Page 3 of 7 FirstFirst 12345 ... LastLast
    Quote Originally Posted by Alan62 View Post
    It has to have made a difference. Hibs paid for the development and funded it out of income. Obviously, there were long term mortgage arrangements but these had to be funded. If we'd had no costs on the property side, we could have spent more on players.

While we also spent badly on players and management, there can be no doubt that we could have spent more if we hadn't rebuilt the stadium and built the training centre.

I thought we funded out of selling the golden generation and the land behind the East.

Quote Originally Posted by KingDomofFife84 View Post
    And Whittaker. We've signed more Scots than they have 😂 roasters
    And batch signing proven internationals like Marciano and Ambrose with the prospect of Stokes to follow.
    Mature, sensible signature required for responsible position. Good prospects for the right candidate. Apply within.

Quote Originally Posted by SingHibs View Post
    I thought we funded out of selling the golden generation and the land behind the East.
    Selling the golden generation still created income that could have been spent on players instead of infrastructure.

The point is that any infrastructure project will divert a portion of the club's income away from player investment. If there is no call on a club's revenue to pay for infrastructure then there will be more money available for other things and that usually means more investment in the playing squad.

Hearts are now in a position where they were already relying on donations to build their stand. They now have a major cost over-run on that project. Even if the finance for the project is structured in long-term borrowing, they have to service that debt. Even if the debt is to Ann Budge, it has to be repaid unless she agrees to give it as a gift, which seems unlikely.

While that is likely to be offset to some degree by improved commercial returns (i.e. increased revenue) they are still likely to see an impact on their player budget. That, in turn, has an impact on fans' willingness to keep throwing money at the project. If they get so bad that the FoH donations dry up, they are likely to have serious cashflow issues. If that's the case, there will be pressure to either delay repaying the debt or reduce the player budget further. Interesting times.

Alan 62

Join me in this....

Altogether now

TICK TOCK

TICK TOCK

TICK TOCK

Quote Originally Posted by Alan62 View Post
    Selling the golden generation still created income that could have been spent on players instead of infrastructure.

The point is that any infrastructure project will divert a portion of the club's income away from player investment. If there is no call on a club's revenue to pay for infrastructure then there will be more money available for other things and that usually means more investment in the playing squad.

Hearts are now in a position where they were already relying on donations to build their stand. They now have a major cost over-run on that project. Even if the finance for the project is structured in long-term borrowing, they have to service that debt. Even if the debt is to Ann Budge, it has to be repaid unless she agrees to give it as a gift, which seems unlikely.

While that is likely to be offset to some degree by improved commercial returns (i.e. increased revenue) they are still likely to see an impact on their player budget. That, in turn, has an impact on fans' willingness to keep throwing money at the project. If they get so bad that the FoH donations dry up, they are likely to have serious cashflow issues. If that's the case, there will be pressure to either delay repaying the debt or reduce the player budget further. Interesting times.
    I don't think there will be clarity on their financial position for a decade. They will live hand to mouth one season to the next unsure when their vision of (more than one) fan ownership will become reality. How long the FoH fuds will continue handing over their money with no return is a mystery. Hopefully it all ends in tears.

One clown even says he will back them to the HILLS ! I think he means HILT. OMG what are we dealing with over there ?

@hibs.net private member Jack Hackett's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by southsider View Post
    One clown even says he will back them to the HILLS ! I think he means HILT. OMG what are we dealing with over there ?
    For the most part... the educationally challenged

Quote Originally Posted by Jack Hackett View Post
    For the most part... the educationally challenged
    Just like here then

@hibs.net private member Jack Hackett's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by 1van Sprou7e View Post
    Just like here then

But

Quote Originally Posted by jacomo View Post
    "the horror of Balmoor"

Quote Originally Posted by gramskiwood View Post
    "the horror of Balmoor"

I know!

"the horror of Balmoor"
    Mcphee's nae oil painting but when you look like Banderson does calling him a horror does seem a bit unfair.

"the horror of Balmoor"
    Reminds me a bit of Apocalypse Now. Cathro talks a bit like the journalist who was with Kurtz come to think of it.

Without sounding too pedantic isn't Peterhead in Buchan not Aberdeenshire?

ahh

Quote Originally Posted by fat freddy View Post
    Anyone that done basic Latin would know that Ludacris was Flavia's sister in the classic Ecce Romanus series of tutorial guides. Surely common knowledge over on Kickus Backius? The home of the more educated Yamasorrians
    jamborium in aborum est

Quote Originally Posted by portyfelly View Post
    jamborium in aborum est
    Et tu brute with your modus operandi?

Hearts motto should be:

Excrementus excrementus ad gloriam excrementus
    Ad tynecastle hideramus
    Juvenilus in maroonus
    Ablandus del villa
    Ed vecchius reekum suporterandum excrementus

@hibs.net private member nonshinyfinish's Avatar
    Hertz delenda est.

Quote Originally Posted by nonshinyfinish View Post
    Hertz delenda est.
    We paraphrase Cato and they have Cathro.
    Mature, sensible signature required for responsible position. Good prospects for the right candidate. Apply within.

@hibs.net private member lapsedhibee's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by Liberal Hibby View Post
    Without sounding too pedantic isn't Peterhead in Buchan not Aberdeenshire?
    Isn't it in both?

McGhee's contract runs til january?

Banderson mistake, or just another random jambo oddity?

Someone from JKB needs to tell him the League Cup.isnt massive, its the wee cup

Quote Originally Posted by McD View Post
    McGhee's contract runs til january?

Banderson mistake, or just another random jambo oddity?

No idea.

a typical smart a**e move by Levein?

If so the guy is free to talk to other clubs now.

Jeezus - just how long is that article ??. You can tell 'All-is' IS extremely worried !

Quote Originally Posted by Pedantic_Hibee View Post
    I find it staggering how they suffered relegation form since Cathro took over yet a couple of summer signings and they reverted to their default setting of world-beaters with promises of destroying Hibs and everyone else in their path.

It's almost as if they completely forgot Fudel Cathro was still their manager.

Cue a predictable continuance of their form from last season and they're now suffering an embarrassing climbdown from all their lofty posturing in the close season.

They never tire of making complete fools of themselves.
    It's identical to when they played us in the Cup last season. A raft of largely unknown new signings and two decent results and they were world beaters. This summer, a couple of decent League Cup results against lowly opposition and they are all set to be Celtic's main challengers and "resume normal service" over us. They have zero humility and crazy delusions of grandeur. They also display extreme instabilty by being able to go from the highest of highs to the depths of despair over the course of one game. They truly are unfathomable.

http://www.hmfckickback.co.uk/index....ns-for-hearts/

A lot are not very welcoming to their new signing. Great way to encourage other targets to sign.

Quote Originally Posted by Springbank View Post
    Et tu brute with your modus operandi?

Hearts motto should be:

Excrementus excrementus ad gloriam excrementus
    Ad tynecastle hideramus
    Juvenilus in maroonus
    Ablandus del villa
    Ed vecchius reekum suporterandum excrementus
    Very welcome piece of culture. At my (Jambo) brother's wedding recently I made reference to the "team of poets and philosophers" from "the sunny uplands of Leith" once mentioned by an MSP and this fits the bill.

First Team Breakthrough DCI Gene Hunt's Avatar
    I'm sure Cathro would come up with something baffling and clever-sounding being the excellent wordsmith that he is... actually, forget the "clever" part. Incoherent drunken waffle straight from the school of Vlad, Shabba etc. Obviously something in the water doon that side of toon...

Pleasing that they deluded Mutants from Gorgie are feeling down.

Very Pleasing indeed!

Walker dropped.
    https://www.thescottishsun.co.uk/spo...d-dunfermline/