Page 3 of 15 FirstFirst 1234513 ... LastLast

Thread: Andy Murray

Quote Originally Posted by Dashing Bob S View Post
    Delighted for Murray, but I agree with the point about the Olympics. Football, tennis and now golf are making it a joke. Those sports get enough exposure anyway, and have stacks of tournaments.

To me it's about track and field and minority sports like fencing and archery.
    Swimming too. My idea of the Olympics is rooted in the sixties and seventies when we had great athletes on show. And David Coleman doing the commentary instead of the Hazel Irvine/Clare Balding Show.

Quote Originally Posted by eastcoasthibby View Post
    Would love to see Murray appear at ER with his Wimbledon trophy and bring the 2 great trophies into the same arena..now that would be a crowd puller ?? !! Bring them both out at half time .....
    Provided he leaves his flag at hame

@hibs.net private member Speedy's Avatar
    Anyone know when he's next due to play?

Didnae ken Djokovic was oot !! Go on Andy !

@hibs.net private member hibee_girl's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by MB Crunch View Post
    Anyone know when he's next due to play?
    Tomorrow afternoon

@hibs.net private member Ryan91's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by HibbyAndy View Post
    Didnae ken Djokovic was oot !! Go on Andy !
    Beaten by the man who beat him to Bronze in 2012 in the shape of Juan Martin del Potro. Think it's safe to say that an Olympic Singles Gold is one thing that Murray will have over Djoko when all is said and done.

Murray's definitely got the easier half of the draw, think he has a great chance to get to the final again and a very good shot at the Gold. Nadal is probably the biggest threat to Murray's chance at a second Gold, but seeding means they can't meet until the final, and that assumes Nadal makes it there without his knees giving up.

'S' Form
    Quote Originally Posted by Mikey09 View Post
    Going to watch him at the O2 in November!! Cannae wait!! Anyone been to it?! Or seen him play in the flesh?
    Went to the O2 for the Friday and Sunday last year. Absolutely fabulous and very well organised. Seen Andy on the Friday but his mind was on the Davis Cup. Think we seen 5 of the top 8 so great value for money. These guys are something else. Not as good as the 2012 Olympics finals at Wimbledon which I was fortunate enough to attend thanks to my brother - Andy getting gold was my top live sporting experience until 21 May 2016.

@hibs.net private member Speedy's Avatar
    Managed to see him, Nadal & Keys yesterday. Got really lucky with the draw.

Quote Originally Posted by heretoday View Post
    Swimming too. My idea of the Olympics is rooted in the sixties and seventies when we had great athletes on show. And David Coleman doing the commentary instead of the Hazel Irvine/Clare Balding Show.
    Agreed. 100 metres. The Mile. Rest is pish

I think the tennis in Rio has been rained off today so Andy will have to wait for his last-16 clash. It's very winnable though so he's edging closer to another Olympic medal which would be fantastic.

Quote Originally Posted by southsider View Post
    Agreed. 100 metres. The Mile. Rest is pish
    very harsh on the steeplechase

Murray struggling in his match just now

Totally and utterly capitulated.

@hibs.net private member Golden Bear's Avatar
    I presume he's been defeated?

Quote Originally Posted by Golden Bear View Post
    Naw. Was looking pretty grim 3-0 down in the last set but back to 3-2 now so stopped the rot...hopefully. Also noticed that one of the men swimmers in the relay team that won a silver the other night is a Hibee. Dan Wallace ?

Fabio won 8 games in a row and broke Murray 4 times in a row and led 3-0 in the final set !! Murray now a break and 4-3 up

Murray 6 games in a row to take the 3rd set and moves in to the next roond !

Nae sweat then!

Quote Originally Posted by Scorrie View Post
    Naw. Was looking pretty grim 3-0 down in the last set but back to 3-2 now so stopped the rot...hopefully. Also noticed that one of the men swimmers in the relay team that won a silver the other night is a Hibee. Dan Wallace ?
    Yip. I think Dan Wallace comes from Chirnside in the Borders.

Nae sweat then!

Ken oor Andy, Always does it the hard way and leaves yer nerves shredded !

Games like that are why he's so special.

Or not
    This is how it feels

Quote Originally Posted by Jonnyboy View Post
    Or not

Reverse psychology Jonny

This is how it feels

Quote Originally Posted by Shrekko View Post
    Games like that are why he's so special.
    Yip he was playing poorly and really struggling but just willed himself to win. In the end Fognini just could not match Murray's determination. A really great win under pressure.

That was looking grim for a while but Andy never gives up. I don't think Lendl is in Rio with him which I worried might impact on him, having won every match he's played since Lendl returned as coach, but he dug deep to put himself into the last eight and ever closer to another Olympic medal.

Playing again now in mixed doubles

Last minute entry to mixed doubles after some Romanians pulled out, then he and Heather Watson breezed to victory over Ferrer and his Spanish partner.

Not sure big Ivan will approve of the extra exertion before the US Open...

Into a 3rd set again today

Down a break in the third. Heading oot as it stands....