Page 3 of 4 FirstFirst 1234 LastLast
    Quote Originally Posted by HUTCHYHIBBY View Post
    Crass idea? Seems like a great idea to me.
    Let the girls team do it. They can parade both Scottish Cups.

@hibs.net private member givescotlandfreedom's Avatar
    We're not even at home. Seems like the sort of thing Hearts would do to be honest.

Do we imagine it might be a surprise to Bonnyrigg that we won the cup and have the trophy?

@hibs.net private member stantonhibby's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by Andy74 View Post
    Do we imagine it might be a surprise to Bonnyrigg that we won the cup and have the trophy?
    Obviously not but that's not quite the same as parading the trophy at an away game.

Quote Originally Posted by stantonhibby View Post
    Obviously not but that's not quite the same as parading the trophy at an away game.
    Guess you had issues when we paraded it at Meadownbank pre season also? This being an away game with an 'away' crowd bigger than the home one, at a neutral ground...

Some sensitive souls on here. If we lose it will be far more than because we paraded the trophy at half time or before the game when no players will see it.

Seriously, if this were to even be discussed within the walls of Easter Road then I'm sure Lennon would nip it in the bud.

He's a total professional and wouldn't want any distractions or any additional motivation for the oppositon, no matter who they are.

I wasn't really picturing laps of honour and fireworks, more the cup being brought out with the teams for our first defence of it. The chance to walk the cup out at Tynecastle is too great to pass up I reckon.

Quote Originally Posted by Pete View Post
    Seriously, if this were to even be discussed within the walls of Easter Road then I'm sure Lennon would nip it in the bud.

He's a total professional and wouldn't want any distractions or any additional motivation for the oppositon, no matter who they are.
    So he cancelled the flag unfurlings when he was at Celtic I presume?

I don't remember Celtic unfurling flags at other teams grounds.

Was the ground in question your point?

You seemed to be suggesting it was more a case of being a distraction , unprofessional and motivating for the opposition. I can only assume Lennon didn't share that view when the flags were being unfurled.

@hibs.net private member Alex Trager's Avatar
    Jeese-Louise. The way some threads go...

Mental at times

Quote Originally Posted by hibbysam View Post
    Guess you had issues when we paraded it at Meadownbank pre season also? This being an away game with an 'away' crowd bigger than the home one, at a neutral ground...

Some sensitive souls on here. If we lose it will be far more than because we paraded the trophy at half time or before the game when no players will see it.
    are you planning on running on the pitch again?

I can't see it being allowed. Hertz didn't do it before we knocked them out in their first defence but I suppose we were tennants, Bonnyrigg are for the day too and not our pink pals. If they agree and advertise it will mean more on the gate hibs end and more cash for the rose.

Quote Originally Posted by givescotlandfreedom View Post
    We're not even at home. Seems like the sort of thing Hearts would do to be honest.
    They would do it 100% at Starks Park for the love in coming up, if...they didn't bottle it BIG time.

Was the ground in question your point?

You seemed to be suggesting it was more a case of being a distraction , unprofessional and motivating for the opposition. I can only assume Lennon didn't share that view when the flags were being unfurled.
    The ground is part of it.

This is their home tie and we are guests. Would we talk about parading the cup if we were drawn away at Dundee or Raith? As a fan I'd have no problem if this were at ER as we are the hosts but I'd understand if Lennon took the view that it would be a distraction.

There are similarities to unfurling a league flag but it's not the same. That is a traditional ceremony that's performed at your home ground every year and is nothing out of the ordinary. Parading a cup during your first defence, especially away from home, most certainly is as far as I'm aware.

Who knows, the opposition might get a boost at these flag unfurlings but the consequences of them overperforming would be less severe for the unfurlers. Leagues aren't lost in 90 minutes but you can be put out of cups.

Quote Originally Posted by Alex Trager View Post
    Jeese-Louise. The way some threads go...

Mental at times
    And what's your point caller? It's a fans forum. We're just having a debate. Sorry if that doesn't meet with your approval.

Quote Originally Posted by emerald green View Post
    And what's your point caller? It's a fans forum. We're just having a debate. Sorry if that doesn't meet with your approval.
    Indeed. A thread about Hibs displaying the cup where two opposing sides are discussing the merits of Hibs displaying the cup in a civilised fashion.

Or are there posts about away season tickets or Holt on this thread that I've missed?

If we don't do it now I'll be raging. Already typed my letter to LD and saved it in drafts

Indeed. A thread about Hibs displaying the cup where two opposing sides are discussing the merits of Hibs displaying the cup in a civilised fashion.

Or are there posts about away season tickets or Holt on this thread that I've missed?

I wasn't really picturing laps of honour and fireworks, more the cup being brought out with the teams for our first defence of it. The chance to walk the cup out at Tynecastle is too great to pass up I reckon.
    I can't recall any team ever doing this having won the cup. All seems a bit petty and pointless really.....Sort of thing Hearts would do. Each to their own I suppose.

The ground is part of it.

This is their home tie and we are guests. Would we talk about parading the cup if we were drawn away at Dundee or Raith? As a fan I'd have no problem if this were at ER as we are the hosts but I'd understand if Lennon took the view that it would be a distraction.

There are similarities to unfurling a league flag but it's not the same. That is a traditional ceremony that's performed at your home ground every year and is nothing out of the ordinary. Parading a cup during your first defence, especially away from home, most certainly is as far as I'm aware.

Who knows, the opposition might get a boost at these flag unfurlings but the consequences of them overperforming would be less severe for the unfurlers. Leagues aren't lost in 90 minutes but you can be put out of cups.

Peter a love you to bits but i keep hearing posters on here referring to Bonnyrigg rose getting motivation, a boost, Gee them up etc.. Deary me FFS if we cannae beat Bonnyrigg ****ing rose we may as well give it up now..I couldnae give a flying **** if it motivates them 1 million percent or not, The day we start worrying about giving a junior team a boost is the day i'l hang up my season ticket.

Bonnyrigg rose deary , dearie me.

Would be a giggle like...

Incidentally, every time that trumpet Scott Wilson opens his trap he should be roundly silenced by "2 nil and yous @@@@@@ it up!"

Perhaps bonnyrigg could give us a guard of honour ???

I'm not sure its the right thing to but.......LETS DO IT.

Was at the home of golf today so don't see why it can't now visit the home of Rolf
    This is how it feels

I can't recall any team ever doing this having won the cup. All seems a bit petty and pointless really.....Sort of thing Hearts would do. Each to their own I suppose.
    If only they had won it instead of us eh

Quote Originally Posted by BoomtownHibeys View Post
    If only they had won it instead of us eh
    Great response.... Probably the stupidest post ever.
    Last edited by stantonhibby; 09-01-2017 at 06:41 PM.

@hibs.net private member BroxburnHibee's Avatar

Gamertag: CoolHibeesdaft PSN ID: Hibeesdaft
    Quote Originally Posted by greenlex View Post
    What happened?
    Think he's referring to us losing then their fans staging their wee sit-in.

That all happened before they paraded the cup though.
    Life should NOT be a journey to the grave with the intention of arriving safely in an attractive and well preserved body, but rather to skid in sideways, chocolate in one hand, vodka in the other, body thoroughly used up, totally worn out and screaming, "WOO HOO what a ride!"

Quote Originally Posted by houstonhibbee View Post
    are you planning on running on the pitch again?
    What nonsense are you spouting now? Pitch invasion? Aye ok.

Quote Originally Posted by Jonnyboy View Post
    Was at the home of golf today so don't see why it can't now visit the home of Rolf

Scotty Wilson, 13256520_990925280943647_2047447840062075272_n.jpg "can you see what it is yet...?"