Page 2 of 21 FirstFirst 123412 ... LastLast

Thread: Simon Murray

I only watched the first half tonight and I thought Murray was diabolical. Couldn't control a ball, couldn't link up, couldn't make a pass...

He must've had an unbelievable second half judging by some of the comments above.

Quote Originally Posted by SMAXXA View Post
    I like him and would sign him, raw but has something and love his energy and workrate. If Cummings had those attributes he would be on a different level.
    If he had Cummings goals SM would be on a different level.
    Ariston.

Quote Originally Posted by brianmc View Post
    I only watched the first half tonight and I thought Murray was diabolical. Couldn't control a ball, couldn't link up, couldn't make a pass...

He must've had an unbelievable second half judging by some of the comments above.

He busted a gut and scored a goal. Largely though, his whole performance was as you described.

Playing devil's advocate, he got his team through. I just don't think he's what we need or should be looking at.

@hibs.net private member Heisenberg's Avatar
    Don't reckon he'll be good enough for the top league. I thought he was distinctly average last night.

Bit of a rough diamond alright, scores some spectacular goals and worry's the crap out of the opposing defense, never giving them a minutes piece. I can certainly see where Lenny is coming from and being as young as he is, plenty of development left in him.

@hibs.net private member Hiber-nation's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by jodjam View Post
    The McGraws

Going by this thread, Murray looks like he could be the new Mallon. Welcome, Simon.

I've always thought Murray had something about him. He's certainly very raw but he reminds me of a young Colin Stein with his energy, enthusiasm & yes goals. IMO he would be a fine foil for JC.

Quote Originally Posted by Corstorphine Hibby View Post
    I thought Andy Goram only played for Rangers?

That was the other one!

Quote Originally Posted by Hiber-nation View Post
    Had a hamstring problem according to McKinnon. Put in some shift if that was the case.

How many fathers and sons have played for Hibs?
    Had to Google Simon to find out who is Dad was. Gary Murray - must have watched him many times, but can barely remember him. A striker, I think? But not a particularly good one? Am I being unfair? The lack of memory suggests no major impact.

Gamertag: Eh? PSN ID: No comprendo, senor. Wii Code: What's a Wii?
    Had a hamstring problem according to McKinnon. Put in some shift if that was the case.

Quote Originally Posted by GordonHFC View Post
    McBride.
    Quote Originally Posted by Cat Stanton View Post
    Had to Google Simon to find out who is Dad was. Gary Murray - must have watched him many times, but can barely remember him. A striker, I think? But not a particularly good one? Am I being unfair? The lack of memory suggests no major impact.

You're being generous.

Don't rate him at all. He's struggled badly at times at United in the championship, but people want him to be one of our main strikers in the premiership next season?

Testimonial Due Billychaotic182's Avatar

Gamertag: Billy Chaotic PSN ID: BillyChaotic
    Its a naw for me.

He is bang average. Yes he is quick but that's about it. Keatings is a better striker and we got rid. Why replace with a poorer player

Quote Originally Posted by we are hibs View Post
    Don't rate him at all. He's struggled badly at times at United in the championship, but people want him to be one of our main strikers in the premiership next season?
    Scored 10 goals when usually not playing as the main striker.

How many players did we have with over 10 or more league goals apart from Cummings?

Here's a clue.

Nobody.

@hibs.net private member Hiber-nation's Avatar
    http://www.ihibs.co.uk/hibs/player.php?playerid=6267

We signed him after he ripped us apart playing for Montrose. Always gave 100% in a dire long-ball Bertie Auld team but lacked the quality we needed.

Quote Originally Posted by Billychaotic182 View Post
    Its a naw for me.

He is bang average. Yes he is quick but that's about it. Keatings is a better striker and we got rid. Why replace with a poorer player

My old flatmate is a Utd fan and he said he won't be disappointed to see him leave, and is surprised we are interested. Doesn't exactly sound inspiring.

Its a naw for me.

He is quicker and more physical than Keatings. If NL thinks he is good enough then he would know best.

I didn't see anything that I thought would greatly improve our team, to be honest.

Its a naw for me.

We didn't get rid of Keats, he chose to leave. I've not seen enough of Murray to form a view but 18 goals this season isn't a lot less than Jase, in the same league
    This is how it feels

First Team Breakthrough Conrad Gray's Avatar
    I'm sure I read somewhere that Murdo MacLeods dad had played for us??

Quote Originally Posted by we are hibs View Post
    Mcginn has hardly set the heather on fire this season. But is still a good player.

@hibs.net private member silverhibee's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by HoboHarry View Post
    The Cropley's....... Not sure Jordan actually played in a competitive game but I'm fairly certain he played in a friendly but may be wrong of course.....
    Think he played in a game against Raith Rovers in Fife, sure it was a friendly.

I actually see a lot of Gary Murray in the way his son plays. He was a strong, quick, bustling striker who ran his socks off but wasn't the best quality wise. He scored a few for us and I liked him. Like his son though, he was a bit hit or miss.

Nice wee story about him here from a couple of years ago. I was impressed with Simon in that game.

https://www.google.co.uk/amp/www.scotsman.com/sport/football/ex-hibs-player-back-to-watch-son-at-easter-road-1-3683112/amp
    Last edited by tamig; 20-05-2017 at 02:19 PM.

@hibs.net private member FitbaFolkKen's Avatar
    I think he is a decent player, not prolific in front of goal but has done pretty well in what has been a struggling United team in the top flight.

I would be quite happy for us to sign him but not too fussed if we don't.

Left by mutual consent! Speedway's Avatar

Don't forget the Showumnis

He's a totally different player to Holt and without being consistent he's scored 18 goals.

Won't be surprised to see him at ER next season given he is out of contract and NL likes/rates him.

More than happy to trust NL judgement on any players coming in.

From what I saw of him last nite he looked like a player that would give the opposition a minute's peace.

Quote Originally Posted by Speedway View Post
    Don't forget the Showumnis
    Did their Da play for us too?

Eddie and Sturart Turnbull. NOT

@hibs.net private member Winston Ingram's Avatar
    I've been told Dundee Utd don't plan to keep him and that Dunfermline have made him a good offer.