The new East stand and the myth of 98/99 attendances

I had someone on my Facebook, a Hibby, remind me that Hibs' attendances during the successful 98/99 promotion season were regularly over 15000.

The power of a winning team, he pointed out.

Except, he's wrong.

In fact, today's crowd was only 300 less than our highest attendance that season, a crunch game against Falkirk towards the end of the season. We never reached 15000.

I have no doubts, that if we continue to win games, we'll regularly see crowds exceeding 16k. We already have.

The new East is paying dividends and it can't be long till it's paid for itself.

We had a bumper crowd around Christmas against Raith I seem to remember.

Quote Originally Posted by Hibbyradge View Post
    I had someone on my Facebook, a Hibby, remind me that Hibs' attendances during the successful 98/99 promotion season were regularly over 15000.

Except, he's wrong.

In fact, today's crowd was only 300 less than our highest attendance that season, a crunch game against Falkirk towards the end of the season. We never reached 14000.

I have no doubts, thst if we continue to win games, we'll regularly see crowds exceeding 16k. We already have.

The new East is paying dividends and it can't be long till it's paid for itself.
    It's a popular myth and as you say, wholly incorrect!

Proof for your Facebook poster can be found here

http://www.fitbastats.com/hibs/team_results_season.php
    This is how it feels

Quote Originally Posted by Smartie View Post
    This is how it feels

I remember the Raith game in 98/99as well, and it was a bumper for that season at over 14K. As the OP said, we are on course to hammer that seasons average attendances with how we have started. Really good news to see the numbers up.

Overall capacity was only 16,500 in those days so it's easy to see how the memory can play tricks with the figures when it was looking so busy back then.

We play Raith this December also at home and Dundee Utd first game at home in 2017.

Could well be full houses! Hopefully !

@hibs.net private member Mibbes Aye's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by rcarter1 View Post
    I remember the Raith game in 98/99as well, and it was a bumper for that season at over 14K. As the OP said, we are on course to hammer that seasons average attendances with how we have started. Really good news to see the numbers up.
    I can't remember how they partitioned it but we had part of the South for that game.
    There's only one thing better than a Hibs calendar and that's two Hibs calendars

Quote Originally Posted by Mibbes Aye View Post
    I can't remember how they partitioned it but we had part of the South for that game.
    Yes, you're correct.

We had all the South I think? Remember being up the top, and Raith were in the main stand. Doubt they'd have had two sections.

The crunch game against Falkirk would have been the last home game and trophy presentation as well, no?

Circumstances were different back then though. We'd had a few really dire years at the tail-end of the Alex Miller era and the Duffy debacle where we failed to heed the warning of being in the relegation play-offs, only to find ourselves back in them again the next season. Yes, we were at a horribly low ebb post-Butcher too, but there's been a couple of much more positive years since then and of course we went into this season on the back of a historic Scottish Cup win and a very exciting managerial appointment.

They may not have been quite as high as many believe but the First Division attendances under McLeish were still very good and I think the crowds following our return to the top flight were consistently high with Sauzee, Latapy and co a major draw. Crowds weren't slow to decline again under Williamson.

@hibs.net private member stantonhibby's Avatar

Except, he's wrong.

In fact, today's crowd was only 300 less than our highest attendance that season, a crunch game against Falkirk towards the end of the season. We never reached 15000.

I have no doubts, that if we continue to win games, we'll regularly see crowds exceeding 16k. We already have.

The folk girning about building the East have gone awfy quiet.

Quote Originally Posted by Mibbes Aye View Post
    I was in the south upper for the Raith game.

I also remembering it being bitterly cold that day!!

@hibs.net private member Golden Bear's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by stantonhibby View Post
    The folk girning about building the East have gone awfy quiet.
    It's all very posh and sophisticated but it's never quite managed to generate the same atmosphere. The linesmen on the East side don't know how lucky they are these days.!

Quote Originally Posted by Golden Bear View Post
    It's all very posh and sophisticated but it's never quite managed to generate the same atmosphere. The linesmen on the East side don't know how lucky they are these days.!
    Speaking of East Stand lino's, anybody know why Muir was called across to him, had a natter and then went to the tunnel where he appeared to hand something to a yellow jacketed official?
    This is how it feels

Quote Originally Posted by Jonnyboy View Post
    Speaking of East Stand lino's, anybody know why Muir was called across to him, had a natter and then went to the tunnel where he appeared to hand something to a yellow jacketed official?
    He was handing in the bottle that had finally been found. Hearts lost it in the Scottish Cup replay last year.

@hibs.net private member ACLeith's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by greenlex View Post
    He was handing in the bottle that had finally been found. Hearts lost it in the Scottish Cup replay last year.
    👍👍👍👍👍

This is how it feels

Some idiot threw something onto the pitch, according to Hibs TV.

Thrown by some erse after we scored

Some idiot threw something onto the pitch, according to Hibs TV.
    It was actually I that threw on the old suicide note that I'd kept from watching Jim Duffy's team in the very season before the one we are discussing here, with a specific message to the ref to give to the Morton fans - 'DON'T GIVE UP. IT GET'S BETTER'.

Except, he's wrong.

In what way is it likely to pay for itself??

Hope We Dont Give It Back For a While !!!!

it was an apple thrown just after goal, also one just missed SJM when he took a corner a couple of minutes earlier. Don't know if they'd come from outside ground as there were a few on street outside FF at full time ??

Quote Originally Posted by mca View Post
    Hope We Dont Give It Back For a While !!!!

Quote Originally Posted by Jumbo View Post
    it was an apple thrown just after goal, also one just missed SJM when he took a corner a couple of minutes earlier. Don't know if they'd come from outside ground as there were a few on street outside FF at full time ??
    The Hibs TV guys thought the ref had taken a note of the incident. We could be doing without that.

@hibs.net private member Ringothedog's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by Jumbo View Post
    A group of young arrogant Muppets right in the corner,barely watched the game threw the apples and were told in no uncertain terms what would happen to them if they did it again.

One of the apples nearly hit me. They must've picked them on the way to the game as they were tiny wee things.

United we stand here....

The Hibs TV guys thought the ref had taken a note of the incident. We could be doing without that.
    It was the linesman that noticed it because it just missed hitting him. He called the ref over after we scored, pointed it out to him and he took a note of it then kicked it off the park. It will definitely be in his report.

Exactly what we don't need right now and you wonder what goes through some folks head. Complete muppets.