Page 6 of 39 FirstFirst ... 4567816 ... LastLast
    Quote Originally Posted by lgnsh70 View Post
    Pretty much my thoughts regarding Might Bite and Thistlecrack. I thought Thistlecrack ran a decent race considering the long lay off since injury and the poor run on his comeback. Might Bite did win a shade cosily though and is definitely the one to beat however we all know anything can happen in horse-racing on the day. Just have to look at Bristol de mai who I doubt anyone thought would have been beaten off quite so quickly.
    Good points there. I think we could safely write off that run by Bristol De Mai, he really does seem to need heavier ground than that, to produce his best form anyway. Not sure about the Irish form either, the Gigginstown horses all seem to take turns beating each other and I don't fancy any of them to win the Gold Cup but I could easily be wrong. Interesting that it would also appear Henderson doesn't seem to think Altior will stay 3 miles, at this stage anyway, so he's keeping him for the Champion Chase which, if he's fit, he'll win in a canter.

Quote Originally Posted by ekhibee View Post
    Good points there. I think we could safely write off that run by Bristol De Mai, he really does seem to need heavier ground than that, to produce his best form anyway. Not sure about the Irish form either, the Gigginstown horses all seem to take turns beating each other and I don't fancy any of them to win the Gold Cup but I could easily be wrong. Interesting that it would also appear Henderson doesn't seem to think Altior will stay 3 miles, at this stage anyway, so he's keeping him for the Champion Chase which, if he's fit, he'll win in a canter.
    Agree with writing off the distinctly below par run by Bristol De Mai. Could have just been one of these days or the ground was just a bit too firm for him.

Colin Tizzard had reported Thistlecrack had shown much fitter and keener after the poor comeback run and while he didn't really challenge Might Bite he certainly ran much better. It could be it was another step back to his best and if so should give Might Bite and the others a much sterner challenge next time around. I'm tempted to lump on when confirmed for the GC at a decent price.

Had a bit of luck yesterday on Brave Eagle who looked well beaten from a long way out however seemed to find a new pair of legs and came from way back to win at a taken price of 3/1.

New years day Musselburgh meeting looks a good one and I fancy Silver Concorde in the Hogmaneigh Hurdle. However as we all know it can be a bit of a lottery.

Had a bit of luck yesterday on Brave Eagle who looked well beaten from a long way out however seemed to find a new pair of legs and came from way back to win at a taken price of 3/1.

New years day Musselburgh meeting looks a good one and I fancy Silver Concorde in the Hogmaneigh Hurdle. However as we all know it can be a bit of a lottery.
    2nd race on the card looks a good one. Fly Vinnie is a specialist round Musselburgh and has won me a few quid over the last couple of years, Cresswell Legend is on a hat trick and has won 3 from 5 since moving from PTPs and both he and Stamp Your Feet are travelling from Gloucestershire so Idoubt they are just coming for a run out, £12000 is a prize not to be sniffed at.

Silver Concorde looks a decent bet but that’s a hot race despite the small field. Won his last 2 at Musselburgh, both when long odds on, and he threatened to be top class when he won the Champion Bumper at Cheltenham and was a close 2nd in the Punchestown equivalent. Should be a good race.

2nd race on the card looks a good one.ti Fly Vinnie is a specialist round Musselburgh and has won me a few quid over the last couple of years, Cresswell Legend is on a hat trick and has won 3 from 5 since moving from PTPs and both he and Stamp Your Feet are travelling from Gloucestershire so Idoubt they are just coming for a run out, £12000 is a prize not to be sniffed at.

Silver Concorde looks a decent bet but that’s a hot race despite the small field. Won his last 2 at Musselburgh, both when long odds on, and he threatened to be top class when he won the Champion Bumper at Cheltenham and was a close 2nd in the Punchestown equivalent. Should be a good race.
    Silver Concorde was 3/1 yesterday (new years eve) but thought I'd wait until tomorrow to go in and put a wee wager on. Oddscheckers now showing its been backed into 9/4. Looks as if I've missed the boat on any value to be had. Hey ho. Might back against it now.

Fly Vinnie's a generous 10/1 with Ladbrokes maybe shorter before the off of course but must be worth a few quid at these prices.

Musselburgh's always a good meeting and generally good racing to be had.

Silver Concorde was 3/1 yesterday (new years eve) but thought I'd wait until tomorrow to go in and put a wee wager on. Oddscheckers now showing its been backed into 9/4. Looks as if I've missed the boat on any value to be had. Hey ho. Might back against it now.

Fly Vinnie's a generous 10/1 with Ladbrokes maybe shorter before the off of course but must be worth a few quid at these prices.

Musselburgh's always a good meeting and generally good racing to be had.
    I had Silver Concorde who was 2nd, some clown had scored the winner off as a non-runner in the local Betfred. Ballyhill (9/1) and Western Climate (6/1) meant that it wasn't such a bad day after all though.

Good to hear you had a couple of very nice priced winners to compensate. I left Silver Concorde alone after seeing it had been backed into 7/4 albeit finished 2/1 as I thought the value price of 3/1 was near enough the correct one. Mind you it looked as if it could win until Sir Chavaulin showed a lovely turn of foot and accelerated clear in the last part of the race.

I had a nice winner yesterday on Met By Moonlight at 6/1 which was coincidentally Steve Drowne's final race before retirement. He came from off the pace to win quite cosily by a few lengths in the end-up.

Agree with writing off the distinctly below par run by Bristol De Mai. Could have just been one of these days or the ground was just a bit too firm for him.

Colin Tizzard had reported Thistlecrack had shown much fitter and keener after the poor comeback run and while he didn't really challenge Might Bite he certainly ran much better. It could be it was another step back to his best and if so should give Might Bite and the others a much sterner challenge next time around. I'm tempted to lump on when confirmed for the GC at a decent price.
    Bristol De Mai was checked over post race and found to have stomach ulcers. Probably explains his performance and is one to score a line through.

He ran so poorly compared against the previous run that you felt something must have been a bit off with him. Hopefully see the real Bristol De Mai in subsequent races.

Good to hear you had a couple of very nice priced winners to compensate. I left Silver Concorde alone after seeing it had been backed into 7/4 albeit finished 2/1 as I thought the value price of 3/1 was near enough the correct one. Mind you it looked as if it could win until Sir Chavaulin showed a lovely turn of foot and accelerated clear in the last part of the race.

I had a nice winner yesterday on Met By Moonlight at 6/1 which was coincidentally Steve Drowne's final race before retirement. He came from off the pace to win quite cosily by a few lengths in the end-up.
    I saw that race, Met By Moonlight won well, coming on the outside and going away at the end from the fav. Good way for Drowne to finish, he was always a good jockey.

He was an honest professional and it was great to see him finish on a high.

Backed another game wee horse, Caspian Prince (12/1) at Newcastle.

Had quite a large bet on Mixlad in the 1500 @ Mussy this morning, from my perch in the boozer in Carlisle, still not sure how I got paid out! Other two bets were Indian Spark and K Kirkup so cannae complain too much!

I've got a horrendous record backing horses in The Welsh National but, I've backed Chase the Spud ew @ 10s.

Quote Originally Posted by HUTCHYHIBBY View Post
    I've got a horrendous record backing horses in The Welsh National but, I've backed Chase the Spud ew @ 10s.
    Think I've picked 3 winners in about 15 years of betting. Silver Birch, Synchronised and last year with Native River.

I doubt I can match that! :-)

As good a chance as anyone else on the one you've picked bud. I'm just having a relatively small speculative bet on the well known by now Vicente.

Good luck mate.

As good a chance as anyone else on the one you've picked bud. I'm just having a relatively small speculative bet on the well known by now Vicente.

Good luck mate.

Final Nudge for me tomorrow. 4 wins on heavy is pretty much the sole solid reason for the choice. Looked competitive over the longer Midlands National before taking a fall so could suggest potential as a marathon stayer and has run solidly over about 3 miles before are the more speculative reasons.

It could turn into a total slog and I can see a lot of horses pulled up or walking across the line.

I’ve got emperors choice and Wild West wind tomorrow one on a treble and the other on a Yankee fingers crossed

Final Nudge for me tomorrow. 4 wins on heavy is pretty much the sole solid reason for the choice. Looked competitive over the longer Midlands National before taking a fall so could suggest potential as a marathon stayer and has run solidly over about 3 miles before are the more speculative reasons.

It could turn into a total slog and I can see a lot of horses pulled up or walking across the line.
    As good a reason as any to choose a potential winning National horse. Its bound to be one for stout of lungs thats for certain.

It'd be nice if one of us had a win. Sometimes I'm just grateful for my pick to put up a decent account of themselves.

Good luck too mate.

Good luck mate.

Cheers, I just had quick look through the trends for the race and that one seemed to tick the most boxes. I was reading in the paper about one of the runners that has won first time out for the last 3 seasons IIRC, cannae remember the name but, I'll have another look in the morning to make sure I wasnae imagining things and might back that as well.

Not first time out but 3 wins from 3 after long absences for Mysteree.

8/1 favorite. Would normally be an absolutely brilliant price for a winning favorite if on of course. Has as good a chance as any in the race for certain. Normally I'd back 2 or three in a National but I'm sticking with one bet for this one. I'm going to ask my better half in the morning which one she wants to back but as she normally backs the green white and gold colours I'm certain she'll opt for my pick Vicente as well .

Good luck mate, I'm hoping one of us Hi bees can pick the winner!

Last edited by Tornadoes70; 05-01-2018 at 11:05 PM.

Lets hope so!

Mysteree for me as well for the Welsh National currently available at 9's if you're happy to take 4 places e/w.
    Ground today may not be as deep as expected, but he won the 4m Eider on soft, even though he was taken out of the pre Christmas prep race at Cheltenham due to unsuitable ground (soft). Less than 11st also a major positive.
    6 places available with Sky Bet albeit with the predictable skinnier odds.
    Good luck all

Think I nicked 3rd there with Final Nudge so will get place money. Some performance by the 2 old lads showing the youngsters how it's done in the mud.

Quote Originally Posted by Magnus View Post
    Mysteree for me as well for the Welsh National currently available at 9's if you're happy to take 4 places e/w.
    Ground today may not be as deep as expected, but he won the 4m Eider on soft, even though he was taken out of the pre Christmas prep race at Cheltenham due to unsuitable ground (soft). Less than 11st also a major positive.
    6 places available with Sky Bet albeit with the predictable skinnier odds.
    Good luck all
    Shocking run. Couple that with the pre race drift and it is surprising that there was no interest from the stewards.

Donkey's years ago in the mid to late nineties I'm sure I had Earth Summit in the Welsh National, still the only horse to win the Scottish/Welsh/English Grand Nationals. He was a great price too. But I've hardly touched the race since. Don't really care much for Chepstow, it's never been a lucky course for me and there's very often results that you just can't explain at all, loads of horses with no form on the ground who win going away, Two milers winning staying races on heavy ground and so on, it seems to happen more frequently there than a lot of other courses. That's just my opinion though, good luck and well done to others who have had success there.

Good post.

Tbf most Nationals are a lottery with a big slice of luck required for picking the winner however as you say there seems to be a pattern of additional extra luck required for picking the winner at Chepstow.

Couldnae agree more re Chepstow, never had much joy there.