Thread: Marciano

@hibs.net private member The Sundance Kid's Avatar

Marciano

Just watched Lennon's pre-match interview on Hibs TV and he was saying that Marciano is due in for surgery on Monday (I assume on the knee injury he picked up on international duty?) and faces 2 to 3 weeks on the sidelines.

Having zero luck on the injury front at the moment it seems

just what we dinnae need!. big guy has been very competent, and dispite his height he seems to get down very well to any low balls into our goal area. gutted

Quote Originally Posted by monktonharp View Post
    just what we dinnae need!. big guy has been very competent, and dispite his height he seems to get down very well to any low balls into our goal area. gutted
    It never rains but it pours (greenock ) Agree this is the wprst time to be picking up all these injuries gives united another wee lift But nothing we can do except hope Lennon can still put out a team to grind out results till we bring in transfer targets and gradually get injured players fit

Really bad news, he was just coming into his game and has put in some great assured performances over the past few weeks. This injury may be overlooked but this is as big as McGinn, Fyvie.

Laidlaws more than capable.

Nightmare.

Marciano, Fyvie, McGinn and Keatings would walk into the first team of every other club in this league so to have them all out at the same time is a real blow.

****s sake. Thankfully it's three games in which we should be able to cope.

Quote Originally Posted by HibsNutter View Post
    ****s sake. Thankfully it's three games in which we should be able to cope.
    understand your thoughts, thankfully 3 games and all that but if we go back over the years.....plenty of players almost ready after short term injuries etc then Managers saying too early, don't want to rush him etc etc. definitely not what we need. the usual f/kin sair ones at this time of year for Hibernian fc.

Every flippin' year!

Gamertag: lewyhfc
    Am I being daft, what's happened to Otso?

Quote Originally Posted by hibeeleicester View Post
    Am I being daft, what's happened to Otso?
    He is pish

Quote Originally Posted by pedroorange1875 View Post
    He is pish
    He's no worse than Laidlaw. Losing our first choice keeper is a sore one, especially as we're already struggling with injuries and our next three games after this one all have potential dropped points in them.

Quote Originally Posted by Steve20 View Post
    He's no worse than Laidlaw. Losing our first choice keeper is a sore one, especially as we're already struggling with injuries and our next three games after this one all have potential dropped points in them.
    Disagree, he is worse than Laidlaw, but understand its your opinion

Quote Originally Posted by Steve20 View Post
    Judging on the brondby games each of them played id say laidlaw is far superior, otso wont be seen again in the first team!

Better getting this sorted now than waiting until the real business end of the season. The amount of strapping on Marcianos leg at Tannadice was ridiculous and you could see he wasn't properly striking through the ball when kicking, it was almost like he was chipping it to half way.

As others have said we have a competent replacement waiting to come in so whilst it's not ideal, it's not a disaster imo.

@hibs.net private member Northernhibee's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by pedroorange1875 View Post
    He is pish
    The coaches rate him highly, just feel he needs some more time before regular first game action.

Do you think your security can keep you in purity, you will not shake us off above or below. Scottish friction, Scottish fiction

Surely he should have been straight in after the Dundee Utd game, knowing we had a home game the following week at home against Dumbarton?

Laidlaw is good enough, but i personally think we've missed a week where we have a home game against a team we should beat easily with me in goal.

Quote Originally Posted by greenlex View Post
    Laidlaws more than capable.
    Agree totally very calm and solid goalie.

I like Laidlaw he's the best out of the 3 of them but it's all about opinions
    Last edited by lucky; 09-12-2016 at 02:54 PM.

@hibs.net private member Stevie Reid's Avatar
    Not too worried by this. Our goalkeepers aren't kept busy - even away from home against our main title rivals last week, Marciano only had to face a few shots from distance. I'd be curious to know how many touches of the ball he has actually had in games that he's played.

Laidlaw was excellent against Brondby, suspect v QOS in the cup, and steady in other games he has played. No problems with him.

Not worried by this.

Laidlaw played in the first 3 games of the season and we won them all with him making good saves on the way. We are now better defensively since then.

@hibs.net private member Alex Trager's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by JDHibs View Post
    Not worried by this.

Laidlaw played in the first 3 games of the season and we won them all with him making good saves on the way. We are now better defensively since then.
    You could argue that is down to Rocky?

Gamertag: GlasMatt PSN ID: mrxblaikiex
    Bring back Conrad

We are better defensively, how many saves on average has Marciano had to make compared to Laidlaw average over the first 3 games?

Marciano is a by stander in most of our games.

@hibs.net private member Bishop Hibee's Avatar
    No luck with injuries at present. Rocky was settling in well but Laidlaw is a decent stand-in.
    "Washing one's hands of the conflict between the powerful and the powerless means to side with the powerful, not to be neutral.' - Paulo Freire

Quote Originally Posted by The Sundance Kid View Post
    Just watched Lennon's pre-match interview on Hibs TV and he was saying that Marciano is due in for surgery on Monday (I assume on the knee injury he picked up on international duty?) and faces 2 to 3 weeks on the sidelines.

Having zero luck on the injury front at the moment it seems
    Bummer but we have a pretty decent stand in.

So I assume he can play tomorrow?

Rocky will be missed.

Quote Originally Posted by RoxburghHibs View Post
    So I assume he can play tomorrow?
    Laidlaw will play tomorrow.

Surely he should have been straight in after the Dundee Utd game, knowing we had a home game the following week at home against Dumbarton?

Laidlaw is good enough, but i personally think we've missed a week where we have a home game against a team we should beat easily with me in goal.
    I don't think we'd ever lose a game with you in goal
    G😉🇳🇬