Page 4 of 17 FirstFirst ... 2345614 ... LastLast

Thread: Scotland

What happened to the Henry McLeish review?

http://news.bbc.co.uk/sport1/hi/scotland/8638920.stm

Quote Originally Posted by HoboHarry View Post
    I've said it a million times - Andy Roxburgh predicted that there was a s***storm coming for our national team and he was pretty much correct in everything he said was wrong with our game...

Have we had anyone remotely close to being as competent as Roxburgh since he was around?

He knew his stuff and doesn't deserved to be dragged anywhere near this.

"Aye, but he wiz a teacher. Whit did he ken aboot fitba?"

Quote Originally Posted by theonlywayisup View Post
    What happened to the Henry McLeish review?

http://news.bbc.co.uk/sport1/hi/scotland/8638920.stm
    Not implemented because they would have to change.

Quote Originally Posted by HoboHarry View Post
    I've said it a million times - Andy Roxburgh predicted that there was a s***storm coming for our national team and he was pretty much correct in everything he said was wrong with our game...
    Did you listen to his recent interview?

It was nonsense with the same old tired stuff about 'computer games' and 'no wanting it enough' as if no one in Germany, France, Croatia or Iceland has ever owned a Playstation or been distracted by things other than football. He may have had something relevant to say 25 years ago but predicting a problem (or noticing it after it has already started) and actually identifying the cause and resolving it are 2 different things.

Professional thread starter Diclonius's Avatar
    Did you listen to his recent interview?

It was nonsense with the same old tired stuff about 'computer games' and 'no wanting it enough' as if no one in Germany, France, Croatia or Iceland has ever owned a Playstation or been distracted by things other than football. He may have had something relevant to say 25 years ago but predicting a problem (or noticing it after it has already started) and actually identifying the cause and resolving it are 2 different things.
    Any time someone brings up the "wee laddies wi their Playstations" drivel you know they're completely uninformed, ignorant and can't be bothered putting the effort in to actually think about it.

Obviously we could do with better players (an argument for somewhere else) but is it too much to ask to have International professional footballers who do not make mistakes as bad as the ones we made for the goals today?

Steve Clarke can organise a defence. He can take average players and make them play in a competent manner within a structure.

That was all over the place today. I agree that we need to do a bit of soul-searching into why our players aren't better but we had a Man United player on the bench. David Bates launching the ball over a midfield to a lone striker who wins nothing all day has nothing to do with playstations.

Quote Originally Posted by Smartie View Post
    Obviously we could do with better players (an argument for somewhere else) but is it too much to ask to have International professional footballers who do not make mistakes as bad as the ones we made for the goals today?

Steve Clarke can organise a defence. He can take average players and make them play in a competent manner within a structure.

That was all over the place today. I agree that we need to do a bit of soul-searching into why our players aren't better but we had a Man United player on the bench. David Bates launching the ball over a midfield to a lone striker who wins nothing all day has nothing to do with playstations.
    We have better players than Kazakhstan. It’s the SFA and the management team that’s the problem.
    Ecks a dinosaur. James McFadden is more a mascot than a coach. It’s a complete joke.

Quote Originally Posted by Diclonius View Post
    Any time someone brings up the "wee laddies wi their Playstations" drivel you know they're completely uninformed, ignorant and can't be bothered putting the effort in to actually think about it.
    Exactly. They've all got x boxes.

Quote Originally Posted by allant1981 View Post
    Yes we do, marshall, robertson, teirney, morrison, snodgrass, anya, mcarthur, griffiths, rhodes, mccormack are all good players
    How many of these good players featured today?

Quote Originally Posted by we are hibs View Post
    Serious questions need to be asked about why they didn't.

@hibs.net private member Stonewall's Avatar
    Need to be but won’t.

The SFA are a potent mixture of ineptitude, arrogance, intransigence and corruption. Unfortunately that’s not even half of our problems.

@hibs.net private member JohnMcM's Avatar
    Aaaawww no!

Just starting to sober up.

That result was real,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,, wasn't it?

Awwwww sh???e!!

I am seriously depressed about that result. I have been to two world cup finals, 1990 and 1998 and a European championship finals 1996. My son is 15 next month and I'm not sure he will ever get to experience the fun, exhilaration and downright nonsense that goes with attending these things. We have slipped so far behind so many countries it is a disgrace

@hibs.net private member Allant1981's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by we are hibs View Post
    Stalking my posts again I see!

'We were looking quite lively until they scored'...
    Alex McLeish.

Quote of the year.

Quote Originally Posted by hibsbollah View Post
    Alex McLeish.

Quote of the year.
    They scored after 6 mins. Jeezo that is pathetic from Eck

Alex McLeish.

Quote of the year.
    I genuinely think there might be something not quite right with him.

I don't remember him talking the way he does now in the past. Everything is very slow and deliberate as if getting the words out is a struggle. He looks awful as well.

I suppose if anything was up it would have been picked up before he was appointed but it is the SFA we are talking about.

Alex McLeish.

Quote of the year.
    What an utter a-hole

Is it true that McGregor and McFadden had a bit of a set to or just internet rumours?

I'm quite glad they got beat

McLeish and McFadden

You've got to laugh

Quote Originally Posted by cleanyman View Post

McLeish and McFadden

You've got to laugh
    And Peter ******g Grant !

The names above are exactly why we have regressed as a football playing nation. Jobs for the boys wee cliques from the SFA committees to the coaches. Total joke. There is so much wrong with the set up and governance of football in this country. Everything is designed around two clubs to the detriment of everyone else including the national team

Quote Originally Posted by weecounty hibby View Post
    The names above are exactly why we have regressed as a football playing nation. Jobs for the boys wee cliques from the SFA committees to the coaches. Total joke. There is so much wrong with the set up and governance of football in this country. Everything is designed around two clubs to the detriment of everyone else including the national team
    Exactly right. James McFadden has zero coaching experience but gets to coach the national team! He is just a highly paid mascot.

Quote Originally Posted by cleanyman View Post

McLeish and McFadden

You've got to laugh
    You're glad your country were defeated?

@hibs.net private member bingo70's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by Ozyhibby View Post
    Exactly right. James McFadden has zero coaching experience but gets to coach the national team! He is just a highly paid mascot.

Is that not quite common in international football?

Don’t think Klinsmann had much coaching experience when he got the Germany job, Giggs (and maybe Hughes?) first managerial job was at Wales, I’m sure there’s others too that I can’t think of just now.

I don’t mind players going straight into international coaching as ultimately I’m not sure how much coaching goes on, they don’t really have the players for long enough to do work on the training ground. Imo it’s more about getting someone that’s smart tactically and knows how to motivate the players rather than getting a good coach.

McLeish clearly isn’t the answer and only got the job as we didn’t have a chief executive at the time, or had only just come in. Unfortunately it’s pretty clear the SFA don’t have a clue what they’re doing, with no obvious replacement I fear the worst for the rest of our campaign. I’d love us to show a bit ambition and imagination but there’s absolutely no chance. We’ll probably get rid of McLeish and bring in Paul Lambert when he gets sacked from Ipswich.

Seriously?
    Robertson avoided playing, teirney avoided playing , morrison gone, snodgrass avoided playing, anya gone, mcarthur retired from international football, Griffiths not kicked a ball since leaving the casino, rhodes gone, mccormack injured.

For me we have nucleus of a fresh new team but McLeish has no idea. He brings a Man Utd midfielder on when game is done!

Quote Originally Posted by Ozyhibby View Post

So you blame McFadden for the result? Quite odd.

The players respect and admire him. I can guarantee he is not the issue.

I'd also add that he has huge coaching experience. Or do you think he hasn't been coached for 20+ years?
    Last edited by SquashedFrogg; 21-03-2019 at 09:58 PM.

First Team Regular Topographic Hibby's Avatar
    A side issue that is related to all of this...

..what has the glorious new CEO of the SFA added in terms of value to the game in Scotland, since he started drawing his very substantial salary? Nothing tangible that I can see.

Quote Originally Posted by weecounty hibby View Post
    100% agree

I also don’t actually think McLeish is well. Before the Wcotland job I saw him on various tv shows and even deliver a coaching conference and just didn’t seem right. Hopefully it’s nothing serious.

Also agree about McFadden - not his fault but surely we can do better?

There was a thread about McLeish on here a few months back. IIRC I posted that he reviewed a match & said Tom Cairney was neat & tidy when he came on. In fact Tom Cairney had started the game. His comment was so excrutiatingly awful the panel pretended they hadn't heard it. It gives me no pleasure to say it but McLeish should be nowhere near the Scotland job. The accident that was waiting to happen has happened.
    Last edited by brog; 21-03-2019 at 10:02 PM.