Page 3 of 6 FirstFirst 12345 ... LastLast

Thread: Small victories

Quote Originally Posted by stantonhibby View Post
    Peeling off the cover of a microwaved dish in a oner

@hibs.net private member snooky's Avatar
    Being asked for a big favour by someone who has sh*t on you in the past.
    Briefly giving the impression that you're considering it. Then saying "Naw, sorry no can do."

Getting a petrol pump to stop on a round number. (e.g. £40)

Being caught in a sudden cloudburst when you're stuck behind a bunch of cyclists.

@hibs.net private member Hermit Crab's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by Scouse Hibee View Post
    When CCTV coverage shows a complaiming parent that his son's version of events were total bollox and he was thrown out of your venue for a valid reason.

Tell us more.

Quote Originally Posted by Hermit Crab View Post
    Tell us more.
    Daddy was a well respected Edinburgh gent who I shall not name and his son's antics,aggression and attempt to stick the head on someone were pretty conclusive on CCTV. This after he returned home to tell Daddy in the morning that he was stone cold sober and thrown out for no reason and was appalled at how he had been treated. One very embarrassed and apologetic Daddy after we met and viewed the footage following his rant about how influential he was.

I bet that felt good, and I bet the son got his erse booted.

Should've just told them to calm down!

Quote Originally Posted by HUTCHYHIBBY View Post
    Should've just told them to calm down!

Quote Originally Posted by liscious_hibs View Post
    Claiming back expenses from your corporate overlords even if its just a pound.
    My first boss across here (who was a dick) sent me to do a survey a 3 hour drive from the office and told me to take the camera which was in the boot of his car. When I went to use the camera, there was no battery (which my boss hadn't told me was in a charger in the front of his car).

No problem - I bought a disposable camera and got on with the job at hand.

Later he refused to reimburse me for the camera and developing the photos, saying it was my fault for not checking the battery, etc.

A few weeks later I was going over stuff with him on the project in question and he asked to look at the photos. I told him that they were in my house. He was intelligent enough to work out why and the look he gave me was priceless.

That afternoon the secretary asked me for the receipts so that I could be reimbursed.

I had a few small victories with the same guy - the best being taking him to the tribunal after I'd left and winning a decent pay out for me as well as a rise for all of my former workmates.

Hoovering up quality supermarket reductions to the extent that the money you saved vs. full price is more than what you actually spent.

Especially delightful in Switzerland.

@hibs.net private member bingo70's Avatar
    When your gps tries to take you a funny route so you ignore it and get there a much quicker time yourself.

When CCTV coverage shows a complaiming parent that his son's version of events were total bollox and he was thrown out of your venue for a valid reason.
    Sounds like a tough childcare centre!

@hibs.net private member speedy_gonzales's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by bingo70 View Post
    When your gps tries to take you a funny route so you ignore it and get there a much quicker time yourself.
    Better still, when Tom Tom gives you an ETA and you beat it!

Quote Originally Posted by speedy_gonzales View Post
    Better still, when Tom Tom gives you an ETA and you beat it!
    Definitely this one.

Training a new colleague at work but you realise you are training someone who has done it all before, got the t shirt & all that, only to shadow them during their first procedure & they totally **** it up.

Ultra pleasing 😆

PSN ID: hibee-87
    popping the toaster up for the bairns breakfast and its perfectly toasted for him. (my toaster seems to cremate the bread on every setting, which is fine for me but not the wee man)

Quote Originally Posted by happyhibbie View Post
    Training a new colleague at work but you realise you are training someone who has done it all before, got the t shirt & all that, only to shadow them during their first procedure & they totally **** it up.

Ultra pleasing 😆
    I used to be a baker and we had this guy in for an interview, I could see he thought he was one of these types you mention, but my boss wanted to take him on because he was French. I spent a few weeks training him up and while it was obvious he had the basic skills, he wasn't paying much attention. He kept saying yes yes I know all that I'm fine. When it came to him working on his own my boss and I both went through everything with him and I went home. I came in the next morning and he was still there and he'd absolutely ****ed everything up. Thousands of pounds worth of stuff and my boss was going mental at him, eventually sacking him on the spot. I did the interviews after that.

United we stand here....

@hibs.net private member Future17's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by lord bunberry View Post
    I used to be a baker and we had this guy in for an interview, I could see he thought he was one of these types you mention, but my boss wanted to take him on because he was French. I spent a few weeks training him up and while it was obvious he had the basic skills, he wasn't paying much attention. He kept saying yes yes I know all that I'm fine. When it came to him working on his own my boss and I both went through everything with him and I went home. I came in the next morning and he was still there and he'd absolutely ****ed everything up. Thousands of pounds worth of stuff and my boss was going mental at him, eventually sacking him on the spot. I did the interviews after that.
    Is that where your username comes from?

Quote Originally Posted by Future17 View Post
    It is. .

United we stand here....

Quote Originally Posted by Future17 View Post

His assets are his buns.

When someone at work denies all knowledge, you never told them, they would never have agreed, it was the wrong decision. Then............you produce the email trail you have kept for this very reason.

In a disciplinary stage right now where this has added some serious weight to our investigation. Emailing different managers does not mean we can't collate them all as we do speak to each other

Getting cash out at the machine and it's all brand new crisp notes.

Getting to the work coffee machine a couple of seconds before the numpty who takes hours.

Beating hertz in any computer football game (Just gubbed them 5-0 on Dream League)

Sitting in the airport waiting to get away from this miserable weather 😜

United we stand here....

Private Members Prediction League Winner Hibrandenburg's Avatar
    Getting the water pump working when the lake in your garden is threatening to overflow into the cellar, it was a close call last night.

https://youtu.be/QXPy9OgNTBU

Cutting slabs in front garden after my **** neighbour has washed his car ( not you Monktonharp ) the other neighbour 😆

Never ceases to amaze me the number of people who aren't good at e-mails/searching through their inbox. Just had 3 this morning asking for separate bits of info that had been sent at least once, or in once case twice, beforehand (and recently too, not like 3 months ago).

A reply with those e-mails attached with a friendly passive aggressive "as per previous e-mails" was promptly dispatched leaving self with a warm feeling of superiority.

Quote Originally Posted by Craig_HFC View Post
    When you're walking along the street and go to cross the road and the green man appears just as you approach the kerb so you don't need to break stride.

Beating someone in a race on the pavement that they don't know they are taking part in.
    haha yep, I even imagine myself drawing clear in a horse race, with the nearest bus-stop/phone box being the winning post.

Quote Originally Posted by WeeRussell View Post
    haha yep, I even imagine myself drawing clear in a horse race, with the nearest bus-stop/phone box being the winning post.
    Do you do a commentary in your mind though? I even conduct after race interviews.

United we stand here....

@hibs.net private member bingo70's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by lord bunberry View Post
    Do you do a commentary in your mind though? I even conduct after race interviews.
    I used to do that when I played championship manager.

Quote Originally Posted by WeeRussell View Post
    Thought I was the only person that done this. Glad to know if I am completely mental at least 2 or 3 others are the same.