Page 3 of 9 FirstFirst 12345 ... LastLast

Thread: Simon Murray

@hibs.net private member GordonHFC's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by CRAZYHIBBY View Post
    New striker scores a goal and yet some folk still find holes to pick.

The boy will do well at Hibs.

Quote Originally Posted by CRAZYHIBBY View Post
    New striker scores a goal and yet some folk still find holes to pick.
    3 goals in 2 games...

Will be very happy if he keeps up this rate - if he scored every chance like Cummings he would be higher up. Cummings still has to prove himself higher up.

I except Swanson and Murray will be in or top 3 scorers this season.

When he has time to think he doesn't look up to much. Not just in reference to the two one on one chances he missed, just in his general play.

I hope he just sticks to what he's good at, making runs and getting in to the box. If he does that he'll score goals.

if Simon Murray had a blonde boyband haircut, swagger and tweeted **** the Hearts, Hibs fans would be going mental. Gingerists 😂

Professional thread starter Diclonius's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by lord bunberry View Post
    I like Simon Murray, but to suggest that he is a replacement for Cummings is laughable and to suggest we've got the better deal by having murray is bordering on insanity.
    Cummings has gone and we need to try and find someone to come in and replace his goals. That will hopefully come from a combination of signings so we're not reliant on one player. Simon Murray will be a part that combination.

Much like we replaced Allan with Henderson, McGinn and McGeouch.

What is all this love in with Jason?

He was the guy who missed he penalty that sent us down.

He then done ok against the likes of Alloa/Dumbarton

No great loss to me. Well done Neil to move him on for a fee.

Welcome Simon.

You bring a lot more to the table

@hibs.net private member Northernhibee's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by JOD View Post

Welcome Simon.

Don't feed the troll.

Do you think your security can keep you in purity, you will not shake us off above or below. Scottish friction, Scottish fiction

Welcome Simon.

Away, Jason is a fine player and a cup winning legend. Not many players who can boast as many goals against Rangers and Hearts either.

Quote Originally Posted by Northernhibee View Post
    Don't feed the troll.
    I aint a ****ing troll look at my posts you numpty
    and dont make assumptions

Professional thread starter Diclonius's Avatar
    Honestly can't think of a player who scored more in "big" games than Cummings.

He scored 5 against Hearts, 8 against Rangers, 10 against Falkirk, 5 against Dundee Utd and in cup games against top tier teams he'd usually come up with a goal.

Murray has a long way to go before he can match that.

@hibs.net private member stantonhibby's Avatar

Welcome Simon.

Hmmm......conveniently ignoring his goals against Hearts & Rangers

..aye the laddie has scored 3 in 2, gets into good positions and harries defenders but look at Hertz - their top-drawer striker is 100X better than we've ever had. He's pacy, has two great feet, great headerer of the ball, can hold the ball up, bosses centre halves, has excellent first touch, is intelligent and has been banging them in all preseason...probably!

Quote Originally Posted by CallumHibs07 View Post
    A straight replacement for Cummings, seriously
    More than one way to skin a cat...

Welcome Simon.

I give up.

Welcome Simon.

Aye right ........... if he had stayed at Hibs for long enough he would probably have at least matched Robertson of Hertz for derby goals coz it was getting to the stage when a Cummings goal home or away against the Yams was almost a gimmie and his contribution in other big games was more than decent as well.

However, I suppose everybody is allowed their opinion about a players ability and I certainly don't have a problem with it, until that is it comes to blaming a kid in his first season of senior football for missing a penalty under huge pressure .... especially when it was saved rather than being put past the post or over the bar and especially when the 2 - 0 lead we had but blew to end up in that penalty shoot out was because that same kid had scored twice in the first leg.

Poor stuff mate

Welcome Simon.

Hiya pal.

Quote Originally Posted by RagingReality View Post
    Honestly can't think of a player who scored more in "big" games than Cummings.

He scored 5 against Hearts, 8 against Rangers, 10 against Falkirk, 5 against Dundee Utd and in cup games against top tier teams he'd usually come up with a goal.

Murray has a long way to go before he can match that.
    I feel jason left a year early and better Hibs for another year SPL but yes when you see above stats he is right to try himself higher level SPL. Murray has started well. Good luck to him

Jason Cummings was a pish footballer who knew how to score, who will be back up the road playing his pish football within 18 months.

Simon Murray is just as pish, but will still score the same amount of goals and will be happy to stay at the club
    Its a win win
    situation

@hibs.net private member Johnny_Leith's Avatar

Welcome Simon.

100% Jambo. Ridiculous patter, nothing better to do?

@hibs.net private member SRHibs's Avatar

Gamertag: Limit Break PSN ID: cyniUK
    Jason Cummings was a pish footballer who knew how to score, who will be back up the road playing his pish football within 18 months.

Simon Murray is just as pish, but will still score the same amount of goals and will be happy to stay at the club
    Its a win win
    situation
    JC's vision when it comes to passing was superb, and he's extremely comfortable on the ball. I can't tell if you're at the windup here.

Welcome Simon.

Its a win win
    situation
    Jason is a fine footballer and a great natural striker and it's not a insult on Simon Murray to say that he wont match him, that is a fact. But I'm glad we have him and he'll go someway towards filling the void that our 20+ goals a season striker at the age of 19, 20 and 21 left behind. Yes Jason CAN improve and that is what makes him all the more special and why I wish we still had him.

Simon Murray contributes a lot of work during games and WILL continue to score goals.

However he has an awkward' style and this, coupled with a lack of complete composure will no doubt have some on here questioning whether he scores enough.

I don't see him as a 20 a league season striker, but can see him on or about double figures.

Watched him quite closely yesterday, was impressed by his positioning and runs he made, albeit he was caught offside a few times but not far away and that will come.

Like others have said looks better when he doesn't have time to think about things.

Definitely a good addition but still need someone else in.

Sent from my DUK-L09 using Tapatalk

JOD's clearly a jambo.

Good to see Murray get his first goals for us. Hope he can continue that form in the league where it matters most though.

@hibs.net private member Northernhibee's Avatar
    I aint a ****ing troll look at my posts you numpty
    and dont make assumptions
    My mistake. You appear to be a roaster instead.

Do you think your security can keep you in purity, you will not shake us off above or below. Scottish friction, Scottish fiction

Why does SM have to be a direct replacement for JC? They both score lots of goals but have different attributes and offer different things to the team. I hope JC is a roaring success in England but I'd much rather that SM was a roaring success at Hibs. The lad may not be the most technically gifted player we've had but he has a good attitude and a willingness to work hard which will bring him goals. 3 in 2 games is not a bad start. I think he'll score more than JC this season and will easily get 10-15 goals for us this season

Quote Originally Posted by SMAXXA View Post
    No wonder he will be thinking he's got to shut a few people up. Don't kid yourselves on that young lads like him don't google hibs fans forum before he signed or throughout that process. He will have read some bile on here and will have the drive to answer questions even more so than this driven young man has.
    Excellent post.

It's a sad day when someone who has yet to play a competitive game for Hibs feels he has to shut people up.

Anyways, good on him. I hope he continues to get it right up them

Its a win win
    situation
    Oh my

@hibs.net private member NORTHERNHIBBY's Avatar
    Murray will put chances away but if you look at the sitter he missed yesterday which was easier than the ones he scored, in a game against the better sides, that may be the only chance he gets in the whole game. So it's managing expectations on all sides.