Page 55 of 430 FirstFirst ... 545535455565765105155 ... LastLast
Results 1,621 to 1,650 of 12885
    @hibs.net private member greenginger's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by Ozyhibby View Post

The artists impression looks slightly different from what they are getting?

That tenement gable with the Hearts badge on it is where full height crack has appeared since they did the piling work.

I'm sure someone else must have noticed it by now.

@hibs.net private member MrSmith's Avatar
    To be fair (not that I want to be!) I think from the current pictures, you can see the cladding in-place for the glass wall.

@hibs.net private member Jack Hackett's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by Bostonhibby View Post
    Even setting aside the fact it's the yams it is simply a cheap 70's airport departure area style structure. Most projects like this today are moving away from such basic box designs and some are being pulled down to improve the area.

The plankton will doubtless continue to regard it as the next wonder of the world but what a shame that this is what they're getting for all that money, not to mention another crap high maintenance eyesore being dumped on the city.

A classic example of the emperors new clothes.

Queenie has declared it a marvel of modern architecture, so clearly, for them, this is what it is.

Yep, the rest of us call them windows.
    Once the office staff start filling the window sills with pen holders, ring binders and assorted clutter it'll look extra classy.

@hibs.net private member Dan Sarf's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by G B Young View Post
    Once the office staff start filling the window sills with pen holders, ring binders and assorted clutter it'll look extra classy.

What sort of stuff do you think they'll put on their window ledges?

Quote Originally Posted by MrSmith View Post
    To be fair (not that I want to be!) I think from the current pictures, you can see the cladding in-place for the glass wall.

What do you mean?

The artist impression has two substantially glazed areas, framed by narrow strips (probably denoting the floors).

The actual building is a bog standard facade to a steel framed building with windows in it.

They look very different to me.

@hibs.net private member Oscar T Grouch's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by greenginger View Post
    That tenement gable with the Hearts badge on it is where full height crack has appeared since they did the piling work.

So it'll look like this?

Only two things are infinite, the universe and human stupidity, and I'm not sure about the former.

Quote Originally Posted by jacomo View Post
    What do you mean?

The artist impression has two substantially glazed areas, framed by narrow strips (probably denoting the floors).

The actual building is a bog standard facade to a steel framed building with windows in it.

Look at the windows and rims of the building, it's clear that they are protruding and prepared for clips to hold the glass. I'd guess the glass will sit proud of the windows by about 6"

Quote Originally Posted by Jack Hackett View Post

Queenie has declared it a marvel of modern architecture, so clearly, for them, this is what it is.
    I know one jambo who isn't impressed. Brother in law went down for a look so I texted him to see what he thought.

His wife replied to say he's not impressed but " it looks like this is the best we can afford for a while, shambles".

He also got her to say he's not going to respond to anyone about this any more.

Normally a reasonable guy. He cancelled his DD a while ago.

It reminds me of the old Scottish Office that was round the back of St James Centre.

http://www.rampantscotland.com/let050528.htm

Edinburgh's ugliest building!

First Team Regular Corstorphine Hibby's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by greenginger View Post

I see that they've managed to squeeze Graham Rix in the bottom right hand corner of the artists impression.

Quote Originally Posted by MrSmith View Post
    Look at the windows and rims of the building, it's clear that they are protruding and prepared for clips to hold the glass. I'd guess the glass will sit proud of the windows by about 6"
    No, I really think what we're seeing now is the finished 'look'. This is the most recent artist's impression:

At least the pink trees have been retained!

I think that the pipe dream was to be able to replicate something like this until costs got in the way:

Left by mutual consent! Fife-Hibee's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by lyonhibs View Post
    Yikes. That's the 2017 carbuncle award sewn up nice and early.
    Hahahahahaha

That is f...ing awful ! 😂😂😂😂

Quote Originally Posted by Hibbyradge View Post
    Uncanny

I know one jambo who isn't impressed. Brother in law went down for a look so I texted him to see what he thought.

His wife replied to say he's not impressed but " it looks like this is the best we can afford for a while, shambles".

He also got her to say he's not going to respond to anyone about this any more.

Normally a reasonable guy. He cancelled his DD a while ago.

Looks to me like a very reasonable... and sensible, guy.

Quote Originally Posted by jacomo View Post
    What do you mean?

The façade is a glass curtain wall, it is just that they have used opaque glass panels in certain areas in order to disguise construction elements and floor build up etc. the artists impression shows the majority of the glass being see-through which looks much better than what they have got.

Quote Originally Posted by G B Young View Post
    No, I really think what we're seeing now is the finished 'look'. This is the most recent artist's impression:

At least the pink trees have been retained!

I think that the pipe dream was to be able to replicate something like this until costs got in the way:

Wow that is new to me so aye, looks like no protruding glass wall. Still doing chips though?

@hibs.net private member Silversand's Avatar
    Nice

This stand is like when you put up new shelves; and then your joiner mate visits. Only I never spent £14M at B&Q.
    Last edited by Saturday Boy; 07-08-2017 at 01:28 PM.

@hibs.net private member BSEJVT's Avatar
    How do you make a small fortune investing in football?

By turning a large fortune into that small one

Quote Originally Posted by Sergio sledge View Post
    The façade is a glass curtain wall, it is just that they have used opaque glass panels in certain areas in order to disguise construction elements and floor build up etc. the artists impression shows the majority of the glass being see-through which looks much better than what they have got.
    The artists impression of the 'castle view' from the Skyline Lounge also looks much better than what they have got

Just saying likes

Quote Originally Posted by Jack Hackett View Post

I'll explain to my jambo mate Budgie's been in the buff all this time. He thought she'd started wearing a sporran.

Quote Originally Posted by 007 View Post
    I'll explain to my jambo mate Budgie's been in the buff all this time. He thought she'd started wearing a sporran.
    That's just put me off ma dinner

Quote Originally Posted by HUTCHYHIBBY View Post
    There was another page worth of pish in this mornings Sunday Mail about Hearts being the ideal model of how to run a club, how can they print that after the week they've had.
    Oh my word. So glad I dont read that rag

Quote Originally Posted by Sergio sledge View Post

Hmm - looking at the latest artist impression it looks like relatively narrow rows of windows separated by cladding panels.

We shall see!

Quote Originally Posted by Keekaboo View Post
    Surely that's not the infamous Glass Wall they were going on about endlessly?
    Is it just me or does that slope down from the left to right?

Quote Originally Posted by 007 View Post
    🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣

There's a page on Facebook which is dedicated to Edinburgh's heritage, its especially jealous of the city's architecture and very down on anything it views as spoiling the towns image. Now I'm not pretending that Easter Road adds very much to that side of Edinburgh, it is very much a simple functionary football stadium and doesn't pretend to be anything else. For me it looks brilliant, but then I like football stadiums that look like football stadiums.

The trouble with Tynecastle is that it has incorporated a design that I'm pretty sure is like a cross to a Vampire when it comes to the worthies who run and contribute to that page ..... It was like celebrating the second coming on that page when it was announced St James's centre was to be demolished .... I wonder what they will make of the 1970's carbuncle being chucked up in Gorgie ........... I wouldn't hold up much hope if I was a Yam

Quote Originally Posted by NAE NOOKIE View Post
    There's a page on Facebook which is dedicated to Edinburgh's heritage, its especially jealous of the city's architecture and very down on anything it views as spoiling the towns image. Now I'm not pretending that Easter Road adds very much to that side of Edinburgh, it is very much a simple functionary football stadium and doesn't pretend to be anything else. For me it looks brilliant, but then I like football stadiums that look like football stadiums.

The trouble with Tynecastle is that it has incorporated a design that I'm pretty sure is like a cross to a Vampire when it comes to the worthies who run and contribute to that page ..... It was like celebrating the second coming on that page when it was announced St James's centre was to be demolished .... I wonder what they will make of the 1970's carbuncle being chucked up in Gorgie ........... I wouldn't hold up much hope if I was a Yam
    Screw them this glass wall is one of the 7 wonders of the world. People will come from all over the world just to see it.