Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 123 LastLast
    It amazes me fans are still shocked and out raged when this happens. All our recent semis have been the same im sure.

GET OVER IT.

Moaning about it on social media wont change it. TV Rights are worth billions a year to companies. It isnt going to change.

Feel bad for the Aberdeen fans. Thats a 4-5am start for them.

Testimonial Due green with envy's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by Harpandcastle View Post
    It really is a total outrage, a cup semi played in a stadium within a 2 hour journey from 90% of our supporters homes at 12:15 - we'll have to be out of bed by the back of 9 on a Saturday morning - what a disgrace. Hibs should seriously consider forfeiting the tie in protest, as should Aberdeen.
    Yeah, should have done the same last year when we beat DUTD. Oh, wait a minute if we had done that we would never have had the pleasure of my greatest day in watching Hibs. But of course yer joking right?

I don't want to hear 'its been like this for years' comments on this ....... it might have been, but that doesn't make it right. As ****ing usual the fans take second place behind TV viewers, there is nothing to stop them making it a 5:15 kick off, which at least gives folk a chance to enjoy the day.

The SFA and TV folk seem to think that folk leave the house get in the car or onto a bus and get out at Hampden 15 minutes before kick off .... that's never been the culture at football in general, never mind a trip to a semi final .... absolute ********s the lot of them.

We should get together with the Sheep support and arrange a few unmissable banners expressing our dissatisfaction .... its time the MATCH GOING FANS reclaimed the game !!!!

Quote Originally Posted by HIBERNIAN-0762 View Post
    I don't find anything funny about it especially for the supporters who live far away that want to go.
    We'll have to agree to disagree. You didn't have to be a brain surgeon to workout that this was always going to be the case as it has for the past 10 years or so for a Scottish cup semi Final on a Saturday.

We get a lie in compared to Dons fans, quit the complaining, it isnt a big deal.

@hibs.net private member Mantis Toboggan's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by green with envy View Post
    We'll have to agree to disagree. You didn't have to be a brain surgeon to workout that this was always going to be the case as it has for the past 10 years or so for a Scottish cup semi Final on a Saturday.
    Yeah it was always going to be the case.
    But its still an inconvenience for those actually going to the game and symptomatic of the BS we have to put up with from tv companies.

Quote Originally Posted by Harpandcastle View Post
    It really is a total outrage, a cup semi played in a stadium within a 2 hour journey from 90% of our supporters homes at 12:15 - we'll have to be out of bed by the back of 9 on a Saturday morning - what a disgrace. Hibs should seriously consider forfeiting the tie in protest, as should Aberdeen.

Well I found this funny, even if no one else did 😉

Quote Originally Posted by MWHIBBIES View Post
    We get a lie in compared to Dons fans, quit the complaining, it isnt a big deal.

Plenty of time for a celebration drink afterwards as well.

Should be 5.15 however with the game the next day was never going to happen if the weather was to be wet.

Not fair on Aberdeen fans who have a 3 hour minimum trip down.

@hibs.net private member Hiber-nation's Avatar
    Exactly. Not a problem at all for us. Sheep fans are used to it and it's miles better than an evening kick off for them.

12:15 Saturday

To be fair they will have to work on the hampden pitch after our game and an evening kick off would probably make it more difficult to get it looking less of a coo field

I might well be in the minority here but the earlier KO i much prefer, I actually like the excitement waking up early knowing i'm Hampden bound... Tunes in the morning, A Magners breakfast then the bus at Easter rd, Good sing song, Few juices then heading for Glasgow, Plus with me having kids it means the earlier we get back the better plus no school on the Sunday , Yep 12.15 Saturday is barry with me

Quote Originally Posted by JDHibs View Post

How far is it between Aberdeen and Glasgow these days?

Its a big deal to me so I'll watch it on the telly

Quote Originally Posted by NAE NOOKIE View Post

We should get together with the Sheep support and arrange a few unmissable banners expressing our dissatisfaction .... its time the MATCH GOING FANS reclaimed the game !!!!
    I suspect 5.15 with the potential for extra time and penalties might cause the sheepies problems getting back. It's better for public transport than the Sunday.

Left by mutual consent! Iggy Pope's Avatar
    I'm amazed at the concern for fans of a club that are a couple of hours up the road.
    4am? My baws.
    They should be thankful they're not at the (towards) North end of a real country.

Quote Originally Posted by JDHibs View Post
    It amazes me fans are still shocked and out raged when this happens. All our recent semis have been the same im sure.

GET OVER IT.

Moaning about it on social media wont change it. TV Rights are worth billions a year to companies. It isnt going to change.

Why do they have to get up at 4am? Where are they coming from? Its only a 2 and a half hr drive down the road 😂😂😂

@hibs.net private member SRHibs's Avatar

Gamertag: Limit Break PSN ID: cyniUK
    Pish.

@hibs.net private member .Sean.'s Avatar
    Canny believe some folk still complain and give it the faux-shock at an earlier than normal kick-off.

On what planet was this ever going to be anything other than an early kick-off? Never in a billion years would it be 3pm, for the reason every man and his dug knows that doesn't even need repeated again and again and again.

Honestly, moaning cause it's a whole 60-odd miles away (I appreciate not for everyone, including the Aberdeen supporters but Hampden is simply just where the semi's are played and have been played for the last hundred and odd years, so tough titties) and in a different city and you'll need to be up a wee bit early. Hibs are in the semi final of the Scottish Cup with arguably the best draw we could've asked for, we've even got the preferred Saturday tie and you've still got some posters whining like a bunch of miserable auld grannies at a rainy bus stop cause it's no being played at the impossible time of 3pm
    Last edited by .Sean.; 07-03-2017 at 04:47 PM.
    ''It's always been just part of the culture. Growing up, for most working-class kids, is all about football, music or clothes. You might not have much money, but whatever you have got, you're going to look good.'' - Paul Weller

The game can't be played between 2.45pm and 5.15pm due to UEFA blackout rules, although there is a bit of leeway for extra time.

With a game the following day and the pitch and branding around the stadium to sort out, it was always going to be early Saturday.

What surprises me is people are surprised. We all get annoyed about kick off times but it is a Semi-Final, kick off times shouldn't be an excuse not to go.

Remember in 2000, we played Aberdeen at Hampden Park with a 6.05pm kick off.

In 1995, we played Celtic in a Semi-Final at Ibrox on a Friday night.

To be fair, the Scottish FA get more money from TV per game than the SPFL do and we get Saturday night highlights.

Train from Aberdeen to Glasgow only takes about 2½ hours. If I were an Aberdeen fan that's how I'd be doing it.

I really do laugh out loud when i read comments like this.

This was always going to be a Saturday lunchtime KO.
    Me too been that way for years so God knows where the shock is coming from??

Quote Originally Posted by DavieRoy View Post
    The game can't be played between 2.45pm and 5.15pm due to UEFA blackout rules, although there is a bit of leeway for extra time.

With a game the following day and the pitch and branding around the stadium to sort out, it was always going to be early Saturday.

What surprises me is people are surprised. We all get annoyed about kick off times but it is a Semi-Final, kick off times shouldn't be an excuse not to go.

Remember in 2000, we played Aberdeen at Hampden Park with a 6.05pm kick off.

In 1995, we played Celtic in a Semi-Final at Ibrox on a Friday night.

To be fair, the Scottish FA get more money from TV per game than the SPFL do and we get Saturday night highlights.
    On a Sunday too.

Give me a 12.15 KO on a Saturday every time compared to 18.05 on a Sunday.

On a Sunday too.

Give me a 12.15 KO on a Saturday every time compared to 18.05 on a Sunday.
    Any news on Ref ?

Quote Originally Posted by southsider View Post
    Any news on Ref ?
    Travelling from Aberdeen. He's already on his way apparently.

Quote Originally Posted by southsider View Post
    Any news on Ref ?
    Yeah he will be of a Masonic persuasion, dress in black and will not give Hibs a decision all day.

Quote Originally Posted by marinello59 View Post

Quote Originally Posted by DH1875 View Post
    Train from Aberdeen to Glasgow only takes about 2½ hours. If I were an Aberdeen fan that's how I'd be doing it.
    Don't think there's one leaves early enough.