Page 4 of 5 FirstFirst ... 2345 LastLast

Thread: The cricket

Gamertag: Eh? PSN ID: No comprendo, senor. Wii Code: What's a Wii?
    It gets worse - they're 4 down for 53 now.

Jimmy Anderson playing a blinder, but this is hardly an advertisement for Test cricket.

All over.

Holding sounds really grim.

The big question is - how long will it take Jimmy A to reach his 500 wickets? 2nd Test? 3rd Test? First morning of the next Test?

He's a phenomenal bowler - just seems to get better and better as the years go by.
    Last edited by --------; 19-08-2017 at 08:19 PM.

@hibs.net private member Mibbes Aye's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by Doddie View Post
    All over.

Holding sounds really grim.

The big question is - how long will it take Jimmy A to reach his 500 wickets? 2nd Test? 3rd Test? First morning of the next Test?

He's a phenomenal bowler - just seems to get better and better as the years go by.
    I hope he gets his 500 and as mentioned previously, I may have the privilege of seeing it

He's had a quite remarkable career and like you say, he's just developed and kept going on, even as the years kick in!

One of those players whose eventual retirement will probably stoke a greater appreciation for just what he's done.

England have gravitated to the top of the rankings through a combination of sound bowling - Anderson and Broad - and sound batting - Cook and Root.

The wildcards are Stokes and Ali, who can be gamechangers but don't set the tone of the game in the manner that the previous four can.

England will need to ensure they can replace Broad, Anderson and Cook so that they can get the benefit of Ali and Stokes without relying on them to win games.
    There's only one thing better than a Hibs calendar and that's two Hibs calendars

Quote Originally Posted by Mibbes Aye View Post
    I hope he gets his 500 and as mentioned previously, I may have the privilege of seeing it

He's had a quite remarkable career and like you say, he's just developed and kept going on, even as the years kick in!

One of those players whose eventual retirement will probably stoke a greater appreciation for just what he's done.

England have gravitated to the top of the rankings through a combination of sound bowling - Anderson and Broad - and sound batting - Cook and Root.

The wildcards are Stokes and Ali, who can be gamechangers but don't set the tone of the game in the manner that the previous four can.

England will need to ensure they can replace Broad, Anderson and Cook so that they can get the benefit of Ali and Stokes without relying on them to win games.

Jimmy is one of the greatest bowlers the game has seen. Proof that you don't have to be supersonic fast or spin it like a spinning-top to take wickets.

We'll miss the crafty old sod!

Penny just dropped regarding the absence of quality in this WI side - they're all playing T20 in the Caribbean.

I couldn't sleep last night, and ended up watching St Kitts and Nevis playing Trinidad and Tobago (or the 'Trinbago Knight Riders' as they call themselves ) in the wee small hours. Gayle hit a spectacular 93 from 47 balls - they had to replace the ball three or four times 'cos it just didn't come back he hit it so hard.

It figures - the players are being properly paid, unlike in the Test side, and the teams represent the actual island-nations rather than a fictitious conglomeration possessing little or no unity. It looked an absolute hoot - loud music, fireworks, cheerleaders, calypso bands, and, I suspect, much drink taken and unorthodox ciggies being smoked - and everyone was on Cloud Nine and very, very happy. The Knight Riders won, but by that time I really don't think any of the spectators cared about - or was even aware of - the result.

I'm beginning to get the hang of this white-ball game ...

... but I don't think this version would go down too well at Lord's.

Interesting first day's play.

The three newbies in the upper order failed to shine again, Westley in particular exposing weakness that you have to figure the Aussies will pick up on.

Stokes and Root both lucky to survive being dropped but then went on to ensure a far better total for England than would have been envisaged at an earlier stage.

The Windies showed strength to come back strongly today, Roach and particularly Gabriel appearing well fired-up.

And they should make it a law of the game that the bowling side have to bat out the last ten to twelve overs of a day . There's nothing quite like it

Muggy conditions down here in Leeds and I expect Anderson to prosper tomorrow. His 500 could be on, if and when we get to WI's second innings.
    There's only one thing better than a Hibs calendar and that's two Hibs calendars

Lunchtime, day 2.

Anderson prospered in the muggy conditions at the start of play, claiming two early wickets.

The weather turned though, getting a lot cooler and slightly drizzly. That's cleared now and it's sunny blue skies. Windies have chipped away throughout the morning, reaching their hundred on the stroke of lunch. They notably increased their run rate after Anderson's overs and once the new ball had worn slightly. Two lbws overturned at review - one for Broad, one for Moeen.

Looks like a pivotal afternoon session. Runs for the Windies will make it a competitive match, wickets for England should see them go into their second innings with a decent lead to build on.

Teatime
    WI came out after lunch well and motored on. The game gradually became more becalmed, but the Windies upped the pace as we approached tea, with Braithwaite securing his century with a fine six.

He has been ably supported by Shai Hope who looked like he might overtake him at one stage.

Partnership of 170 odd, that has firmly put the Windies in the game.

Close of play and today has definitely belonged to the West Indies.

Coming out for the evening session they gently strolled towards levelling the score and then started to build a lead. The new ball was introduced forty-five minutes in and that saw Anderson and Broad resume the attack, but with no impact until nearly an hour later when Broad ripped out Braithwaite's wicket with a snorter.

England's hopes were maybe slightly raised as shortly after, Stokes had Chase caught at first slip. It wasn't to be though, the Windies finishing with some expansive shot playing by Hope and Blackwood.

No real stand-outs in the bowling department for England. Moeen was probably least effective but then Headingley has a reputation for not suiting spinners. Westley had a chance to strengthen his Ashes hopes by showing he can provide back-up to Moeen but did nothing to impress.

It all means tomorrow is nicely set up. If the Windies can build up a lead over the day then Roach and Gabriel will be relishing another chance to get into that shaky English top order. If England can break through and dismiss the Windies relatively quickly then they have the batting strength lower down to get back in front and potentially set a feasible target to win.

Close of play and today has definitely belonged to the West Indies.

Coming out for the evening session they gently strolled towards levelling the score and then started to build a lead. The new ball was introduced forty-five minutes in and that saw Anderson and Broad resume the attack, but with no impact until nearly an hour later when Broad ripped out Braithwaite's wicket with a snorter.

England's hopes were maybe slightly raised as shortly after, Stokes had Chase caught at first slip. It wasn't to be though, the Windies finishing with some expansive shot playing by Hope and Blackwood.

No real stand-outs in the bowling department for England. Moeen was probably least effective but then Headingley has a reputation for not suiting spinners. Westley had a chance to strengthen his Ashes hopes by showing he can provide back-up to Moeen but did nothing to impress.

It all means tomorrow is nicely set up. If the Windies can build up a lead over the day then Roach and Gabriel will be relishing another chance to get into that shaky English top order. If England can break through and dismiss the Windies relatively quickly then they have the batting strength lower down to get back in front and potentially set a feasible target to win.

Good summary of the day.

This one's been a different ball game to the first test.

Lunchtime day 3.

West Indies have consolidated in what can only really be described as England repeatedly shooting themselves in the foot. Nevertheless England finally got that tenth Windies wicket to avoid facing the prospect of having been in the field over five sessions.

Today started in somewhat muggy conditions with Anderson on strike. Well, we all know what happens there and two wickets were duly secured. The sun came out after that and suddenly the batsmen were settled and playing with some elan.

Holder and Blackwood put on a tidy partnership, a lesser version of Braithwaite and Hope that England couldn't seem to find a way to deal with. Eventually Moeen made amends for a shocking dropped catch earlier by taking a mi**** of Holder to break the two. By this time Holder and Blackwood had extended the lead by a decent amount however.

The remaining wickets fell in fits and bursts, with Gabriel and Roach putting on a stuffy little cameo of a resistance for the last wicket. This in particular highlighted England's issues, with them uncertain about their best fielding position against the two tailenders.

It's been a very enjoyable Test so far. As with yesterday, the afternoon session is going to tell us a lot about the eventual outcome of this match.

Tea interval.

England slow and steady, the run rate was obviously not a priority. For the Windies, Gabriel was loose to start with but tightened up his deliveries as time went on.

Cook's dismissal has highlighted what remains England's problems. Stone man had been eking out runs beside him, without ever looking like the position was naturally his.

After Holder got Cook, Westley came in and shortly after, the two aspiring Ashes candidates were facing Holder at one end and Gabriel at the other. Both looked extremely uncomfortable and this raises all sorts of questions as to how they will cope with an Australian attack in general, let alone when they have to play somewhere like the WACA.

Fortunatley for England they could lose both these guys in the first over after tea and still push on and post a match winning total, such is the depth in the batting order. Whether they do, we shall see.

Close of play.

It was a rather sedate evening session. As was expected, Stoneman and Westley fell to the two big quickies. Westley has surely ruled himself out of contention for the Ashes now. The fact that Stoneman hung around long enoug to get a half-century may alow him some grace. It wasn't the swashbuckling fifty of a Gilchrist but neither was it a ground-out fifty against a hard to play paceman, a la Atherton against Donald. Instead it was a bitty fifty against some powerful fast bowlers who aren't in the upper echelons at this time.

Root started slowly and carefully, playing himself in. It's the first time I've seen him in the flesh and he really does have an artless, fluid talent for finding the gaps with pacy shots. Real pleasure to watch him play. He survived one close scare, looked like the ball was just missing leg stump on an lbw shout.

There wasn't much to see of Malan, couple of nice strokes off the spinners.

England finsished just in the lead and no more, but with Root settled in and some strong batsmen lined up behind him.

He's certainly steadied the ship and if England can pile on the runs tomorrow then there's the possibility of setting a target that offers England the chance of a victory. That would require them bowling out the Windies though, and while WI are a young, inexperienced side there was an energy about them in the field that suggested great team spirit (and an energy that was maybe lacking for England when they were trying to end the WI first innings).

Should be a good day's cricket tomorrow.
    Last edited by Mibbes Aye; 27-08-2017 at 10:15 PM. Reason: bloody auto-correct

The number of no balls The Windies are getting away with is ridiculous. In a tight match as this is at the moment an extra 20 odd runs could be crucial.

Dropped catch by Broad hits the stumps at the non strikers end. What a way to lose your wicket.

United we stand here....

Quote Originally Posted by lord bunberry View Post
    Dropped catch by Broad hits the stumps at the non strikers end. What a way to lose your wicket.
    Cruel

Also felt for Brathwaite, falling just short of being the first person ever to score a century in both innings at first-class level at Headingley. Quite remarkable it has never happened, if nothing else given the quality of batsmen who have been brought through or played for Yorkshire - Hutton, Boycott, Vaughan and Lehmann to name but a few.

Quote Originally Posted by HUTCHYHIBBY View Post
    The number of no balls The Windies are getting away with is ridiculous. In a tight match as this is at the moment an extra 20 odd runs could be crucial.
    As I was saying.

Tremendous result for the West Indies in what was an incredible Test match - the momentum shifted so many times.

To see a game shift that many times and the result still be in doubt on the final session of the final day really highlights how great five-day cricket just can be.

Plaudits to Shai Hope, he made history. He and Kraigg Bratwaite must give the Windies hope for the future, given their age. Credit to Jermaine Blackwood too, his bravado helped push the Windies over the line.

The bowlers can feel good also, Holder and Gabriel in particular but Chase came good in the second innings too.

No one has ever posted such a big fourth-innings total at Headingley other than Bradman's Invincibles, and it was a pitch where wickets were capable of falling, so the Windies deserve huge acclaim IMO.

@hibs.net private member Lancs Harp's Avatar
    Excellent Test match and well done the WIndies they were superb today. Test swung one way then the other but the West Indies deserved their win. Much needed for West Indian cricket too.

Wow! And some folks say Test matches are boring! I think I've only just got my breath back.

Terrific result for WI and a warning to England that the Ashes series won't be as easy as some of the commentators and experts have been thinking.

Can't add much to what's already been said; totally compelling five days, and one of the best test matches I've ever watched.

Well done WI.

PS: Mind you - Australia just lost to Bangladesh: bowled them out for 244 on the fourth day at Dhaka to win by 20 runs.

What were they saying about First Division and Second Division Test teams?
    Last edited by --------; 30-08-2017 at 01:52 PM.

Wow! And some folks say Test matches are boring! I think I've only just got my breath back.

Terrific result for WI and a warning to England that the Ashes series won't be as easy as some of the commentators and experts have been thinking.

Can't add much to what's already been said; totally compelling five days, and one of the best test matches I've ever watched.

Well done WI.

PS: Mind you - Australia just lost to Bangladesh: bowled them out for 244 on the fourth day at Dhaka to win by 20 runs.

What were they saying about First Division and Second Division Test teams?
    The Bangladeshis have some cracking players, a few guys who would challenge for places in the top-tier teams. It was going to the MCG that got me into cricket, so my loyalties tend to sit with Australia but I'm really pleased for Bangladesh.

While watching the Headingley Test, the guys on TMS were saying that Shakib Al Hasan is now only the fourth bowler to have five fors against every other Test nation. That's some achievement.

They definitely play better at home, by a long chalk, and Australia have never been surefooted on the subcontinent but that shouldn't detract from a great result.

As part of the build-up to the Ashes, I've been enjoying reading this series of articles in the Guardian. I've only got through 20-16 so far but some cracking reads just in those alone.

The Bangladeshis have some cracking players, a few guys who would challenge for places in the top-tier teams. It was going to the MCG that got me into cricket, so my loyalties tend to sit with Australia but I'm really pleased for Bangladesh.

While watching the Headingley Test, the guys on TMS were saying that Shakib Al Hasan is now only the fourth bowler to have five fors against every other Test nation. That's some achievement.

They definitely play better at home, by a long chalk, and Australia have never been surefooted on the subcontinent but that shouldn't detract from a great result.

As part of the build-up to the Ashes, I've been enjoying reading this series of articles in the Guardian. I've only got through 20-16 so far but some cracking reads just in those alone.

Thanks, MA. I've bookmarked it and I'll start working my way through soon.

BODYLINE only merits #20? They trying to appease the Aussies????

Did you see the BBC website today? Some idiot fired a crossbow bolt into the Oval during play yesterday. Could have killed someone. Anyone - didn't seem to be bothered who.
    Last edited by --------; 31-08-2017 at 05:40 PM.

Thanks, MA. I've bookmarked it and I'll start working my way through soon.

BODYLINE only merits #20? They trying to appease the Aussies????

Did you see the BBC website today? Some idiot fired a crossbow bolt into the Oval during play yesterday. Could have killed someone. Anyone - didn't seem to be bothered who.
    Just reading about it. Crazy stuff. It sounds like it definitely came from outside, hopefully the wealth of CCTV coverage they have in London means they can track the idiot down.

I hope so. Crossbows are very nasty gadgets indeed.

Hope all goes well and safely at Edgbaston tomorrow.

Apparently it went around three or four inches into the ground, if that had hit someone it could've killed them.

United we stand here....

On a happier note - I watched quite a bit of T20 Finals Day at Edgbaston.

Three very good games of T20 and lots of fun. Lots of kids and families, a super atmosphere and Bumble and Flintoff leading the crowd singing "Sweet Caroline" while the polis removed a streaker who looked uncannily like W G Grace ....

I must be losing my mind.

Three very good games of T20 and lots of fun. Lots of kids and families, a super atmosphere and Bumble and Flintoff leading the crowd singing "Sweet Caroline" while the polis removed a streaker who looked uncannily like W G Grace ....

We went down for finals day last year, a brilliant day with as much happening in the stands as there was on the pitch. Watching yesterday though they have managed to crank it up even further, great fun.

Quote Originally Posted by marinello59 View Post
    We went down for finals day last year, a brilliant day with as much happening in the stands as there was on the pitch. Watching yesterday though they have managed to crank it up even further, great fun.
    Totally missed the stuff at Edgbaston yesterday but will make a point of getting there for next year with the kids, it sounds like a great day out.

It looked to be great fun with some very good T20 cricket played over the day and no real hassle apart from WG getting his kecks off ...

... and Bumble and Freddie trying to sing, of course. That pair should be X-rated.

It looked to be great fun with some very good T20 cricket played over the day and no real hassle apart from WG getting his kecks off ...

... and Bumble and Freddie trying to sing, of course. That pair should be X-rated.
    Freddie managed to top Bumble's Johnny Cash wig for comedy value when he fell over a speaker.