Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 123 LastLast
    reigning hibs.net poker champion Wembley67's Avatar

Gamertag: Happyhibs62
    Quote Originally Posted by underscore View Post
    Why do Newcastle deserve to be in the top flight??
    Why do Hibs deserve to be in the top flight?

Quote Originally Posted by Wembley67 View Post
    Why do Hibs deserve to be in the top flight?
    They don't. No one deserves to be in any league. The top clubs in that country based on sporting performance are the ones that should be in the top league.

@hibs.net private member snooky's Avatar
    A lot of people who 'don't care' desperate for their voices to be heard to make sure everyone knows just how much they don't care. If I have no interest in something then I tend to ignore it, it's hardly like the thread title was ambiguous.

Anyways delighted to see my English team (shocking I know) promoted. Great club (owner aside) and great fans.
    Always liked the North East clubs i.e. the Makems & Magpies even though it's the equivalent of being a fan of 'both ar$e cheeks' or Hibs AND Hearts.

@hibs.net private member SRHibs's Avatar

Gamertag: Limit Break PSN ID: cyniUK
    They don't. No one deserves to be in any league. The top clubs in that country based on sporting performance are the ones that should be in the top league.
    Of course we do. We've won the championship to grant us promotion. Granted, no team has a God-given right to be in the SPL, but at this point in time, based on our performances, we deserve to be in the SPL.

You answered your own previous question.

For clarity, my Father in Law, a Geordy, was a great Hibs fan having lived in Scotland longer that he did outside Newcastle, he did always retain an affection for his home town team & I kind of picked up on that. Really supprised at the sour faced individual comments that my post has drawn, but everyone to there own I suppose, but maybe lighten up a little guys after all its only a game of football

There used to be a bus that left the Abbeyhill area for the Newcastle matches in about 1980 approx. Mostly expat Geordie workers and students in it.

@hibs.net private member snooky's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by heretoday View Post
    There used to be a bus that left the Abbeyhill area for the Newcastle matches in about 1980 approx. Mostly expat Geordie workers and students in it.
    I saw a no. plate on the Isla of Man once. It was....

No. Plate.jpg

Brilliant - must have belonged to a Geordie.
    Last edited by snooky; 25-04-2017 at 01:33 PM.

Quote Originally Posted by green with envy View Post
    Again for no real apparent reason, i'm the same.
    Popular opinion, which I certainly share.
    Probably because I canna stand Shearer...no idea why either. Could be down to the outstanding song Sunderland fans have about him

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ENqrh2F9xGU

Some of you may recognise the tune...

Must admit to having a bit of a soft spot for the magpies. Newcastle United in the mid-late 90's were one of my favourite teams to watch. Some of the players they had like Ginola, Albert, Asprilla, Beardsley and Ketsbaia were brilliant and I still remember watching (back when the Champions League was good) Asprilla scoring a hat-trick against Barcelona at St James' Park before they almost threw it away by conceding two goals.

Similarly, the Middlesborough team with Emerson, Branco, Ravanelli and Juninho was one of my favourites and I even had their 1996/1997 Cellnet top so I could recreate the Ravanelli celebration in the park with my friends. Got a soft spot for Middlesborough too. I remember being devastated when Di Matteo scored a goal in about 12 seconds in that seasons FA cup final.

Like Newcastle utd. Like the fans loyalty despite the fact Ashley is involved. Problem is I have quite liked Sunderland ever since I went to Roker park years ago. Glad Newcastle are back but it has the potential to be another yo yo year unless benitez is backed 100% in the transfer market.

Interesting to hear Benitez talk about how hard it is being the biggest club in the division and everyone else raising their game when they came to SJP...

Sunderland will be gutted at them swapping divisions.

It would have been six easy points.

Quote Originally Posted by Pete View Post
    Sunderland will be gutted at them swapping divisions.

It would have been six easy points.

This is why Sunderland are going down.

@hibs.net private member LancsHibs's Avatar
    Yes well done to Brighton for beating them to the title with a fraction of their budget👍

@hibs.net private member Alex Trager's Avatar
    Exactly so they deserve to be there

Quote Originally Posted by LancsHibs View Post
    Yes well done to Brighton for beating them to the title with a fraction of their budget👍
    Brighton aren't champions yet?

Brighton aren't champions...

Quote Originally Posted by Lago View Post
    Promoted at the first time of asking.
    I wonder if there was a thread on their main forum saying "congratulations Hibernian"?

Quote Originally Posted by RoxburghHibs View Post
    I wonder if there was a thread on their main forum saying "congratulations Hibernian"?
    Have a look & let us all know if you feel its that important

Just texted my magpie mate to say congrats for getting promoted.

His reply didn't mention Hibs at all.

I will be the better man in this...

Quote Originally Posted by magpie1892 View Post
    Brighton aren't champions...
    Correct not mathematically finished yet.

@hibs.net private member NORTHERNHIBBY's Avatar
    If there is then tell them to take it off right away. Down with that sort of thing.

I did get a few texts from Liverpool supporters and one Evertonian.

Well it appear that the tax authorities have it in for Newcastle and West Ham.

I hope both sets of owners get banged up. I like both clubs and their supporters.

Well done indeed! LOL

More than 52,000 here today. If only Ashley would stop stealing the TV money...

Quote Originally Posted by The Baldmans Comb View Post
    Oh god are these dreadful self important clowns with their ridiculous accents back in the "big time".

They really do think they are "special fans" when in reality they are no different to any other fans throughout England.

1. Its meant to be a "great night oot" aye if you ignore the poverty, ugly women and the fact most of the city is a dump.

2. Never understood some Scottish peoples love affair with the place and why some Scottish fans adopt a team from another country in the first place. Dead weird.

1. You could say the same about any city (including Edinburgh) it just depends where you look when you're there.

2. Plenty of English and other supporters "adopt" a Scottish team - just read this forum regularly.

2 championships to celebrate in one season, happy days.

Fitting end to the season for Newcastle, great result Hibs champions, Newcastle champions.

**** Newcastle, lucky *******s!