and England fans these days.
    I was at the game, England didn't have any tickets allocated but had bought tickets in our sections, East and North terraces. Once game started it kicked off in all sections the English fans were in. Vastly outnumbered they were forced to the front under a hail of flag sticks, bottles, cans etc, then on to the track before being escorted right out off the stadium. It was a humiliation they were determined to make up for on subsequent trips to Hampden.

No trouble in the stadium at last England game, but it was strictly segregated, some battles after the game but not on scale of previous years.

@hibs.net private member therealgavmac's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by scm70nyd1973 View Post
    The 'goalposts' game was '77 - it was '79 when the ban went in as a result of the goings on 2 years prior - pissing with rain that day in '79 and about 70,000 of us in there - banner saying "So you tried to ban us Mr Croker" - oh and we won 1-0 ! There was no transport that day so we had to walk back to the city centre - by that time it had stopped raining.

Back on topic - I remember that directly behind the goals where the penalty was scored there was a thin strip of English fans from top to bottom who were hardly heard all game - we were jam packed in and on either side if them. Don't remember any bother - you know the big hole that would suddenly appear when it all kicked off.
    Old age clouding the brain...... the 1-0 game was a Robertson penalty IIRC..... and the travel ban..... I remember drinking in a pub in Golders Green stowed with Scots then a walking parade to Wembley afterwards....

https://m.youtube.com/watch?v=KlJSbPZmMp4

These threads are what bring me back to Hibs.net. Made me think
    Of this

First Team Regular scm70nyd1973's Avatar
    Old age clouding the brain...... the 1-0 game was a Robertson penalty IIRC..... and the travel ban..... I remember drinking in a pub in Golders Green stowed with Scots then a walking parade to Wembley afterwards....
    Yup that was it - Stevie Archibald 'won' is the penalty - I've still got a photo of it going in the onion bag. Old age does cloud things coz I can't recall how I got over to the game with the travel ban being on - I remember walking back and going through an area that mainly was lived in by black dudes and having a sing song with them as they were all bedecked with Scottish flags, scarves etc etc

Left by mutual consent! Iggy Pope's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by Is It On.... View Post
    ACAB...also the title of a cracking song by early 80s OI band The 4 Skins.
    Post of the week!