Stadium maintenance

So we're ahead of most of the game with our stadium.
    Someone on the Budges Bargain thread quoting £500k to maintain Pittodrie ?!

Wonder What it our annual outlay on maintenance is on ER and EM and when we'll need to step up on mantenance as the cheeky scamp ages...? In future years how would rebuild be financed? Are we putting a little away to build up some funds or do we just take the hit when it comes?

Anything been talked about in Working Together.

One thing they need to spend money on in the West Upper is the Letters identifying the rows, only a couple in place and been like that for a few seasons.

The canopy over the front main-entrance could do with a lick of paint - or at least some of the rust scraped-off !

We don't have a stadium manager, he's left the building.

What we save on maintenance at Easter road we probably lose on maintenance of East mains as both Hearts and Aberdeen have cheaper arrangements.

Quote Originally Posted by ronaldo7 View Post
    When?!

It's actually a very good point, as I've seen a few stadiums that looked amazing when they were built but have aged prematurely because of lack of care.

I think some Clubs need to take a leaf out of the SRU's book, as the East Stand at Murrayfield was built over 30 years ago and still looks in good condition. I think they put a lot of effort and time into Maintenance of the stadium

@hibs.net private member overdrive's Avatar
    LD intimated to us when she was in touch about us moving due to the FF changes that parts of the FF Stand were no longer fit for purpose due to the age of the stand.

Keith?

@hibs.net private member hibbie02's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by overdrive View Post
    LD intimated to us when she was in touch about us moving due to the FF changes that parts of the FF Stand were no longer fit for purpose due to the age of the stand.
    I would go along with that. Was in the Upper FF for the Falkirk game and the concourse was like a cave. A lick of paint would do wonders.

@hibs.net private member .Sean.'s Avatar
    The stadium could really do with getting tarted up tbh. A good power wash and some fresh paint would do wonders.

And a wee thing that for some reason really winds me up is the pitch growning onto the astroturf run-offs!
    ''It's always been just part of the culture. Growing up, for most working-class kids, is all about football, music or clothes. You might not have much money, but whatever you have got, you're going to look good.'' - Paul Weller

Quote Originally Posted by Billy Whizz View Post
    Keith?
    Yeah, he left a few weeks ago. Don't know the reasons though

Quote Originally Posted by oconnors_strip View Post
    Yeah, he left a few weeks ago. Don't know the reasons though
    Thanks for the update, sorry to hear this

And what has happened to the roof of the Famous Five and South stands? They used to be nice and prestine white - now they are horribly grey and scabby.

[ATTACH=CONFIG]Before[/ATTACH]
    [ATTACH=CONFIG]After[/ATTACH]

Get it sorted Petrie!

Quote Originally Posted by Billy Whizz View Post
    Thanks for the update, sorry to hear this
    They'll struggle to find a replacement who'll put in the hours he did.

Quote Originally Posted by .Sean. View Post
    The stadium could really do with getting tarted up tbh. A good power wash and some fresh paint would do wonders.

And a wee thing that for some reason really winds me up is the pitch growning onto the astroturf run-offs!
    That gets on my nerves too. Looks tatty.

@hibs.net private member offshorehibby's Avatar
    They'll struggle to find a replacement who'll put in the hours he did.
    Here here.
    TOP CASH BACK
    The easy way to make money

He was still in post at the Falkirk game.

Quote Originally Posted by greenlex View Post
    He was still in post at the Falkirk game.
    His last game was the Morton game.

Shame that he's left. Good guy.

Quote Originally Posted by Austinho View Post
    And what has happened to the roof of the Famous Five and South stands? They used to be nice and prestine white - now they are horribly grey and scabby.

[ATTACH=CONFIG]Before[/ATTACH]
    [ATTACH=CONFIG]After[/ATTACH]

Get it sorted Petrie!
    That's strange that the East and West are still unblemished. My original thought was bird**** or an accumulation of dust but that wouldn't explain the difference.

Quote Originally Posted by Geo_1875 View Post
    That's strange that the East and West are still unblemished. My original thought was bird**** or an accumulation of dust but that wouldn't explain the difference.
    The roofs were still white when the new east stand was being built, so it's only been in the last few seasons. The grey areas look square, so it looks deliberate to me. Maybe the white panels have been removed for some reason.

2 or 3 years ago a squad of fans got together to paint steps and undertake various other tasks to tidy the place up and keep costs down.

Maybe an option here to do similar again. Maybe one for the fans reps to take on?!

Quote Originally Posted by Austinho View Post
    The roofs were still white when the new east stand was being built, so it's only been in the last few seasons. The grey areas look square, so it looks deliberate to me. Maybe the white panels have been removed for some reason.
    Possibly to allow more sunlight through to the pitch?

@hibs.net private member CapitalGreen's Avatar
    Are we sure the roofs are still in this condition? There was work done on the stands during the post-season last year.

2 or 3 years ago a squad of fans got together to paint steps and undertake various other tasks to tidy the place up and keep costs down.

Maybe an option here to do similar again. Maybe one for the fans reps to take on?!
    I did a bit of this, and stickered all the missing numbers on the seats

I think the pics of the FF & South stand roofs are misleading. 2 or 3 years ago there was a big spruce up of both and I think these pics were taken between the old layers being scraped off and the new being applied. From street level we could only see the work that was carried out on all the supports and girders. They were all stripped back and now are as bright green as the day the stands were opened.
    Last edited by Renfrew_Hibby; 25-04-2017 at 11:27 AM.

Are the grey areas on the FF not transparent roof panels

I would imagine that stadium maintenance is a pretty hefty cost for Hibs, but like all buildings its worth it to avoid far larger costs further down the line .... look how long the Forth bridge has lasted

I note somebody mentioning that LD had said part of the reason for changes to use of the FF was because 'due to the age of the stand parts of it were no longer fit for purpose' ...... I just don't get that at all, if it was fit for purpose when it was opened why not now? I cant imagine its because of the lift issue or that BTG needed tarted up, you don't abandon a whole stand in order to avoid the cost of replacing an elevator or needing new carpets and a few tables surely to goodness. Getting a wedge of cash in rent from the NHS that exceeds income from BTG and avoids us having to pay for repairs and refurbishments makes economic sense and if that's the real reason, why not just say so

Ah ken its no maintenance, but I hope Hibs do have plans to create a replacement for BTG, for all the reasons I have banged on about on previous threads IMO it would be a huge mistake not to replace it.

@hibs.net private member CapitalGreen's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by NAE NOOKIE View Post
    I would imagine that stadium maintenance is a pretty hefty cost for Hibs, but like all buildings its worth it to avoid far larger costs further down the line .... look how long the Forth bridge has lasted

I note somebody mentioning that LD had said part of the reason for changes to use of the FF was because 'due to the age of the stand parts of it were no longer fit for purpose' ...... I just don't get that at all, if it was fit for purpose when it was opened why not now? I cant imagine its because of the lift issue or that BTG needed tarted up, you don't abandon a whole stand in order to avoid the cost of replacing an elevator or needing new carpets and a few tables surely to goodness. Getting a wedge of cash in rent from the NHS that exceeds income from BTG and avoids us having to pay for repairs and refurbishments makes economic sense and if that's the real reason, why not just say so

Ah ken its no maintenance, but I hope Hibs do have plans to create a replacement for BTG, for all the reasons I have banged on about on previous threads IMO it would be a huge mistake not to replace it.
    Can it not be both?

@hibs.net private member surreyhibbie's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by Onceinawhile View Post
    His last game was the Morton game.

Shame that he's left. Good guy.
    I agree, he showed me and the Mrs around the whole stadium when we were up on holiday and I asked if I could see my stone on the wall of the East stand. took us through the changing rooms and everything.

Really nice guy. Warned us not to go near the pitch though!
    Alcohol IS the answer, but I forget the question...