Page 1 of 4 123 ... LastLast

(NHC) Wenger. He can't survive this.

10 - 2 on aggregate.

He's toast.

21 years of top 4 finishes!

Will be tough.

Sanchez having a giggle at 5-1 tonight as well.

@hibs.net private member BroxburnHibee's Avatar

Gamertag: CoolHibeesdaft PSN ID: Hibeesdaft
    He actually has a 2 year deal on the table. Bet he signs it before they whip it away.
    Life should NOT be a journey to the grave with the intention of arriving safely in an attractive and well preserved body, but rather to skid in sideways, chocolate in one hand, vodka in the other, body thoroughly used up, totally worn out and screaming, "WOO HOO what a ride!"

Quote Originally Posted by 3pm View Post
    Will be tough.

Sanchez having a giggle at 5-1 tonight as well.
    Reminds me of our 5-1 game. Arsenal need him gone, terrible attitude.

Hopefully he moves on at the end of the season.

He should leave as an Arsenal legend but the way it's headed it's going to turn nasty and whilst he's already going to leave under a bit of a cloud he should be spared against it being too much worse.

Quote Originally Posted by Hibbyradge View Post
    10 - 2 on aggregate.

He's toast.
    His team killed twice
    This is how it feels

But, but, but ...... the EPL is the best league in the world and Arsenal ore one of the best teams in it

He has to go. Either now or at the end of the season.

It's over.

Exsqueeze me, but is this a Hibs related item/ who gives a flyin' flipper?

The arsenal support has been pretty split on the should Wenger stay or go topic but I reckon this will have been the final straw for some of the fans defending him.

Times up for him.

Quote Originally Posted by 21.05.2016 View Post
    the arsenal support has been pretty split on the should wenger stay or go topic but i reckon this will have been the final straw for some of the fans defending him.

Times up for him.
    nhc

Left by mutual consent! majorhibs's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by monktonharp View Post
    nhc
    Wow, a "fitba" fan who does not like discussin fitba!

They could replace him and end up not being in the CL at all like Man U.

Gamertag: EllChrisso PSN ID: EllChrisso
    Yet produced the best team that will ever play in the Premier League

Quote Originally Posted by BroxburnHibee View Post
    He actually has a 2 year deal on the table. Bet he signs it before they whip it away.

I actually hope he stays as Arsenal FanTV will just turn boring. 😉

Sanchez is without a doubt on his way out. Özil will go as well.

They'll replace him and will become a mid table club at best.

Apart from the earlier success, the team hasn't moved forward for the best part of 10 years. Other teams have now caught up and the sacred 'has always guaranteed them top 4' is also in jeopardy.

For the size of the club, and it's potential to be even bigger, expecting a top 4 finish most seasons should really be standard. Furthermore, there should also be an expectation of pushing on for a real title challenge after coming in the top four so many times. This hasn't materialised.

You can almost set your watch by when the team will bottle their season now - something he should've fixed long ago.

A change has been needed for a while now. Most 'big' clubs would react to this embarrassment of a result tonight and do what needs to be done. I don't see the Arsenal board stepping up here though - especially if there is genuinely a 2 year extension on offer.

Quote Originally Posted by High-On-Hibs View Post
    No, they wont. How on earth did you reach that conclusion? Even without Sanchez that squad is not even close to mid table.

Arsenal have never been a mid table club at best, they are one of the most consistent teams in history. They are 2nd in the all time English top flight table.

Quote Originally Posted by majorhibs View Post
    Wow, a "fitba" fan who does not like discussin fitba!
    your wrong. this is a Hibs forum, and the present subject is a non Hibs content therefor should be stated as such or better still removed to another sub forum.

Quote Originally Posted by monktonharp View Post
    your wrong. this is a Hibs forum, and the present subject is a non Hibs content therefor should be stated as such or better still removed to another sub forum.
    Is it really that much of an issue, it's pretty clear there's NHC from the thread title. Get over it.

PSN ID: hibee_easty
    Without Sanchez and Ozil (who'll both leave in the summer), that team is very average.

And, for all that his Invincibles team was outstanding...he's signed a load of ***** too. Over the last 3 seasons he's brought in the likes of Xhaka for £35m, Perez £17m, Gabriel £13m, Chambers £17m, Debuchey £13m, Elneny £10m. He's spent over £220m in total over the last 3 seasons, and they've no really improved at all.

I've never been a fan of Wenger, but I'd rather they kept him on, I like to see him struggling.

@hibs.net private member NORTHERNHIBBY's Avatar
    If Spurs finish quite a few points better off than Arsenal it may well be impossible for him to stay.

The team that went through the premiership season unbeaten made history. He put that team together. No other team has done that. Unlike some on here I liked him and thought he was an excellent manager but it's time for him to call it a day.

Quote Originally Posted by ekhibee View Post
    The team that went through the premiership season unbeaten made history. He put that team together. No other team has done that. Unlike some on here I liked him and thought he was an excellent manager but it's time for him to call it a day.
    I would agree. Wenger has been an excellent manager but I think it is time for him to go.

Bill Shankley had the right idea and went out at the top. The shelf life of a manager now is probably five or six years.

I would expect a post-Wenger Arsenal to perform rather like Manchester United at the moment, consistently in the top seven to eight but not threaten the top three.

Quote Originally Posted by ekhibee View Post
    I think most people liked him during this period, the point is though that the 'invincibles' team was 12/13 years ago now. Football has changed dramatically since then and he simply hasn't changed with it.

They seem to be linked quite consistently with Allegri, and if there is any truth behind this, I don't see why they can't at some point start challenging for the title once more - if he's brought in. (Provided they don't continue to buy 45 midfielders followed by the occasional gash defender.)

@hibs.net private member O'Rourke3's Avatar
    I feel the same way I did when Ned was struggling. Conflicted but he had to go too. He couldnt turn it round. Where Arsenal are really stuffed is he is in complete control of the football operations. No one else there has a clue..

Sent via the bushes @ EM

Quote Originally Posted by NAE NOOKIE View Post
    But, but, but ...... the EPL is the best league in the world and Arsenal ore one of the best teams in it
    Bit of a pointless argument really. The merits of one team dont necessarily reflect the strength of a league.

Left by mutual consent! calumhibee1's Avatar
    He needs to go and he needs to take the majority of the squad with him.

Out of that Arsenal squad I would say only Cech (even then he's getting on a bit), Bellerin (more based on potential), Koscielny and Sanchez would be of any interest to any of the other top clubs in England and all of them would be of no interest to the likes of Real and Barca.

The fact that their starting line up regularly consists of 4 or 5 from Monreal, Mustafi, Gabriel, Coquelin, Elneny, Xhaka, Walcott, Chamberlain, Iwobe, Ramsey, Cazorla, Welbeck and even Giroud just shows why they get horsed off world class teams in the Champions League. These guys are mid table Premiership players at best.

They need to go out, get a world class manager and give the guy £200m or so to spend. They must have it as Wenger doesn't spend nearly as much as the other big teams.

Quote Originally Posted by High-On-Hibs View Post
    The history of Arsenal would suggest otherwise.