Page 4 of 5 FirstFirst ... 2345 LastLast
    K
    Quote Originally Posted by Austinho View Post
    Isn’t there quite a few Hibs references on the computer game Grand Theft Auto? Not sure what they are mind you.

Also seen a fair bit of Hibs coverage on a couple of Danny Dyer programmes - Real Football Factory and Britain’s Hardest Men (Bradley Welsh).
    GTA developed in Edinburgh by Rockstar so not surprising.

There are a lot of books available on HIBS casuals culture / CCS : These Colours Don’t Run and Hibsboy.

Isn’t there quite a few Hibs references on the computer game Grand Theft Auto? Not sure what they are mind you.

Also seen a fair bit of Hibs coverage on a couple of Danny Dyer programmes - Real Football Factory and Britain’s Hardest Men (Bradley Welsh).
    It's been said somewhere that the two main gangs in GTA San Andreas were ment to represent Hibs and Hearts. The good guys wore green and the bad guys wore maroon. Also a lot of Edinburgh references in that game.

@hibs.net private member snooky's Avatar
    Many years ago I read a book called "The Clydesiders". It may have been a prequal or sequal to "No Mean City". In it the main character says that his dad was going to Ibrox because he wanted to see Gordon Smith playing ( the Hibs Gordon Smith of course).

Its not really Hibs as such, but the bad guys in GTA4 were called Roman and Vlad! Previous games have plenty other Edinburgh references, there is a golf course called Leaf Links, they have the Forth bridges, etc.

Think Trainspotting 2 had even more Hibs references than the first! The George Best scene in particular, and lots of Hibees merchandise in the pub etc.

Just finished reading Dead Man's Trousers which is sort of a follow up to Porno/Trainspotting 2. Rife with Hibs references including the boys going to the Scottish Cup final which somebody linked to Irvine Welsh reading at Leith Theatre a while back.

Be interesting if they make it as a Trainspotting 3. For anyone looking to read it The Blade Artist is required reading beforehand as it sets up the changes in Begbie's character.

Quote Originally Posted by iwasthere1972 View Post
    Got beat by Dundee United by all accounts. Dev.
    I remember watching that episode and feeling really chuffed that we got a mention. Even if we did lose

Watching the TDF on ITV4 just now, and the name Begbie came up.

The commentator mentioned that Begbie was a "character in a novel set in Leith".

His co-commentator, Pippa Millar (until 5 minutes ago one of my cycling heroes ), said, "well, we like to think of him as from Glasgow....".

Quote Originally Posted by CropleyWasGod View Post
    Watching the TDF on ITV4 just now, and the name Begbie came up.

The commentator mentioned that Begbie was a "character in a novel set in Leith".

His co-commentator, Pippa Millar (until 5 minutes ago one of my cycling heroes ), said, "well, we like to think of him as from Glasgow....".

“Whae **** says I’m fae Glesgae !! “.

First Team Breakthrough NZ Green's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by Sir Albert of Kidd View Post
    Its not really Hibs as such, but the bad guys in GTA4 were called Roman and Vlad! Previous games have plenty other Edinburgh references, there is a golf course called Leaf Links, they have the Forth bridges, etc.
    The 'good' guys/gangs always wear green. Grove Street wore green in San Andreas, also the gang lived in 'Ganton'.

Dev Allahan from Coronation Street was taken to Easter Road by a relative when he was wee, we got beat off of Dundee or Dunfermline

There was a BBC sit-com years ago called "The Creatives" set in an advertising agency. One of the main characters was played by Grant Stott. When he was shown working at his desk his Hibs' mug was always prominent. (good man!) I thought it was pretty good comedy but only seemed to last the one series.

Heard subtle Hibs references in river city when I used to watch it. Assumed there must've been a hibby writer or something.

I know that "jimmy" is a real life hibby.

There was an episode jimmys dad turned up. He got arrested and when he got huckled the officer called him Jock* Smith Reilly Turnbull Ormond Johnstone "Surname"

First Team Regular GORDONSMITH7's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by BoomtownHibeys View Post
    I'm sure a nurse/Doctor in Casualty wore a Hibs pin badge on their uniform
    Correct and the actor mentioned it.

BIG G

First Team Regular GORDONSMITH7's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by sambajustice View Post
    Heard subtle Hibs references in river city when I used to watch it. Assumed there must've been a hibby writer or something.

I know that "jimmy" is a real life hibby.

There was an episode jimmys dad turned up. He got arrested and when he got huckled the officer called him Jock* Smith Reilly Turnbull Ormond Johnstone "Surname"
    Billy McElhaney can be seen in the West most games, if not working.

BIG G

Probably been mentioned before but that despicable character DS Bruce Robertson in Filth Irvine Welsh was none other than the HIBS supporting jambo John Robertson hammer of the HIBS !!

Quote Originally Posted by superfurryhibby View Post
    "I can understand why Stranraer are so lowly, they could save a lot of points by signing the Hibs goalie"

or

"sixty miles to Kilmarnock, just to see Hibernian play, the day was bright and sunny, but the game I won't relate"

Some lyrics from two different songs from a well known band from the 1980's ( the band are still well known now).

My favourite reference is the band name "The Suns of Albert", commemorating the legendary moustachioed maestro, Sir Alberto Kidd.

The Blue Rose Code also reference the Hibees in one of their songs, maybe the "Ghosts of Leith".
    Thought I’d bump this up as it’s a beautiful song called Edina. Hibs references at 54 seconds.

https://youtu.be/QPOyHs1Bpto

1902 The Play

So Ive just bought tickets for this "1902" Show at the edinburgh festival this year, I noticed there wasd a thread posted last year but unfortunately I couldny get tickets! anyone seen it? or planning to go this year?

Tam Dean Burn, Fire Engines/ actor, his bother Russell - Fire Engines/Win/Boots for dancing

we got a mention on last nights The Chase as well
    Last edited by One Day; 21-07-2018 at 08:14 AM. Reason: spelling

A lot of mentions in the Inspector Rebus novels and TV series loosely based on the books by Ian Rankin. Anyone remember the episode where Rebus ( jambo Ken Stott) does the deed on the centre spot at Easter Road? Cannae get any better publicity than that!

Quote Originally Posted by Jim44 View Post
    Thought I’d bump this up as it’s a beautiful song called Edina. Hibs references at 54 seconds.

That's cracking. Cheers.

Sent from my SM-A520F using Tapatalk

Quote Originally Posted by Just Jimmy View Post
    That's cracking. Cheers.

Sent from my SM-A520F using Tapatalk
    If you like them, check out their latest album The Water of Leith.

Lindsay Lohan was a massive Hibs fan in The Parent Trap (1998)

Quote Originally Posted by Jim44 View Post

First dance at my wedding 👍🏻💚

Blue Rose Code did an amazing mashup of Sunshine on Leith and Edina.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=hEAqShvKHNg
    Last edited by Austinho; 21-04-2019 at 09:37 AM.

@hibs.net private member speedy_gonzales's Avatar
    Blue Rose Code did an amazing mashup of Sunshine on Leith and Edina.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=hEAqShvKHNg
    Brilliant, sitting here in a train to the game with a tear in my eye,,,, why does SoL mean so much to me?!?

Quote Originally Posted by hibee_girl View Post
    We were mentioned in New Tricks once too iirc
    Yep, by Denis Waterman...not the first time he's mentioned us although probably just coincidence....he was the mainpart in some comedy serial a few years ago, and he asked a question about us then..of his employee/girlfriend who had a Scottish accent...if she was a HIbs supporter.

First Team Regular Topographic Hibby's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by Forza Fred View Post
    Yep, by Denis Waterman...not the first time he's mentioned us although probably just coincidence....he was the mainpart in some comedy serial a few years ago, and he asked a question about us then..of his employee/girlfriend who had a Scottish accent...if she was a HIbs supporter.
    Check back this thread to my reply a few years back on this. See reply #40.

Testimonial Due NadeAteMyLunch!'s Avatar
    An infinitely cooler club than Hearts