Page 3 of 3 FirstFirst 123
    So our most capped player, Lawrie Reilly (5 ft 7 ins - 38 caps, 22 goals) would never have played for Scotland had Strachan been around in his day.

Quote Originally Posted by Mr White View Post
    Burke has to be in with a shout no? Contributed a goal and a couple of assists in an unbeaten start to the season for the team sitting third in the bundesliga.
    To be honest I have only ever seen him play for a total of 45 minutes so haven't seen nearly enough of him to judge. You would hope with the money paid for him he could go on to become a great player.

Quote Originally Posted by Nameless View Post
    Martin Keown (Scottish football expert that he is) was talking about Scotland on Football Focus on Saturday. Claimed that Scotland have NO decent players, and nobody coming through! Essentially said that Strachan is doing an amazing job with the dross at his disposal. I find this latest article rather depressing, as it is further proof of our rapid descent in world football under Strachan and the current regime at Hampden.
    Basic ignorance from Keown but it's up to Scotland to change perceptions. Much like Chris Coleman has with Wales (admittedly, with some real quality in his squad).

Strachan does seem more and more like a dinosaur, sadly.

The words of a man who knows his time is up. He should be sacked before it's too late.

United we stand here....

Andy Robertson is out of the game at wembley due to a calf injury, he was my man of the match v Lithuania

Absolutely ridiculous from Strachan.

For such a skilful player in his day who showed height didn't matter to come out with this utter tripe is totally depressing. Every youth coach in Scotland must be thinking that there is no point in bringing through players like Griffiths if he isn't going to be considered by the national coach. It's shows what a shambles Scottish football is because firstly he came out with this unbelievably stupid statement and then secondly they haven't called him in to explain what the hell he is on about and is he the right man for the job. Strachan is typical of current managers who when criticised resort to the how many trophies/ caps had his critics won and he of course is right even when we win one point out of six against countries way below our current ranking. I take my hat off to the loyal scotland fans who keep going to the games when they have to put up with a constant stream of managers who don't have a clue. God knows who we should get to replace him.

Left by mutual consent! calumhibee1's Avatar
    Scotland should go for broke and go for Alex Neil.

Quote Originally Posted by calumhibee1 View Post
    Scotland should go for broke and go for Alex Neil.
    too small

I see that big huddy Chris Martin scored for Fulham tonight. Not sure how well he did defensively though
    This is how it feels

@hibs.net private member snooky's Avatar
    Good news for Sparky and his like. Tests show that heading a ball does stuff to your brain and now Gordon Smith wants to adopt the American rule of banning kids from heading footballs.
    How long before this is adopted at the senior level?
    It'll be a whole new ball game, as they say.

To make matters worse for me, I'll no' be able to call my mate "Heid the baw" onymair.

Quote Originally Posted by bigwheel View Post
    too small
    #BigSamIn

And who provides the neat assist to Dembele that puts Celtic into League cup final?? "Shorty" . Strachan needs to empty his desk.

Gary Lineker was interviewing Strachan and asked him what he looked for in a striker, his reply -

"someone to bring others into the game"

Garys reply, "Surely you want a striker to score goals?"

Says it all really.

Quote Originally Posted by JDHibs View Post
    Gary Lineker was interviewing Strachan and asked him what he looked for in a striker, his reply -

"someone to bring others into the game"

Garys reply, "Surely you want a striker to score goals?"

Says it all really.
    What did Strachan say in reply?

Quote Originally Posted by Danderhall Hibs View Post
    What did Strachan say in reply?
    That would be interesting to hear.

He won't have been able to trot out his usual "you huvnae played the game, you wouldnae understand" to a former internationalist with that many international appearances, goals and a golden boot to his name.

and now Robert Snodgrass is out of the game at wembers, along with Andy Robertson :( not good

Leigh huge similaritres robbo and billy dodds but better than both. Both were not given chance but then had huge impact after a goal for country. Sadly diff is a few aside. Nowhere near good a team we thought at time ****.Team v them 96 ,99 much better current team.