Page 2 of 5 FirstFirst 1234 ... LastLast
    Quote Originally Posted by Is It On.... View Post
    Begbie, Spud, Renton & Sickbay..
    Haven't seen any of these films

Was Gary the tank commander no a hibee or am I imagining that?

We are pretty much the coolest team in the world.

@hibs.net private member barcahibs's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by 1van Sprou7e View Post
    I dont think so... But there was another British army in Afghanistan comedy on the BBC called Bluestone 42 and one of the lead characters in it was a Hibby. Close up of his Hibs tattoo on his arm in the opening credits every week and one episode has a subplot of him and his mate trying to avoid finding out the result of a Hibs v celtc match.

There was also a really weak Dennis Waterman comedy on the BBC sometime after Minder finished where the female lead was a Hibs fan - the subject seemed to come up most weeks.

Jack Docherty of Absolutely comedy fame is a big Hibby, the McGlashan character who hates the English celebrates Hibs beating hearts in one sketch.

There was also the BBC spoof new year show that they showed one Hogmanay. It was supposed to be being broadcast live from one of the Western Isles and it was full of comedy mistakes like producers and cameramen wandering into shot. It was being "made" by the Highland and Islands Broadcasting Service... HIBS for short, and all the cameras and equipment had HIBS in huge letters on them - sure the credits even said "with thanks to HIBS" or something like that :) I think it was produced by Jack Docherty so i doubt it was an accident :)

These things mattered growing up when you were the only Hibby in your year :)

Also seem to remember Russel Brand not long ago tweeting about Hibs being a cool club? Noticed at the weekend that he got married to Kirsty Gallachers sister recently... Sucking up to the in laws? :)

There are many Tartan Noir novels, in addition to Rebus, where The Hibees are mentioned including by Allan Guthrie, Tony Black, Chris Brookmyre & Quintin Jardine. In addition Gordon Williams,author of Straw Dogs, mentions The Famous 5 in his novel, They Used to Play On Grass, supposedly co-written with Terry Venables!

I'm sure a nurse/Doctor in Casualty wore a Hibs pin badge on their uniform

Quote Originally Posted by Superfuddyhibby View Post
    Don't know who Kris Needs is but I recall some connection with Primal Scream on the Hibee Nation song?

Have you listened to the Suns of Albert? With a name like yours your you should give them a listen.

Here's another literary reference that no one will take heed of. In the book of short stories by Duncan McLean, "A Bucketfull of Tongues", there is a story about Aberdeen casuals taking on the Hibs Druids hooligan crew.

It always irked me because when I was in my 20's, I was the Pres of an imaginary motorcycle chapter called the Hibs Druids. In another little known figment of my imagination, Easter Road was once the site of an ancient stone circle and that people gathered there for millenia, tapping into the earth energies that flow through the site to this day.
    Aye Primal Scream meet the big man uptown.....a ref to Lee Scratch Perry and the cover is the tartan army invading the pitch taking the goal posts etc at Wembley 77. Kris Needs may be involved as he did do some work with the Scream team in the 90s.

Not the greatest record, dubby and a bit strung out....if you know what I mean.

Quote Originally Posted by 1van Sprou7e View Post
    Yeah he was in Forth one saying he watched Hibs quite a bit.

Quote Originally Posted by barcahibs View Post
    I dont think so... But there was another British army in Afghanistan comedy on the BBC called Bluestone 42 and one of the lead characters in it was a Hibby. Close up of his Hibs tattoo on his arm in the opening credits every week and one episode has a subplot of him and his mate trying to avoid finding out the result of a Hibs v celtc match.

There was also a really weak Dennis Waterman comedy on the BBC sometime after Minder finished where the female lead was a Hibs fan - the subject seemed to come up most weeks.

Jack Docherty of Absolutely comedy fame is a big Hibby, the McGlashan character who hates the English celebrates Hibs beating hearts in one sketch.

There was also the BBC spoof new year show that they showed one Hogmanay. It was supposed to be being broadcast live from one of the Western Isles and it was full of comedy mistakes like producers and cameramen wandering into shot. It was being "made" by the Highland and Islands Broadcasting Service... HIBS for short, and all the cameras and equipment had HIBS in huge letters on them - sure the credits even said "with thanks to HIBS" or something like that :) I think it was produced by Jack Docherty so i doubt it was an accident :)

These things mattered growing up when you were the only Hibby in your year :)

Also seem to remember Russel Brand not long ago tweeting about Hibs being a cool club? Noticed at the weekend that he got married to Kirsty Gallachers sister recently... Sucking up to the in laws? :)
    Aye that's what I was thinking about although I think the actor who plays Gary may also be a hibs fan

And you're right about Mr Brand

https://twitter.com/rustyrockets/sta...23911821086721

First Team Regular Topographic Hibby's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by barcahibs View Post
    The programme was "On The Up" and the secretary was a Hibs supporter. It usually came up in negative terms, e.g. if she was short with DW, he would reply with "What's up with you, Hibs got beat again?" or similar.

And you're right, it was a very weak sit-com.

https://en.m.wikipedia.org/wiki/On_the_Up

Quote Originally Posted by High-On-Hibs View Post
    Classic

Just Shown my Daughter this and she is away to bed as Chuffed as F... That E.T. is a Hibby..

She Loves E.T. but i've never Shown her this.. Thanks for Posting..

Gamertag: Myjo5984 Wii Code: 3916 0145 9394 9493
    Hibby character with the badge on his arm in Filth

Quote Originally Posted by Colr View Post
    In the books it's Siobhan who's the Hibs fan.
    That's correct.

At a book signing a few years back, I asked Ian Rankin why Rebus was portrayed as a Hibby in the TV shows. His exact answer was "only did it to wind up Ken Stott who's an avid Jambo"!!

Now that's 'Hibs class'.

First Team Regular leithsansiro's Avatar
    In the Admiral Fallow song "Subueteo", the lyrics talk about a set of red figures being painted green, which is a reference to their singer Lewis' passion for the Hibs.

Plus, they do a good cover of SoL

Gamertag: Myjo5984 Wii Code: 3916 0145 9394 9493
    The film & stage show Sunshine on Leith..........obviously

Quote Originally Posted by Superfuddyhibby View Post
    Don't know who Kris Needs is but I recall some connection with Primal Scream on the Hibee Nation song?

Have you listened to the Suns of Albert? With a name like yours your you should give them a listen.

Here's another literary reference that no one will take heed of. In the book of short stories by Duncan McLean, "A Bucketfull of Tongues", there is a story about Aberdeen casuals taking on the Hibs Druids hooligan crew.

It always irked me because when I was in my 20's, I was the Pres of an imaginary motorcycle chapter called the Hibs Druids. In another little known figment of my imagination, Easter Road was once the site of an ancient stone circle and that people gathered there for millenia, tapping into the earth energies that flow through the site to this day.
    Kris Needs was Primal Screams tour DJ so I think that's where their reference has come with Hibee nation.

I have heard of Suns of Albert but not listened to their stuff. Will do.

@hibs.net private member McSwanky's Avatar
    Anybody mentioned John Peel yet? If not, JOHN PEEL!

Quote Originally Posted by hibby6270 View Post
    That's correct.

At a book signing a few years back, I asked Ian Rankin why Rebus was portrayed as a Hibby in the TV shows. His exact answer was "only did it to wind up Ken Stott who's an avid Jambo"!!

Now that's 'Hibs class'.

Wasn't Rebus originally a Raith Rovers fan?

Quote Originally Posted by Souter96Mac View Post
    Haven't seen any of these films
    Sickbay was better known as Casualty.

Quote Originally Posted by Keekaboo View Post
    Wasn't Rebus originally a Raith Rovers fan?
    I think it was them or Cowdenbeath. Whoever, Ian Rankin supports.

Quote Originally Posted by woodythehibee View Post
    They have a song called "Edina" which has a Hibs reference. Great tune
    This was first dance at my wedding in April. Magic

Quote Originally Posted by Topographic Hibby View Post
    The programme was "On The Up" and the secretary was a Hibs supporter. It usually came up in negative terms, e.g. if she was short with DW, he would reply with "What's up with you, Hibs got beat again?" or similar.

And you're right, it was a very weak sit-com.

https://en.m.wikipedia.org/wiki/On_the_Up

That was one of the worst 'comedies' ever.

Quote Originally Posted by NAE NOOKIE View Post
    Outside of the 'bigger' clubs can there be a club anywhere who are referenced more in books TV and cinema than Hibs are. I was watching a film in the wee small hours last night with Scarlett Johansson in it where basically she plays an alien who drives around Glasgow picking up random strangers and killing them 'under the skin' is the film.

Anyway ... she picks up this guy with a green & white scarf on who you think is a Celtic supporter, but then he takes off his jacket and is resplendent in an 11/12 season Hibs top which made me laugh ..... Miss Johansson takes stuff off as well
    That is far and away the second worst film I have ever seen in my life, the most ridiculous nonsense ever 😂.

Private Members Prediction League Winner Hibrandenburg's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by Deansy View Post
    They filmed an episode of 'Rebus' in Portobello one day and Stott came into our local, 'The Tides Inn'. (sadly no longer !) After being (jokingly) threatened with 'This is a Hibee pub, Pal - Nae Jambos' he joined us and was surprisingly quite knowledgeable about the game for one of them, good laugh too - even brought a round !!
    No wonder the place closed if you had to bring your own drinks with you!

@hibs.net private member McSwanky's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by GreenArmyyy! View Post
    That is far and away the second worst film I have ever seen in my life, the most ridiculous nonsense ever 😂.
    Dare I ask, what was the worst?

@hibs.net private member Juice-Terry's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by GreenArmyyy! View Post
    It's an AWFUL film, right enough.

Did Rebus not dislike football and wonder what all the fuss was about?

I've not read a Rebus book for years but I seem to remember him being a bit scathing about his colleagues enthusiasm for Hibs.

He's from the same part of the world as my Dad, who has always had a similar opinion on myself and my wee brother's passion for Hibs.

Quote Originally Posted by McS****y View Post
    Dare I ask, what was the worst?
    When I saw his post there, I thought I'd managed to locate the only other person in the world who has sat through "2 headed shark attack".

@hibs.net private member hibee_girl's Avatar
    Pretty sure we were mentioned in river city a few times too, seem to remember Jimmy reading a book about us in one scene.

@hibs.net private member snooky's Avatar
    Anybody mention the John Peel photo with the Hibs top yet?
    peelhibs.jpg