Page 10 of 30 FirstFirst ... 8910111220 ... LastLast
    Quote Originally Posted by sleeping giant View Post
    Arm span is roughly the same as your height and can be taken into account for medical calculations on amputees.
    More here.

https://en.m.wikipedia.org/wiki/Vitruvian_Man

@hibs.net private member Jim Herriot's Avatar
    The lyrics of "Bohemian Rhapsody" contain the title of the song that knocked it off the top of the UK charts - "Mamma Mia".

Quote Originally Posted by sleeping giant View Post
    Arm span is roughly the same as your height and can be taken into account for medical calculations on amputees.
    Add to this if you take a pair of trousers at the waist and wrap them round your neck, if they go all the way round they will fit you.( in the waist obviously)

Quote Originally Posted by TRC View Post
    Add to this if you take a pair of trousers at the waist and wrap them round your neck, if they go all the way round they will fit you.( in the waist obviously)
    Aye sure. I'm not falling for that one.

@hibs.net private member snooky's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by Geo_1875 View Post
    Aye sure. I'm not falling for that one.
    Sounds to me there could be a leg pull involved.

Quote Originally Posted by snooky View Post
    Sounds like a right waist of time.

Private Members Prediction League Winner Hibrandenburg's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by snooky View Post
    A quick calculation adds up. If I double my shirt collar size it equates to my waist size.

Quote Originally Posted by Hibrandenburg View Post
    A quick calculation adds up. If I double my shirt collar size it equates to my waist size.
    That works for the "average" man. If you're a fat **** with a pencil neck you'll be ****ed.

Quote Originally Posted by Hibrandenburg View Post
    Works for me if I use my heid circumference x 2.

@hibs.net private member Alfiembra's Avatar
    There's no such thing as a poisonous snake!

There are however venomous snakes, poison has to be ingested i.e. Swallowed whereas venom is injected.

@hibs.net private member danhibees1875's Avatar
    Parmesan isn't vegetarian.

Maybe something that is common knowledge, but i only found out recently when a friend pointed out how funny it was that a restaurant we were in had a "vegetarian" section on their menu that only had one dish and it included parmesan.

I think other cheeses are not vegetarian, and it's to do with containing animal retten
    Mon the Hibs.

Quote Originally Posted by danhibees1875 View Post
    Parmesan isn't vegetarian.

Maybe something that is common knowledge, but i only found out recently when a friend pointed out how funny it was that a restaurant we were in had a "vegetarian" section on their menu that only had one dish and it included parmesan.

I think other cheeses are not vegetarian, and it's to do with containing animal retten
    You can get vegetarian parmesan cheese both La Favorita and Vittoria's use it.

@hibs.net private member danhibees1875's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by Scouse Hibee View Post
    You can get vegetarian parmesan cheese both La Favorita and Vittoria's use it.
    We thought that at one stage. Then realised that the addition of the animal rennet was necessary for it to be called parmesan (similar to champagne having to come from that region). Although maybe there is a way round that then!
    Mon the Hibs.

We thought that at one stage. Then realised that the addition of the animal rennet was necessary for it to be called parmesan (similar to champagne having to come from that region). Although maybe there is a way round that then!
    Gran Moravia made with vegetable rennet. Hard to tell the difference, not sure about the techn icalities but does the job.
    Last edited by Scouse Hibee; 03-04-2017 at 06:46 PM.

Parmigiano Reggiano can only be made in the designated area of Italy. You can get copycat Parmasen cheese. Another almost useless fact learned working delivering cheese.

Private Members Prediction League Winner Hibrandenburg's Avatar
    There are no utterly useless facts. Fact

All polar bears are left handed.

United we stand here....

The Sahara is only number three in the largest desert league. Antarctica is top followed by the Arctic. It's something to do with rainfall.

Quote Originally Posted by superhibi1 View Post
    sure it is something to do with being clumsy and the way an egg moves is clumsy
    You're right there.

Quote Originally Posted by lord bunberry View Post
    Okay, but which one is the south paw?

This one doesn't really meet the thread criteria in that it's useful if you're driving a car you're not accustomed to. I'm also not 100% sure it's a fact, but here goes anyway:

You can tell which side the filler cap is on by looking at the wee picture of a petrol pump on the fuel gauge - if the hose is on left-hand side of the picture the filler cap is on the left-hand side of the car and vice-versa. Some gauges also have a wee arrow pointing to the relevant side.

Quote Originally Posted by Caversham Green View Post
    This one doesn't really meet the thread criteria in that it's useful if you're driving a car you're not accustomed to. I'm also not 100% sure it's a fact, but here goes anyway:

You can tell which side the filler cap is on by looking at the wee picture of a petrol pump on the fuel gauge - if the hose is on left-hand side of the picture the filler cap is on the left-hand side of the car and vice-versa. Some gauges also have a wee arrow pointing to the relevant side.
    Yes learnt that a while back, very useful with the amount of hire cars I drive.

Left by mutual consent! calumhibee1's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by Caversham Green View Post

Not true. In a hire car in America (was a Jeep Cherokee) the fuel gauge had the hose coming out the opposite side to what it actually was on the car. Either a one off design flaw of this specific car or it's not actually the case.

@hibs.net private member oldbutdim's Avatar
    Yes learnt that a while back, very useful with the amount of hire cars I drive.
    Urban myth.

Some models have a wee arrow next to the pump to show you, but the pump handle myth is just that.

Quote Originally Posted by oldbutdim View Post
    Urban myth.

Some models have a wee arrow next to the pump to show you, but the pump handle myth is just that.
    It's the arrow I'm referring to mostly,however the pump hose has never been wrong either.

@hibs.net private member oldbutdim's Avatar
    It's the arrow I'm referring to mostly,however the pump hose has never been wrong either.
    My mother-in law's Hyundai has the hose on the right (which seems to be pretty standard) and the arrow on the left, and the fuel cap on the left too so there you go.

It's wrong at least once!

Quote Originally Posted by oldbutdim View Post
    My mother-in law's Hyundai has the hose on the right (which seems to be pretty standard) and the arrow on the left, and the fuel cap on the left too so there you go.

It's wrong at least once!

I don't disagree, I bet you have jinxed me now and when I pick up my latest hire car on Saturday it will be wrong:-)

Having said that if all the pumps are full I use any,the hose easily reaches around the back of any car.

@hibs.net private member Mon Dieu4's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by lord bunberry View Post
    That is an interesting fact, never knew Polar Bears had hands

@hibs.net private member sleeping giant's Avatar
    I don't disagree, I bet you have jinxed me now and when I pick up my latest hire car on Saturday it will be wrong:-)

Having said that if all the pumps are full I use any,the hose easily reaches around the back of any car.
    People who queue behind folk to fill up with fuel just so their petrol cap is at the same side as the pump.

Madness.
    No Eternal Reward Shall Forgive Us Now For Wasting The Dawn

Quote Originally Posted by Mon Dieu4 View Post
    That is an interesting fact, never knew Polar Bears had hands
    Where have you been man
    IMG_0284.jpg

United we stand here....