Page 3 of 4 FirstFirst 1234 LastLast
    I live in Scandanavia, most of these guys have watched too many hooligan movies. Basically copied the British football culture which had evolved over many decades. They have no etiquette, no idea about the culture, just plain copied it from the movies. I,m taking my wife to Copenhagen for a dirty weekend.....I mean the game and would rather enjoy the occasion feeling relaxed and no looking out the window for idiots....no happy if they ruin my wee break.

Private Members Prediction League Winner Hibrandenburg's Avatar
    Anybody who goes to the fitbaw looking to batter someone, whether it be a like minded tube or an innocent bystander is a welt and probably has a very small *****.

Quote Originally Posted by Hibrandenburg View Post
    Anybody who goes to the fitbaw looking to batter someone, whether it be a like minded tube or an innocent bystander is a welt and probably has a very small *****.

You saw me in the showers at School then?

Quote Originally Posted by Keekaboo View Post
    You saw me in the showers at School then?

No but I always wondered why you kept yer pants on

Ah, so you DID look!

Quote Originally Posted by Geo_1875 View Post
    If any Hibs fans were fighting they were being dicks. If any Brondby fans were fighting they were being dicks. If it was 2 teams of neutrals fighting they were being dicks.

I wasn't fighting. I'm not a dick.

Quote Originally Posted by ekhibee View Post
    I'm sure I read somewhere that Hertha Berlin like a good pagger, but it might have been a few years back.
    I'm sure that's probably a load of pish!

@hibs.net private member BurghHibby's Avatar
    I'm sure that's probably a load of pish!
    Not really, seen it myself when there for a weekend a few years ago with the missus.
    Pagering with the cops and rival fans near the top end of the Ku'dam, went on for a wee bit as well.

@hibs.net private member .Sean.'s Avatar
    Not surprised the tiresome old 'casuals aren't real fans' argument has reared his head.

I know several folk who associate with them who travel home and away on a weekly basis and you'll no meet more passionate Hibs supporters. Some of the part-timers on here who criticise them would be doing well to even attend half the matches they guys make.
    ''It's always been just part of the culture. Growing up, for most working-class kids, is all about football, music or clothes. You might not have much money, but whatever you have got, you're going to look good.'' - Paul Weller

Quote Originally Posted by BurghHibby View Post
    Not really, seen it myself when there for a weekend a few years ago with the missus.
    Pagering with the cops and rival fans near the top end of the Ku'dam, went on for a wee bit as well.
    I live there and go along occasional and have been doing so for over 20 years and could count the incidents I've seen on 1 hand.

It's pish.

Quote Originally Posted by .Sean. View Post
    Not surprised the tiresome old 'casuals aren't real fans' argument has reared his head.

I know several folk who associate with them who travel home and away on a weekly basis and you'll no meet more passionate Hibs supporters. Some of the part-timers on here who criticise them would be doing well to even attend half the matches they guys make.

I don't think the dig at them relates to their willingness to travel and attend games, more that they do so as to be able to get themselves involved in trouble which is just as an attraction to them as the football.

I live there and go along occasional and have been doing so for over 20 years and could count the incidents I've seen on 1 hand.

It's pish.
    So you could count the incidents on one hand as you've been along occasionally (meaning there have been incidents when you have occasionally went along) but it's still pish anyway!
    Aye right then.

So you could count the incidents on one hand as you've been along occasionally (meaning there have been incidents when you have occasionally went along) but it's still pish anyway!
    Aye right then.
    I also read the local press, do you?

I follow German football and have played for 2 Berlin clubs, have you?

I've got friends who are season ticket holders, do you?

I've been to in excess of 80 Hertha games home and away, how many have you seen?

Aye, it's pish.

@hibs.net private member eastterrace's Avatar
    I also read the local press, do you? I follow German football and have played for 2 Berlin clubs, have you? I've got friends who are season ticket holders, do you? I've been to in excess of 80 Hertha games home and away, how many have you seen? Aye, it's pish.
    that will be that discussion over then.

I've been to in excess of 80 Hertha games home and away, how many have you seen?

Aye, it's pish.

I think you now have him in your back pocket

Quote Originally Posted by norhfc View Post
    I live in Scandanavia, most of these guys have watched too many hooligan movies. Basically copied the British football culture which had evolved over many decades. They have no etiquette, no idea about the culture, just plain copied it from the movies. I,m taking my wife to Copenhagen for a dirty weekend.....I mean the game and would rather enjoy the occasion feeling relaxed and no looking out the window for idiots....no happy if they ruin my wee break.
    When we were in Malmo, we got latched on to by a Helsingborg fan on the walk to the ground. He was completely obsessed with hooliganism. It was pretty much all he talked about. He was a nice young lad though. He came in to the game with us and joined in with the Hibs songs with gusto. He really hated Malmo (Don't we all now?). We gave him a Hibs top and we kept in touch.

He came over to Edinburgh for the 'relegation party' Derby at Tynecastle with us, resplendent in Stone Island with lots of yappy, excited talking about firms and fighting, and seemed sorely disappointed that we were just a regular bunch of guys laughing at each others bald spots and crap clothes out for a drink and a laugh. I think he liked the pitch invader and the shoes and seats getting lobbed at the Hearts goalie though.

He stopped contact with us not long after going back. But, yea, basically looking for something that just does not exist. My memory of him will be that he couldn't drink at all, and his disgusted face when looking at the black pudding in his full breakfast at my local cafe. 'What the **** is this ****?'

Andy Lazic if you are reading this. WE MISS YOU !!
    Last edited by Ergye; 16-07-2016 at 01:04 PM.

I think the teams in Germany that like a good paggar are Stuttgart, Kaiserslautern, Dynamo Dresden & Eintracht Frankfurt

Went to Stuttgart V Eintracht a few years back dodgy was an understatement

Dresden are so right wing aswell so going to there in September against St. Pauli should be an occasion

Aye, it's pish.
    But, but but..... Aye ok you got this one then😳

@hibs.net private member Carheenlea's Avatar
    I've never really liked the term "scarfer". It's probably not, but I've always felt it a bit of an insulting term for those who are not brawlers, or for those who choose to wear Hibs themed clothing rather than overpriced sportswear.

Quote Originally Posted by St Pauli Hibee View Post
    I think the teams in Germany that like a good paggar are Stuttgart, Kaiserslautern, Dynamo Dresden & Eintracht Frankfurt

Went to Stuttgart V Eintracht a few years back dodgy was an understatement

Dresden are so right wing aswell so going to there in September against St. Pauli should be an occasion
    Leipzig will be the ones most likely to have a hooligan element and they've just been promoted to the Bundesliga.

Manufactured football club, I already dislike them for that.

Much prefer Sachsen Leipzig... but then they do play in green and white

Musselburgh News
    Nope
    Hibs ones aye
    Approx 2,500 Hibs games
    Aye, it's pish.
    Still stand by what I witnessed first hand but accept it could have been a rare occasion.
    So will bow to your superior Berlin knowledge.

Worst stadium football violence I ever saw was Hamburg vs Hertha Berlin in the Volkspark stadium !

Mind you, It was in 1973

It's pish.
    So a maximum of five thenm. A Jambo would have meant a maximum of six
    This is how it feels

Quote Originally Posted by Jonnyboy View Post
    So a maximum of five thenm. A Jambo would have meant a maximum of six
    Phew! Off the hook.

Still stand by what I witnessed first hand but accept it could have been a rare occasion.
    So will bow to your superior Berlin knowledge.

I'm from Musselburgh, or as I call it now Muschelburg.

☺️

Quote Originally Posted by Carheenlea View Post
    I've never really liked the term "scarfer". It's probably not, but I've always felt it a bit of an insulting term for those who are not brawlers, or for those who choose to wear Hibs themed clothing rather than overpriced sportswear.
    I have been a "scarfer" all my life but believe me, being born and bred Alloa I have been in more fights about Hibs than most folk on here. I have also fought at Tynie, Ibrox, Parkhead, Pittodrie and other places. Not because I wanted to but because I had to. Just because you don't go looking for it doesn't mean that you won't get mucked right in for the Hibbie cause. I should also add that I am by no means a hard man. I have a fair collection of second prizes!!
    Last edited by weecounty hibby; 16-07-2016 at 10:36 PM.

I'm Burgh born and bred, been to Berlin several times since 1974 to visit various family members working there, well serving in the forces there really, and laterly just to see what it's like since the wall came down.
    Love the place and looking forward to going back should we beat Brondby.

Yep.

If I wanted to watch people clap in rhythym and chant relentlessly mundane stuff for hours on end I'd watch those weird games in North Korea. I like the spontaneity and recationary nature of a football crowd as opposed to the coordinated stuff from Brondby last night.

I'll wager with a few pints in them the Hibs fans in Brondby will give the team brilliant backing and if we are looking like getting a result will raise the roof. Contrary to what some want us to believe Hibs have an incredibly loyal and passionate fan base who have backed the club through both the best and worst of times.
    our boys will outsing them, if we get a good start and don't lose a silly early goal (again)

Don't deny your heritage!

You're from Wallyford, so you're a genuine Wally.