Page 1 of 17 12311 ... LastLast

Thread: Scotland

Scotland

As a footballing nation, we are really really poor.

How bad is it going to be before this proud nation does something about it.

I don't blame Strachan. I don't blame today's players.

No the blames lies with all of those who have input into Scottish football for the last 30 years. We are getting increasingly worse.

The quality of player today is miles worse than where we were 30 years ago.

I blame the schools. I blame the pro-youth teams. I blame the boys football teams. I blame the Government. I blame the professional football teams. I blame the dads that take their sons football teams. You're all to blame.

Quote Originally Posted by theonlywayisup View Post
    As a footballing nation, we are really really poor.

How bad is it going to be before this proud nation does something about it.

I don't blame Strachan. I don't blame today's players.

No the blames lies with all of those who have input into Scottish football for the last 30 years. We are getting increasingly worse.

The quality of player today is miles worse than where we were 30 years ago.

I blame the schools. I blame the pro-youth teams. I blame the boys football teams. I blame the Government. I blame the professional football teams. I blame the dads that take their sons football teams. You're all to blame.
    What are you blaming them for.

@hibs.net private member & Biggest, Funniest Slaver on hibs.net 2012 Pedantic_Hibee's Avatar
    Do an Iceland, do a Spain, do a France....realise that all we've done before isn't working. Rip up the book and start again. Two steps back to go forward.
    "Play for the name on the front of the jersey and the supporters will remember the name on the back"

Quote Originally Posted by gorgiegreens View Post
    What are you blaming them for.
    Scotland being a joke of a football team. The poor quality of player that we have today.

Quote Originally Posted by Pedantic_Hibee View Post
    Do an Iceland, do a Spain, do a France....realise that all we've done before isn't working. Rip up the book and start again. Two steps back to go forward.
    Totally agree - rip it all up and start fresh from the under 8s

See before we tried to centrally control everything, we actually produced good players.

Scotland being a joke of a football team. The poor quality of player that we have today.
    So who do you blame for not producing another 100m Olympic Gold medalist after Alan Wells. The parents the schools the coaches.

If the kids are not interested or not good enough there is nothing you can do about it.

The thing is there are hundreds of games on across Scotland every Saturday. Perhaps we should have a proper pyramid where good players can get to the top. We have so many different leagues - SPFL, senior non-league, juniors, amateurs, welfare etc the organisation of Scottish football hasn't moved on. I'm sure we do produce the players. We just need the proper system in place to allow them to develop and a manager who will pick players on form and not thier favourites. ....and breathe!

If the kids are not interested or not good enough there is nothing you can do about it.
    So we give up then!!

Surely no matter how many times we say start again at youth level, We should still be able to put a team out that shows fight and quality. We aren't a country of useless players. We just have absolutely no structure at the moment. All in my opinion of course
    Last edited by David_D; 11-11-2016 at 11:14 PM.

So who do you blame for not producing another 100m Olympic Gold medalist after Alan Wells. The parents the schools the coaches.

We never had a string of top class sprinters before or after Wells. We've always had a pretty steady stream of top class footballers, but that well appears to have run dry.

What did Mark Wotte do in all the years he was royally rewarded by the SFA? What was his legacy? Certainly not a rich seam of talent. The SFA need to look at other countries and start again from scratch. Something has to change.

So we give up then!!
    Well you have said it is everyone's fault that they are s***e. So who is going to achieve this minor miracle. If the parents or volunteers didnae take these boys clubs I'm afraid there would be no more football

Quote Originally Posted by Pedantic_Hibee View Post
    Any footballing initiative in this country doesn't stand a chance UNLESS it benefits both of the 'Ugly Sisters' - same applies if the initiative benefits ALL of Scottish Football !

Quote Originally Posted by Ozyhibby View Post
    See before we tried to centrally control everything, we actually produced good players.

That's when we all piled up the school playground with yer Adidas Bambas and a Wembley Trophy moulded ball and played till sunset.

Then when there were only a couple of yous left you played long shot bangers or wall tennis.

Changed days.

Well you have said it is everyone's fault that they are s***e. So who is going to achieve this minor miracle. If the parents or volunteers didnae take these boys clubs I'm afraid there would be no more football
    I take it you're one of the dads. Me too!!

But it's wrong. No dad should coach or manage their own sons team. But that is only the start of it.

It's the win at all cost mentality. How many coaches have said "it's performances not wins that means most to me" yet end up playing the physically stronger players or shout when a player miscontrols the ball or plays a poor ball.

Tainted.

It's not that simple..

Change is needed at the top - those running the game and the SFA

Culture - even the official Scottish FA social media is posting pics of fans drinking at 8.20am on a train down to the game. Scotland has a drinking culture and poor diet in its youngsters - needs changed.

Coaches - jobs for the boys. An ex player doesn't make a good coach. Our best coaches should be at youth level - no point having just good coaches at 18 years plus when kids can't do the basics.

School - better PE lessons teaching kids how to be agile, balance and co-ordination plus learn to run.

Finally...footballers do need brains to get them to the next level - effort can get you so far - not just a football brain but problem solving and intelligence when situations change in games -including a strong mindset.
    Last edited by GreenCastle; 11-11-2016 at 11:14 PM.

But it's wrong. No dad should coach or manage their own sons team. But that is only the start of it.

It's the win at all cost mentality. How many coaches have said "it's performances not wins that means most to me" yet end up playing the physically stronger players or shout when a player miscontrols the ball or plays a poor ball.
    No but I know it's a thankless task. The parents who watch there loved ones know better than the coach but are unwilling to help. And your no allowed to make them a sub. I take my hat off to all parents & volunteers like yourself.

Quote Originally Posted by GreenCastle View Post
    It's not that simple..

Culture - even the official Scottish FA social media is posting pics of fans drinking at 8.20am on a train down to the game. Scotland has a drinking culture and poor diet in its youngsters - needs changed.

Coaches - jobs for the boys. An ex player doesn't make a good coach. Our best coaches should be at youth level - no point having just good coaches at 18 years plus when kids can't do the basis.

School - better PE lessons teaching kids how to be agile, balance and co-ordination plus learn to run.

Finally...footballers do need brains to get them to the next level - effort can get you so far - not just a football brain but problem solving and intelligence when situations change in games -including a strong mindset.
    You're right.

The reason I posted the maybe controversial view is that over 20 years ago after we failed to qualify for the 1994 World Cup Gordon Strachan was live on a national debate about what had gone wrong with Scottish football. Here we are 22 years later and we've only qualified for two out of the next 11 competitions. And we're getting worse. Miles worse.

No but I know it's a thankless task. The parents who watch there loved ones know better than the coach but are unwilling to help. And your no allowed to make them a sub. I take my hat off to all parents & volunteers like yourself.
    Agreed parents and volunteers are least of the issues.

Yes they need educated at times but especially playing through the winter and miles they drive to training and games - I think it's unfair to have a go at them.

You could say many volunteer coaches get given certificates when they aren't up to standard - but it's because the SFA get funding and need to fill courses and claim they have X amount of qualified coaches to show they are trying to progress.

Quantity over quality sadly.

If it wasn't for the dads we would be even worse. But we need a completely new approach. I've seen a team completely destroyed by one parents reluctance to drop their own son.

You're right.

The reason I posted the maybe controversial view is that over 20 years ago after we failed to qualify for the 1994 World Cup Gordon Strachan was live on a national debate about what had gone wrong with Scottish football. Here we are 22 years later and we've only qualified for two out of the next 11 competitions. And we're getting worse. Miles worse.

It will continue to get worse - doesn't matter the manager. Jose or Pep wouldn't have won against an average England team.

We need our players playing abroad in good leagues - lower English leagues or lower EPL isn't a good standard. They need to be in top 4 teams in Germany, Spain, Italy but sadly it won't happen. England have the same issue - Wales have Bale at Madrid. Iceland players are all over Europe out the comfort zone of their own county.

The thing is other countries are progressing and the gaps growing and we aren't even addressing the problems. These 2020 centres they have are failing and we don't even have a head of football as they appointed Mclair and was completely the wrong choice.

Quote Originally Posted by GreenCastle View Post
    It's not that simple..

Coaches - jobs for the boys. An ex player doesn't make a good coach. Our best coaches should be at youth level - no point having just good coaches at 18 years plus when kids can't do the basics.

Aye, it's the teachers fault ah tellz ye! So people on here criticising 'volunteers' such as parents and teachers. How dare they give up their own free time - unpaid - to allow youngsters a chance to take part in sport. I highlighted the bit which tells me know absolutely nothing about the curriculum but, hey ho, don't let the truth get in the way of a good moan. Just attack groups of people who are easy targets. Sad and pathetic.

Strachan needs to go, there's been enough stories about him being unsure about continuing or needing talked into it; if his heart ain't it, then he shouldn't be there.

He still has no idea what his starting 11 is, his comments tonight about not being sure what else he could try sounds like beaten man, and wins over Malta and Gibraltar aside, we're on an awful run of form.

Quote Originally Posted by Wee Effen Bee View Post
    Aye, it's the teachers fault ah tellz ye! So people on here criticising 'volunteers' such as parents and teachers. How dare they give up their own free time - unpaid - to allow youngsters a chance to take part in sport. I highlighted the bit which tells me know absolutely nothing about the curriculum but, hey ho, don't let the truth get in the way of a good moan. Just attack groups of people who are easy targets. Sad and pathetic.
    Easy tiger..I have plenty PE teaching friends - some very good ones in fact.

I also know some schools who don't do enough physical activity and hence why we have quite a few kids over weight - diet contributes also - both at school and home.

Tell me more about the curriculum then ? Do you feel it's teaching enough ABCs and a mixture of different sports ? Rugby and Tennis taught in these schools also along with cycling since these seem to be the main Scottish sports ? Are the teachers specialist in football at school or just hired to do various sports (which is fine) but to go to the next level kids need to do specific sport related practice.

Scottish football, both national and domestically, has been mismanaged by all those involved in the game. The self-interest of clubs, the cut-throat league system, Reagan and Doncaster are all to blame. Until we have a root and branch review and reset of the game, the game will continue to decline in Scotland.

Any Premier Division that includes Ross County, Inverness and Hamilton's core established clubs is going nowhere.

Quote Originally Posted by Onion View Post
    Scottish football, both national and domestically, has been mismanaged by all those involved in the game. The self-interest of clubs, the cut-throat league system, Reagan and Doncaster are all to blame. Until we have a root and branch review and reset of the game, the game will continue to decline in Scotland.

Any Premier Division that includes Ross County, Inverness and Hamilton's core established clubs is going nowhere.
    This person gets it - until those in power at the top we can change manager as many times as you want but nothing will change.

Funny thing is every loss / poor performance it's the same nonsense on phone ins and radio and many so called experts can't even realise it's a huge problem - they are oblivious to it.

@hibs.net private member LaMotta's Avatar
    how are the players meant to play properly in that ***in stupid pink outfit!

I'm afraid that's it in a nutshell. Every boys club starts out with a remit to produce good football teams who can compete. As time goes on though the need to justify what the coaches do takes over and they feel they need to win most games and of course trophies. Ive seen it with the club I coach with over the last couple of seasons where gradually all the focus is veering towards the club winning something. Players who are really good at 10,11,12 don't always become top players. Danny Galbraith was a top youngster destined for the top but never kicked on. Hibs won the youth cup in the early nineties but most of the team disappeared down the leagues. Players like Christophe Berra didn't even play for the school team and Ian wright didn't go professional till in his 20s and of course our very own darren mcgregor story is well documented. Coaches can either coach kids to become good footballers or can coach teams to win most matches. Right now the latter seems to run through Scottish football. Rant over.

Quote Originally Posted by Deansy View Post
    Any footballing initiative in this country doesn't stand a chance UNLESS it benefits both of the 'Ugly Sisters' - same applies if the initiative benefits ALL of Scottish Football !
    While our game is being run to the benefit of 2 clubs we will continue to scrape along the bottom.

United we stand here....