Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 123 LastLast

Thread: James Collins

Quote Originally Posted by Marinehibby View Post
    You must be a Watford fan the Hatters are my English team
    I had the misfortune of working in Luton.for a few months about 10 years ago...im afraid it really.is the arsewipe of England...dreadful place

Heffernan and Rowan Vine where far, far worse as what that boy Danny someone who was decent down South but ended up brutal for us.

First Team Regular Billy McKirdy's Avatar

Gamertag: N?A Wii Code: N?A
    Quote Originally Posted by Borderhibbie76 View Post
    I had the misfortune of working in Luton.for a few months about 10 years ago...im afraid it really.is the arsewipe of England...dreadful place

Aye, it's only marginally better than Govan, not really much to commend it is there? still, been a Luton fan over 30 years and always will be 😎

PSN ID: wilson1875
    Im I right in thinking we could have bought Leigh for 175k but passed on that to then pay 200k for this utter dumpling? Woeful.

Quote Originally Posted by Hfcwilson3192 View Post
    Im I right in thinking we could have bought Leigh for 175k but passed on that to then pay 200k for this utter dumpling? Woeful.
    I thought that Rod Petrie confirmed that we did not pay 200k for Collins? I seem to remember that this was yet another Hibs.net myth.....

PSN ID: wilson1875
    Quote Originally Posted by HoboHarry View Post
    I thought that Rod Petrie confirmed that we did not pay 200k for Collins? I seem to remember that this was yet another Hibs.net myth.....
    God knows mate I would like to think he paid us 200k to pull on our magnificent top.

@hibs.net private member Spike Mandela's Avatar
    Young lad came to us with good goals record, tried his best, scored against the Jambos but ultimately never worked out for him under a ***** manager.

Give the guy a break and let bygones be bygones.

Nothing personal but James Collins is not, and was not, a good enough footballer to be playing for Hibs at that level. He wasn't the only one to be fair.

His first touch when receiving a pass was frequently very poor, and his positional sense and movement wasn't very good either. A donkey.

@hibs.net private member ian cruise's Avatar
    Anyone think he could still do a job for us?

Anyone?

Quote Originally Posted by High-On-Hibs View Post
    Stevenson and Hanlon were pretty pish during that time as well. But put some decent players around them and suddenly they don't look so bad.
    Disagree. Did both not win club player of the year around this time?

Is there a history of fans and players player of the year somewhere?

Quote Originally Posted by KWJ View Post
    Disagree. Did both not win club player of the year around this time?

Is there a history of fans and players player of the year somewhere?
    Stevenson was slated without mercy on here. COLLINS was inecbut many more a level below the SPL during that period. Confidence of any ok player shot to hell.

Quote Originally Posted by ian cruise View Post

Anyone?
    Too late, we already have the players to p15h all over hearts so it's a no from me.

Quote Originally Posted by ian cruise View Post

Anyone?
    On the back of his hat trick for Luton he is getting a bit of air time on sky sports news.

Spoke well and was complimentary of his team mate's contribution to his goals. Not a lot not to like.

Hopefully he has learned from his experiences and is all the better for them.

I won't hold a grudge against a player who tried but ultimately wasn't good enough.

We've moved on and players like Stokes and Murray will do for me.

I was excited when we signed Collins and hoped he'd become that 20 goal a season striker we needed after losing Griffiths and even Doyle, he had a good strike rate and I'm sure he scored a hattrick against Stoke too in the Cup the season we signed him, he didnt cover himself in glory unfortunately but he wasn't helped by his teammates who were the worst Hibs side I've seen in 25 years.

If Collins had stayed in 2014 I've got no doubt he and Jase would've scored a lot of goals together in the Championship under Stubbs

He looked crap in a crap team back then he was scoring for swindon but never did it unf for us

@hibs.net private member ian cruise's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by Bostonhibby View Post
    Too late, we already have the players to p15h all over hearts so it's a no from me.

Sorry tongue was firmly in cheek with that one but smiley was missing as posting from phone.

Hatrick for Luton Town today

What a player!

Quote Originally Posted by BILLYHIBS View Post
    Hatrick for Luton Town today

What a player!
    For every club he played for, apart from Hibs.

He always tried hard at ER and never hid.

Quote Originally Posted by Famous Fiver View Post

He said the line!!!’

First Team Breakthrough RedHibby's Avatar

Talking

Butcher had him up top and had the players punting long balls up to him, he is not a big guy so that would not suit his style. I find it rather amusing that he goes back down south and starts scoring goals again, wonder why that happens quite often.

He just never won a header. Ever. It used to drive me nuts.

He was garbage. Missed a sitter in about 3 derbies against hearts and only played in 5 of them.

Left by mutual consent! calumhibee1's Avatar
    Actually has a much better goals record than I expected of nearly one in three over his career. Thought he would have been around 1 in 5.

@hibs.net private member silverhibee's Avatar
    F***ing horrible player at Hibs.

Professional thread starter Diclonius's Avatar
    I'll never forget his miss in the relegation derby at ER. Of all the ****ty, awful, reality-defying snatching-defeat-from-jaws-of-victory pathetic misses I've seen in derbies, that has to be the absolute worst.

He was poor for us, but funnily enough I've thought a few times since he left that he'd have thrived in some of the teams we've had since. Stubbs' team looked like it was needing a player like him a few times.

The service to him was poor, he had some awful players to play up front with but still managed to miss a few too many chances.

It wasn't for a lack of effort though, and he's done well elsewhere so fair play to him.

@hibs.net private member eastterrace's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by Smartie View Post
    He was poor for us, but funnily enough I've thought a few times since he left that he'd have thrived in some of the teams we've had since. Stubbs' team looked like it was needing a player like him a few times.

The service to him was poor, he had some awful players to play up front with but still managed to miss a few too many chances.

It wasn't for a lack of effort though, and he's done well elsewhere so fair play to him.
    Yes service was poor

He was pants. That's a fact.
    He had duds like Fenlon and butcher in charge , but he couldn't control as pass or get to grips with Scottish fitba. Well rid