Thread: Hearts Auction

Quote Originally Posted by fat freddy View Post
    Closer to the truth
    Actually yeah she's £60k better off.

Quote Originally Posted by hibbycraig View Post
    They ended up getting 60k. Most expensive thing was that owl. Some idiot paid £4100 for it. Haha
    The owl will crap itself when it sees the Jambo turn his head 360 degrees.

Quote Originally Posted by GloryGlory View Post
    Maybe the buyer thinks it's a tattie planter.
    The guy said he's putting it on the wall.

What Jambo owl is it we're talking about??

4k for an ornamental owl?!?!

A fool and his 💰 are easily parted eh!!

Selling the posts next week. Easier to be 0-0 that way.

Quote Originally Posted by lyonhibs View Post

Aye, the ornamental owl that was there to scare the pidgeons/seagulls.

This owl.

https://mobile.twitter.com/JamTarts/status/878988832657608704

@hibs.net private member Jack Hackett's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by lyonhibs View Post

You're missing the vanity factor... 'Look at me, I've spent 4 thousand quid for a piece of tat 'cos I've got considerably more money than you'

Quote Originally Posted by Jack Hackett View Post
    You're missing the vanity factor... 'Look at me, I've spent 4 thousand quid for a piece of tat 'cos I've got considerably more money than you'
    Could've got a 10 year old maroon coloured Rover with beige leather seats for that.

You can't drive an artificial owl but you can scare a pigeon with a maroon rover

Says it all when the prime, most valuable item of memorabilia was a f***** ornamental owl!!

Quote Originally Posted by Nakedmanoncrack View Post
    Says it all when the prime, most valuable item of memorabilia was a f***** ornamental owl!!
    Good point but I seriously doubt they'll see the irony.

You'd expect it if it was an owl sanctuary that was having the auction or a closing down sale but a football club??

Quote Originally Posted by scotia44 View Post
    budgie selling owls to ostriches 😂
    Ostriches buying baths from Sharks

@hibs.net private member SouthMoroccoStu's Avatar
    I like to think that right now, somewhere in Edinburgh there's someone waking up with a stinking hangover cuddling an ornamental owl (ala The Godfather) with a £4K hole in their bank account

I wonder what the return policy is....

Quote Originally Posted by SouthMoroccoStu View Post
    I like to think that right now, somewhere in Edinburgh there's someone waking up with a stinking hangover cuddling an ornamental owl (ala The Godfather) with a £4K hole in their bank account

I wonder what the return policy is....

None, and to make sure they kept the beware of pickpockets sign as a disclaimer.

I think they were also charged ten pounds each to get into this glorified jumble sale.

£2k for a bath? The guy apparently insisted it was filled with water before paying for it.

@hibs.net private member ian cruise's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by Pete View Post
    I think they were also charged ten pounds each to get into this glorified jumble sale.

£2k for a bath? The guy apparently insisted it was filled with water before paying for it.
    To be honest if your going to pay 2k for a bath from the 80s the most sensible thing you could do was insist you saw it full of water to make sure there were no cracks or leaks. However it's still a million miles away from sensible behaviour.

@hibs.net private member SouthMoroccoStu's Avatar

Plug sold separately

First Team Breakthrough portyhibernian's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by Jack Hackett View Post
    "Would you kindly put your £4100 in cash into the ceramic cow sir"

Quote Originally Posted by SouthMoroccoStu View Post
    Plug sold separately
    Who's going to assist father dougal if they've sold plug?

Quote Originally Posted by ian cruise View Post
    To be honest if your going to pay 2k for a bath from the 80s the most sensible thing you could do was insist you saw it full of water to make sure there were no cracks or leaks. However it's still a million miles away from sensible behaviour.
    Apparently he asked if they still had the instruction manual.

"Darling, I've just invested 4 grand in the Jambos..."

"How many shares do you get for 4 grand?"

"Nae shares, but I've got a plastic owl."

Quote Originally Posted by Geo_1875 View Post
    Apparently he asked if they still had the instruction manual.

"Darling, I've just invested 4 grand in the Jambos..."

"How many shares do you get for 4 grand?"

"Nae shares, but I've got a plastic owl."
    Shares come and go, (well strictly speaking just go as far as the yams are concerned), but an owl like this is for life, unless you leave it too close to the fire.

You can buy those owls in B&M for under a tenner

Quote Originally Posted by CRAZYHIBBY View Post
    That's our display for the first home derby sorted out then

Left by mutual consent! Fife-Hibee's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by Bostonhibby View Post
    That's our display for the first home derby sorted out then

Lol

Quote Originally Posted by tamig View Post
    Has the symbolic emptying of the cow taken place yet though?

That's the Grand Emptying to you.

£25 a ticket to watch the counting of the coins (price includes a filled roll).

Quote Originally Posted by jacomo View Post
    That's the Grand Emptying to you.

£25 a ticket to watch the counting of the coins (price includes a filled roll).
    But nae chips? Wtf?

Reminds me of an Only Fools and Horses sketch with the Indians..

Are you serious?

Wee fat burds raising money for the yams,, that's no a first!

Are you serious?
    eBay had them for £2 earlier today.

Not sure how to post the link ?

£4100 for a plastic owl - was that really the most prized item from that stand ??!