Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 123 LastLast
    Quote Originally Posted by MWHIBBIES View Post
    He is on nearly 10 million at Chelsea, dunno where you got 4 from.
    Sky Sports News. Might be nett.

Quote Originally Posted by iwasthere1972 View Post
    Sky Sports News. Might be nett.
    Fair enough, no way Chelsea only paying their top striker 80k pw. 180k more like it.

Quote Originally Posted by Mr White View Post
    Is that not a UEFA rule?
    Aye, right enough! Doh!

@hibs.net private member Jack Hackett's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by Hibernia&Alba View Post
    There are hundreds of millions still living in absolute poverty in China, operating subsistence farms out in the middle of nowhere. WTF is going on? The world is mad.

Have you just noticed?

It's been like this from Day 1.

Where have you been?

Quote Originally Posted by HUTCHYHIBBY View Post
    Aye, right enough! Doh!
    And it's only enforced on small teams.

Quote Originally Posted by lord bunberry View Post
    He's absolutely hated in this country and the reverse would be the case if he went to China.
    You think?

He'll be playing in an area where everyone supports either Manchester United or Liverpool...or both.

Quote Originally Posted by pacoluna View Post
    Riordan was just 5 years to early otherwise it seems he would have been a millionaire
    If he stayed a bit longer he very well could have been.

Quote Originally Posted by Centre Hawf View Post
    If he stayed a bit longer he very well could have been.
    Was he not offered million a year but then bumped.no wages? Hence reason cut short. Same boyd turkey but uefa sorted

Quote Originally Posted by J-C View Post
    TBH only money grabbing players will go, there's still a lot who play to win trophies and titles, go to China and never play for your country again, or play in a European cup final. These guys are loaded anyway, so a few go and get silly money, who really cares.
    Not so sure. Internationals big names gone already. If money lasts watch them all go. Money grabbing ? Applies epl now stakes raised. Medals mean little now. If best all go. Asia cup will slide in replace champ league

Obscene money, an outrage, blah, blah, blah .......... good luck to him or anybody else who can attach themselves to that out of control gravy train.

The 90 odd percent of Europe's fitba fans who support ordinary teams at least will get the chance to laugh our tits off as 'fans' of the continents and UKs giants start bleating about money ruining the game

As I said on another thread, if this continues and China starts sooking up the very best from Europe, South America and Africa then European clubs will be forced to pay the same big bucks as they are paying now, but for lesser talents. That effect will trickle down and hopefully enable Scottish clubs to demand far fairer transfer fees for our best players.

John McGinn without China ...... £3,000,000
    John McGinn with China ........... £5,000,000

Quote Originally Posted by NAE NOOKIE View Post
    Obscene money, an outrage, blah, blah, blah .......... good luck to him or anybody else who can attach themselves to that out of control gravy train.

The 90 odd percent of Europe's fitba fans who support ordinary teams at least will get the chance to laugh our tits off as 'fans' of the continents and UKs giants start bleating about money ruining the game

As I said on another thread, if this continues and China starts sooking up the very best from Europe, South America and Africa then European clubs will be forced to pay the same big bucks as they are paying now, but for lesser talents. That effect will trickle down and hopefully enable Scottish clubs to demand far fairer transfer fees for our best players.

If deal goes through. Leaving epl leaders at peak career . Massive shift in power base. Just think money wont last at these levels. Crazy crazy money

Quote Originally Posted by NAE NOOKIE View Post

But using that logic we would have to pay more for players of a lesser ability too.

There are hundreds of millions still living in absolute poverty in China, operating subsistence farms out in the middle of nowhere. WTF is going on? The world is mad.
    Couldn't agree more. Absolute madness.

I think it is brilliant what they are doing. It's not about signing players it is a process to make there national team competitive at the top, and the way they are going about it is brilliant, but now they need top players to take it to the next level.

They can't just flood teams with players, they must have at least 7 homegrown players in their starting line ups, which is only going to enhance those players abilities playing with the top players from Europe.

All the infrastructure is there, the population is massive meaning huge potential, although they have TV money, most money is likely to come from sponsorship due to the size of audience they are selling to, so less likely to dry up.

Anyone who enjoys/supports EPL teams but thinks this is wrong are jealous that someone with a bigger and brighter idea has come along and taken over.

This is all state sponsored though, can you imagine the UK government getting involved and throwing billions at another sport just to make them world champions in a few years, this is not a level playing field and it won't last.

Although these wages are obscene, i think anyone being approached would seriously have to consider it.

These are amounts of money that would make them their families and extended families comfortable for life, and their children's children.

I wouldnt blame anyone for taking these offers.

Quote Originally Posted by Mr White View Post
    Proof, if it were needed, that greed permeates every aspect of the modern game

And with the winnings I'll buy Costa and Zlatan for Hibs

He would be on £2.5 million a month but would ONLY walk out with £1.4 million a month. Unless its £30 million nett.
    The £30m would be net. TBF, if I was him, I'd want to go too.

@hibs.net private member ano hibby's Avatar
    Interesting showdown...Abramovich v Chinese government.
    Guess even if Abramovich wins this battle he won't win the war as money talks.
    "We've also been unsure about what has happened to the receipts of the players who have been sold."
    George Foulkes BBC website 20/3/08

Quote Originally Posted by Beefster View Post
    The £30m would be net. TBF, if I was him, I'd want to go too.
    Both figures of £4 million and £30 million are net. So 7.5 times the salary that he is currently on. If I was him I would be learning Chinese right now. League winners medal or loadswonga?

@hibs.net private member CapitalGreen's Avatar
    Both figures of £4 million and £30 million are net. So 7.5 times the salary that he is currently on. If I was him I would be learning Chinese right now. League winners medal or loadswonga?
    Who's to say he won't win the league in China too, plus he'll have made enough appearances to receive an EPL medal if Chelsea win it this year too.

Quote Originally Posted by CapitalGreen View Post
    Who's to say he won't win the league in China too, plus he'll have made enough appearances to receive an EPL medal if Chelsea win it this year too.
    It's a win win win all the way then.

A real shame to be losing Costa - best striker in the Prem by a country mile.

Quote Originally Posted by lucky View Post
    But using that logic we would have to pay more for players of a lesser ability too.
    Exactly. It shoves us even further down the pecking order.

Do you know for certain that both amounts are net?

One other thing that hasn't been mentioned is how difficult it is to get money out of China......

Sent from my SM-A510F using Tapatalk

Quote Originally Posted by CropleyWasGod View Post
    Do you know for certain that both amounts are net?

One other thing that hasn't been mentioned is how difficult it is to get money out of China......

Sent from my SM-A510F using Tapatalk
    Said on SSN that the figures are nett. As you say, it could be difficult getting the money out of China.

@hibs.net private member stantonhibby's Avatar
    Although these wages are obscene, i think anyone being approached would seriously have to consider it.

These are amounts of money that would make them their families and extended families comfortable for life, and their children's children.

True, although these players will already have more money than they know what to do with.

Quote Originally Posted by stantonhibby View Post
    True, although these players will already have more money than they know what to do with.

And their agents.....

Doesn't ten million per year for kicking a ball around already achieve all of that?

Is Costa getting £10m a year net?