Page 3 of 5 FirstFirst 12345 LastLast
    @hibs.net private member ano hibby's Avatar
    Last few stories are great for many different reasons.
    "We've also been unsure about what has happened to the receipts of the players who have been sold."
    George Foulkes BBC website 20/3/08

We came as underdogs,

Played as warriors,

Left as Legends. 🏆

Quote Originally Posted by Thecat23 View Post
    We came as underdogs,

Played as warriors,

Left as Legends. 
    Wonderful, just bl00dy wonderful.

First Team Regular aussie_hibee's Avatar
    My son who is coming up for 6 bleeds green and white, and he knows formations etc already. I wouldn't say he got what it means to us Hibs fans to win the Scottish cup but he did know it had been 114 years.

When Ross County scored I looked at him and he had a tear running down his face. I felt horrible seeing that but being a Hibs fan I thought he will see more than his fare share of heartache. After the league cup final I posted a pic on my Facebook of us and I just said one day son we'll stand together at Hampden and see Hibs lift a cup. I was surprised to receive a PM from Marvin Bartley and all it said was "tell the wee man, we'll have him smiling come may."

I thanked him for the message and deep down I never thought I'd be heading to another Scottish cup final. But when we went to pens my son cuddled into me and couldn't watch the last pen. The roar meant he knew exactly how it went and his face was such a picture.

So then it was Scottish cup final day, all the talking we had done about how the game would go stopped. Instead it was very quiet in our car more nerves than anything. The evening news got our pic and Mason was on the BBC 1 national news as well. I thought please don't lose this not now, let us see us win it. We got in took our seat and it was just a see if green and white.

The first goal I thought was a feeling I'd never feel again, then boom 2-2 and we're right in this again. Mason said dad we are going to win this. My heart sank as I knew if we had lost he'd be a state and so would I being honest.

But up steps captain marvel Sir David Gray, and BANG.... The roof of Hampden was just about blown clean off, the noise was incredible I've grabbed my boy I feel to my knees and couldn't contain myself. All I could hear is him screaming in my ear YEEEESSSSSSS DADDY, YEEEEEEESSSS!

After that I couldn't breath, the air seemed to vanish inside the ground and I had to sit down to take this in. It Hibs after all, this could still go to E.T! Then the full time whistle and the hurt from any other final was gone, we'd done it.. We have won the Scottish Cup. I turned to Mason and there he was crying again, this time tears of joy!

I'm 38 years old, and I'll never feel like I did at those moments when we scored the third and when that whistle went. An incredible thing to see and one that gave me such a close bond to my son.

Thank you Hibernian, all the heartache we suffered made this so much more special.

We love you. 💚🇳🇬🏆
    What a magic read. Delighted for you and your wee boy.

Some brilliant stories here.Lots of memories of that day will stay with me forever but the the most emotional was in the minutes after the final whistle. Standing on the stairs behind the goal watching the pitch invasion with tears streaming onto the steps.

APOLOGIES FOR LATE SUBMISSION I’VE JUST RETURNED FROM CLOUD 9
    My love affair with Hibs stretches back to the time when my Dad took me to Easter Road as a very small boy. I remember the vastness of Easter Road and the bright scarlet tops of the opposition (Aberdeen? Or more likely Third Lanark?). I don’t remember much about the Hibs team which is doubly sad because circa 1952 I probably saw the Famous Five play but don’t remember it.
    In 1960 my first match on my own a Scottish Cup replay against Celtic. Some Celtic fans arrived late and broke down an exit door which fell on them. The injured were carried down the terracing to the pitchside. Even more horrifying was the abuse other Celtic fans aimed at Joe Baker. Until then I thought everybody loved him. Hibs lost and so it began.
    The next memories were better-Real Madrid, Naples, Malmo, Hamburg, Leeds and Liverpool, then eventually Turnbull’s Tornadoes-great team but several big Hampden disappointments.
    Onto March 2016 and the Ross County Final. I was fairly optimistic; after all we’d beaten better Premiership teams. My oldest grandson (a Celtic Fan) insisted on going with me. I’m not sure why but at the end of the game-desolate I turned to him and said I didn’t think I’d ever see Hibs win the Scottish Cup but if they did in his lifetime I asked him to remember me and raise a glass. As a seven-year-old when I told an uncle, a retired baker from Leith then in his seventies, I supported Hibs he went into the breast pocket of his charcoal suit, which everyone wore in those days, and produced a small wooden green cup. He said he would carry it around until the Hibs won the Cup. I think this memory sparked off my despairing comment to my own grandson.
    I got my final tickets early-great seats, then it dawned on me the final clashed with a family occasion. Fortunately, we made the bus and onto Hampden.
    I had steeled myself against having any expectations. Unlike 2012 I avoided the buildup, read no papers, ignored omens. Pleasantly surprised by the first goal-one up in the Scottish Cup Final! Had this happened before? Then the missed chances, their equaliser. I felt disappointed but not too much because I had expected nothing, insulated myself from nearly all emotion. Well we’d been here before-many times.
    Then the substitutions, we begin to drive forward. At least we’d be glorious losers this time. The equalizer-could we take this to extra time? Then Saint David’s winner I looked at the scoreboard. It said 90 minutes. How much stoppage time? Being deaf I hadn’t heard the announcement. I asked my partner-4 minutes. The shaking started. Could I survive 4 minutes, not realising the goal had been scored 2 minutes into stoppage time. I saw Liam jump and looked up to heaven, elation. Then the tears but no embarrassment everyone around me was in the same state. I thought of family, including my late uncle with his wee cup. None had witnessed what I had just seen-ecstatic but humble.
    A short time later the final seal on a great day, a text from my grandson telling me to have that drink myself. From the family occasion on Saturday morning to the parade on Sunday when we escorted the cup back to Leith-the best weekend of my life!

@hibs.net private member Dan Sarf's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by postwarhibby View Post
    My love affair with Hibs stretches back to the time when my Dad took me to Easter Road as a very small boy. I remember the vastness of Easter Road and the bright scarlet tops of the opposition (Aberdeen? Or more likely Third Lanark?). I don’t remember much about the Hibs team which is doubly sad because circa 1952 I probably saw the Famous Five play but don’t remember it.
    In 1960 my first match on my own a Scottish Cup replay against Celtic. Some Celtic fans arrived late and broke down an exit door which fell on them. The injured were carried down the terracing to the pitchside. Even more horrifying was the abuse other Celtic fans aimed at Joe Baker. Until then I thought everybody loved him. Hibs lost and so it began.
    The next memories were better-Real Madrid, Naples, Malmo, Hamburg, Leeds and Liverpool, then eventually Turnbull’s Tornadoes-great team but several big Hampden disappointments.
    Onto March 2016 and the Ross County Final. I was fairly optimistic; after all we’d beaten better Premiership teams. My oldest grandson (a Celtic Fan) insisted on going with me. I’m not sure why but at the end of the game-desolate I turned to him and said I didn’t think I’d ever see Hibs win the Scottish Cup but if they did in his lifetime I asked him to remember me and raise a glass. As a seven-year-old when I told an uncle, a retired baker from Leith then in his seventies, I supported Hibs he went into the breast pocket of his charcoal suit, which everyone wore in those days, and produced a small wooden green cup. He said he would carry it around until the Hibs won the Cup. I think this memory sparked off my despairing comment to my own grandson.
    I got my final tickets early-great seats, then it dawned on me the final clashed with a family occasion. Fortunately, we made the bus and onto Hampden.
    I had steeled myself against having any expectations. Unlike 2012 I avoided the buildup, read no papers, ignored omens. Pleasantly surprised by the first goal-one up in the Scottish Cup Final! Had this happened before? Then the missed chances, their equaliser. I felt disappointed but not too much because I had expected nothing, insulated myself from nearly all emotion. Well we’d been here before-many times.
    Then the substitutions, we begin to drive forward. At least we’d be glorious losers this time. The equalizer-could we take this to extra time? Then Saint David’s winner I looked at the scoreboard. It said 90 minutes. How much stoppage time? Being deaf I hadn’t heard the announcement. I asked my partner-4 minutes. The shaking started. Could I survive 4 minutes, not realising the goal had been scored 2 minutes into stoppage time. I saw Liam jump and looked up to heaven, elation. Then the tears but no embarrassment everyone around me was in the same state. I thought of family, including my late uncle with his wee cup. None had witnessed what I had just seen-ecstatic but humble.
    A short time later the final seal on a great day, a text from my grandson telling me to have that drink myself. From the family occasion on Saturday morning to the parade on Sunday when we escorted the cup back to Leith-the best weekend of my life!
    Lovely story, beautifully told.

@hibs.net private member BSEJVT's Avatar
    Some wonderful stories, beautifully told

The written word still has its place in these days of selfies and video clips etc as it gives you the chance to take your time over the reading of it and to focus on the emotions of the writer rather than being absorbed by the content.

There is definitely a book to be made out of this project

Thanks for organising it

Beautiful postwar hibby. Wonderful story.
    "We've also been unsure about what has happened to the receipts of the players who have been sold."

@hibs.net private member FitbaFolkKen's Avatar
    I’m absolutely numb. Falkirk robbed us. Referee robbed us. Could Hibs disappoint us any more than they have? The play-off defeat has hit a nerve, every Hibs fan I speak to is resigned to failure. It is an all-time low for the club.

Monday morning and it dawns on me. It’s cup final week! If you can’t get excited for cup final week then you might as well give up football. So I do my best to shrug off the disappointment of the previous week and as Alan Stubbs has said throughout the season “We go again”. A great mantra to live by.

The week progresses as usual and I start to get excited, more in hope than expectation but I was genuinely excited.

Low key doesn’t do the cup final preparations justice, 3 beers a spot of lunch and a taxi to the ground for kick off. I’ve spent the morning trying not to imagine Hibs breaking the curse that has haunted them for 114 years.

It was phenomenal.

The moment Stokesy burst down that wing and Kiernan retreated you knew they were scared. The ball hits the back of the net and it is amazing. The masses of faithful Hibernian supporters are lifted from their seats. The singing is constant and it is loud. 21000 hibees in great voice.

The tide begins to turn though and we find ourselves 2-1 behind. There is now an edginess in the stand, this story is all too familiar. The nearly men resulting in the mocking use of “Hibs’d it” as an expression of failure. Not today, the team dug deep. Playing with a hunger and aggression that their opponents lacked the Hibs players lifted the crowd. There was hope in the stands, Stokes rises and the near post and it is 2-2. Unbelievable. Where there was hope there is now conviction.

The final ten minutes are a bit of a blur, Hibs control the possession but can’t carve the opening. 4 minutes injury time and Rangers look like they have settled for injury time and regrouping. Not Hibs, today we play to win. 92nd minute and it is a corner, Henderson delivers and Gray is first to the ball. It leaves his head and the net bulges. Unlike anything I have ever seen the stadium erupts. The Hibernian family is together, a tidal wave of emotion hits the stands, crying, cheering, and hugging with their Hibernian brothers and sisters.

Full time is sounded and again the stands explode, looking around in disbelief I realise what this team have just achieved. I take my seat and for a moment I’m absolutely numb.

Quote Originally Posted by postwarhibby View Post
    Loved reading this. Some superb stories on this thread!

@hibs.net private member Mr White's Avatar
    Loved reading this. Some superb stories on this thread!

Possibly my favourite ever thread.

There will be an entry from me I'm still trying to live in the moment rather than over analyse or understand it - just feel it - kinda like watching it through your own eyes as opposed to videoing it. Plus I'm lazy...
    "We know the people who have invested so far are simple fans." Vladimir Romanov - Scotsman 10th December 2012
    "Romanov was like a breath of fresh air - laced with cyanide." Me.

Coaching Staff The Green Goblin's Avatar
    Still working on mine. But wow, some really beautiful stories on this thread.

Quote Originally Posted by The Green Goblin View Post
    Still working on mine. But wow, some really beautiful stories on this thread.
    I've taken a conscious decision not to read them, waiting instead for Max's book

Anyway, here's mine

A Long and Winding Road

On 21 May 2016, Hibernian Football Club won the Scottish Cup and I was there! Aye, but how did I get there? What sort of journey did I have? Let me tell you ………

My journey actually began in the 1960’s. Born in Leith in 1952, my family moved to a newly built housing scheme on the South side of Edinburgh and I soon made lots of pals, many of whom were from families that had also made that house move and most of them were Hibs fans.

I was football daft which is slightly surprising as my parents and my older siblings, 2 boys and 2 girls, had no interest in the game. I played football with my pals at every opportunity and regardless of the weather but I hadn’t actually been to a game. That changed when my pal Jimmy’s Dad offered to take me to Easter Road. It sounds like a cliché now but believe me this is the truth of the matter. I arrived at ER, climbed what seemed like a million steps and arrived at the top of the old East Terracing just as Hibs were emerging from the tunnel. It was, literally and unconditionally, love at first sight.

Attendance was sparse for me in those early days as my folks couldn’t really afford the expense but Jimmy’s Dad was brilliant and often helped with the cost. One of the earliest games I can recall was a 5-2 home win over Queen of the South when Neil Martin scored four for Hibs, against the side he’d left to sign up at ER! That was in the old First Division but my earliest Scottish Cup memory comes from the following season when we thumped Partick Thistle 5-1 at ER. Willie Hamilton was majestic that day and laid on four of the five goals! There were early signs of just how the Scottish Cup would torment me in years to come as despite knocking Rangers out in the next round we lost in the semi-final to Dunfermline.

As the years rolled by there would be many painful Scottish Cup memories and I found myself repeatedly making a statement that I’m pretty sure most Hibs fans have done. “When we do finally win it, I can go to my grave a happy man.”

That day has come but I’m not quite ready for my grave yet!

The absolute joy of watching Hibs beat Rangers 3-2; of watching Stokes on fire; of watching David Gray strike the killer blow will stay with me ‘til the day I die. I shared it on the day with my younger brother, my nephew, my oldest friend and his son and all five of us were blubbing like babies. I would have loved to have shared it with my son too, but circumstances prevented that and I had to just take time out to think of the joy he would have been feeling at that same moment in time.

Earlier I said my love for Hibs was both literal and unconditional. Prior to 26 May I didn’t think it could get any stronger – I was wrong.
    This is how it feels

Lovely Johnnyboy - what a fitting end to the last of your trilogy the 21st of May would make (?).

@hibs.net private member Ringothedog's Avatar
    My Scottish cup journey started in the early 70's. I remember a 2-1 win over Hearts at tynie and an 8-1 win over Forfar at Easter Road. Those were followed by my first final in 1972 and being dragged out at 1-4 when I still believed we could come back and win( I was only 11), the journey continued with 3 visits to Hampden, rushing back from Wembley for the 3rd game only for me to miss the only time that Hibernian would lead in a Scottish cup final for over 36 years. There followed the finals in 2000,2012 and 2013 were the usual ending happened and I trudged home miserable thinking next year would be our year.

2016 was different, it just felt different. When we drew with Inverness and knew who we would get in the semi final, I spoke with my dad and predicted that we would win the replay, beat Dundee United in the semi-final and beat Rangers in the final, unfortunately my dad passed away on 19th April and never got the chance to see us win it,when that David Gray header bulleted into the net I went ballistic with everyone around me,then reality set in that my dad wasn't alive to see this and I sat down in my seat and shed more than a few tears for him.

If it wasn't for him I would not be the person that I am nor the passionate Hibernian fan that I became
    Last edited by Ringothedog; 20-01-2017 at 05:17 PM.

What a fabulous dad. You were lucky to have him.

Sent from my GT-N7100 using Tapatalk

@hibs.net private member surreyhibbie's Avatar
    I come from a family of non-football fans, apart from a Celtic supporting uncle, who probably never attended a game in his life. Anyway, I was friendly with an older guy who live in the same stair as me and he talked about Hibs all the time. Eventually he agreed to take me to Easter Road in a pre-season friendly with Newcastle United.
    I was blown away with the size of the crowd and the view from the top of the old East terracing. And was hooked. Thanks Pete Gray. Ended up going home and away for several years.
    Cue several cup finals (including the three against Rangers) over the years, with very few happy outcomes.
    Moved down South at the end of ’81 and to be honest kind of lost touch with Hibs – no Internet, very little in the papers and even the Scottish Sunday ones were hard to find. My best mate Eddie Whoriskey sent me the Pink now and then but that was it.
    Two sons later, both with funny English accents but brought up as Hibbies of course, and we had the pleasure of watching the 2007 final together. Couldn’t get tickets to the 2012 final (fortunately) so watched it in the Hibs Club. Enough said. Made it the following year of course but still no joy.
    Younger son and the wife made it to the League Cup Final this year, disappointed yet again. So when we made the second Cup Final it was down to me and the bairn (although 30 isn’t really a bairn…)
    The days leading up to the Final were not filled with hope as we seemed to have hit a bad patch. And it was the SC and it was The Rangers. I admit I had got to the stage where I didn’t think we would ever win it and never been less confident in my life at a Cup Final. Still, did the whole Hospitality thing and started to have fun with Eddie and his son and a few others.
    One Nil up after a couple of minutes and I started to dream. When we went 2-1 down I thought “here we go again, another long depressing trip back from Hampden”
    Then Stokesy scored and we started to dream again. 92nd minute we get a corner. Eddie says to me “This is for the cup” and I held my breath. The noise when the ball hit the net was incredible but my eyes were on the Ref to see if it would be disallowed for some pathetic reason.
    It wasn’t and I spent the next two minutes wondering why the clock was still on 90 mins!
    Then the final whistle. Mayhem. I sat down with my head in my hands and cried. Cracked up again on the way out but my son had the grace not to embarrass his Dad by making a big deal of it.
    Best weekend of my life (so far!) Still haven’t really calmed down.
    Alcohol IS the answer, but I forget the question...

I know the final has gone and past now but I'm sure all my fellow hibees still relive that moment every day so I thought I would share my story. I have been a huge hibs fan all my life and been through that same rollercoaster we have all experienced being hibs fans. After feeling the lows of failed promotion and play off games I was clinging on to our last shot at glory. I remember saying to my wife's brother in law and my best mate that this was a game we could not miss. As nervous as I was I knew from the feeling I had that weekend that this day might just be different. Early morning that day we all met together for a few drinks waiting to leave on the bus. Each minute that passed I got that little bit more nervous. When we arrived and took our seats I remember taking a big gasp of air to try and settle my nerves. Looking around at the mass of green and white, the time for heroes banner I began to feel a great sense of togetherness and couldn't wait for it to start. What a feeling it was when stokes bangs in the first goal. I was so elated but then after settling myself down and realising it was so early in the game and there was a long time to go. Negativity was beginning to creep in just before The Rangers scored there second as I felt it coming. Stokes equaliser was something special and it was almost as sense of thank god we have taken it to extra time at least. At this point the nerves began to come back. After we equalised there was this strange atmosphere and I'm sure we all felt it. It was a feeling of we have them here! This isn't going to extra time. Gray scores! I jump up and grab my mate next to me in ecstasy, we embrace for a few seconds and I remember running down the stairs next to our seats and grabbing random people. Others standing still with hands on head in tears. I remember some even just hit the floor to their knees. It was such a surreal feeling. I couldn't stop the tears from that minute until the final whistle where I ran onto the pitch straight to my mate mcgregot and I screamed we've done it! To this day my wife doesn't understand why I still watch the game over and talk about what happened. I said only us hibees will understand. Hands down the best footballing day of my life.

@hibs.net private member Northernhibee's Avatar
    My old man had been taken into hospital a few weeks before the final; I really don't want to go into details about it at all but if he'd been taken to hospital a few hours after he was he'd probably not have been around to see the game. He got out of hospital a handful of days before the cup final but was in no way fit to travel through to Glasgow but he insisted that I went nonetheless. I left a scotch pie in the fridge as well as some Bovril cubes for my dad to enjoy at HT when watching at home as I stayed at his overnight to try and share some of the build up with him.

Took the train through, had a good meal and a pint before the game. Found myself muttering "C'mon, c'mon, please let this stay like this" after five minutes when we were a goal up, only for the ever familiar feeling of Hampden heartbreak creep in when Kenny Miller equalised and Halliday hit the screamer. Felt as low as any other cup final beforehand when the "Cheer up Alan Stubbs" sectarian song was being sung by our counterparts opposite as it felt so, so wrong that they could get to celebrate in their vile way. The jolt of our equaliser just reignited the nerves from before and when Stokes shot in time added on was saved it just felt like extra time was almost a given.

From my view in the east it looked as if Henderson's corner had been wasted as it disappeared into a group of players. A split second later it remerged as it bulleted into the back of the net and bedlam ensued, hugging strangers around me who'd appeared from several rows behind, bursting into tears and then having the horrible, awful realisation that there was still time to play. I don't remember that much after that, apart from celebrating the cross ball intended for Tavernier going out for a goal kick.

I saw Liam Henderson sprinting, arms out wide before I heard the whistle and just broke down - when they were clearing the pitch I phoned my dad and we only were really able to laugh in disbelief down the phone at each other. Once the cup was lifted, SOL was sung and the Hibees bounce was done rushed to get the train back to Glasgow Central where I'd intended to go for a few pints but the train to pop by my dads was just away to leave in the train next to the one I'd just been on. Leapt on that, headed back to Dundee, got three fish suppers and a bottle of champagne. Knocked on the door and the game clearly meant as much to my dad as it does now. Watched the highlights on the BBC, laughed at Terry Butcher's miserable face. My dad went to bed, I went out with a friend and drank another bottle of champagne and woke up the next morning with a banging headache and literally no voice whatsoever. Watched the highlights on Hibs TV and the emotions came flooding back. Still not stopped talking about it since.

My dad's been in and out of hospital a couple of times since but is slowly on the mend - I'm just glad that his GP saw sense to get him to hospital straight away as even if he wasn't at the game I always wanted to experience the Scottish Cup win with him. Took me to my first Hibs game and quite frankly for all the years of disappointment he deserves it.

Do you think your security can keep you in purity, you will not shake us off above or below. Scottish friction, Scottish fiction

Please forgive me in being a bit late in posting this one. But here is my wee story.

Two years ago, in June 2014, I was taken into hospital, spending a week in intensive care where apparently it was touch and go, and another three weeks in a high dependency unit. While I lay there basically fighting for my life it upset me greatly to think that if things got worse I’d never have known what it was like to get married, have children – or see Hibs lift the Scottish Cup.

On to 2015, and I was recovering well, and in February that year my beautiful girlfriend and I got engaged. The only downer was Hibs’ failure to get promoted and their defeat by Falkirk in the semis of the Scottish Cup. It was especially irritating as I thought we’d have had a great chance in the final against Caley Thistle.

Anyway, we set our wedding date initially for May 21, 2016, until my best friend and best man helpfully (and semi jokingly) pointed out this may clash with the Scottish Cup final. So we moved it to June 4, just to be on the safe side.

Moving on to 2016, things started well when my fiancée revealed in early March that she was pregnant, and we were even able to work out it was conceived on the same day as the 2-2 cup game at Tynie!!!

When the big day came at Hampden, my best man reminded me in the morning (after I had put some money on a 3-2 win for Hibs!) that this had nearly been my wedding day. Bloody hell, WHAT an escape. As for the game, well, I’ll be honest, I can’t actually remember much about it, it’s a bit of a blur. I wish I could recall more, but I’ll never forget when David Gray’s header hit the net. All our dreams had come true, and after everything that had happened in the last couple of years I just couldn’t believe it. I still can’t believe it. I was there with all my pals watching a dream unfold in front of my eyes. It was only in the pub afterwards that the enormity what I had witnessed, and all my emotions over everything that had led us all to this point, spilled over and I burst spontaneously into floods of tears.

My wedding took place in London (where I have lived for 19 years) two weeks later, and was incredible. The two best days of my life, two weeks apart. Myself, my family and close friends all wore Flower of Scotland tartan with white shirts and green ties, and we had green and white confetti, as well as my old Hibs scarf (bought the day before the 1991 Skol Cup final) tied to the stage where the ceilidh band played later. The Proclaimers went down well that night!

In November, my wife is due to have our baby, giving me the ultimate hat trick for 2016. I still find it hard to take this all in, and after everything that’s happened I realise how privileged I am to have seen it. Some weren’t so lucky – my friend’s dad passed away aged 70 in 2012 and never got to see Hibs win the cup (we toasted him at the Foot Of The Walk on the Saturday evening).

I am so, so proud of my team – I always have been, but I feel energised by the cup win, like a weight has been lifted from me and all of us. And now I feel I can look forward, rather than back. It’s not how you fall, it’s how you get back up – I think that can apply to both Hibs and my life over the past couple of years. GGTTH!!!

Quote Originally Posted by Superfurry72 View Post
    Please forgive me in being a bit late in posting this one. But here is my wee story.

Two years ago, in June 2014, I was taken into hospital, spending a week in intensive care where apparently it was touch and go, and another three weeks in a high dependency unit. While I lay there basically fighting for my life it upset me greatly to think that if things got worse I’d never have known what it was like to get married, have children – or see Hibs lift the Scottish Cup.

On to 2015, and I was recovering well, and in February that year my beautiful girlfriend and I got engaged. The only downer was Hibs’ failure to get promoted and their defeat by Falkirk in the semis of the Scottish Cup. It was especially irritating as I thought we’d have had a great chance in the final against Caley Thistle.

Anyway, we set our wedding date initially for May 21, 2016, until my best friend and best man helpfully (and semi jokingly) pointed out this may clash with the Scottish Cup final. So we moved it to June 4, just to be on the safe side.

Moving on to 2016, things started well when my fiancée revealed in early March that she was pregnant, and we were even able to work out it was conceived on the same day as the 2-2 cup game at Tynie!!!

When the big day came at Hampden, my best man reminded me in the morning (after I had put some money on a 3-2 win for Hibs!) that this had nearly been my wedding day. Bloody hell, WHAT an escape. As for the game, well, I’ll be honest, I can’t actually remember much about it, it’s a bit of a blur. I wish I could recall more, but I’ll never forget when David Gray’s header hit the net. All our dreams had come true, and after everything that had happened in the last couple of years I just couldn’t believe it. I still can’t believe it. I was there with all my pals watching a dream unfold in front of my eyes. It was only in the pub afterwards that the enormity what I had witnessed, and all my emotions over everything that had led us all to this point, spilled over and I burst spontaneously into floods of tears.

My wedding took place in London (where I have lived for 19 years) two weeks later, and was incredible. The two best days of my life, two weeks apart. Myself, my family and close friends all wore Flower of Scotland tartan with white shirts and green ties, and we had green and white confetti, as well as my old Hibs scarf (bought the day before the 1991 Skol Cup final) tied to the stage where the ceilidh band played later. The Proclaimers went down well that night!

In November, my wife is due to have our baby, giving me the ultimate hat trick for 2016. I still find it hard to take this all in, and after everything that’s happened I realise how privileged I am to have seen it. Some weren’t so lucky – my friend’s dad passed away aged 70 in 2012 and never got to see Hibs win the cup (we toasted him at the Foot Of The Walk on the Saturday evening).

I am so, so proud of my team – I always have been, but I feel energised by the cup win, like a weight has been lifted from me and all of us. And now I feel I can look forward, rather than back. It’s not how you fall, it’s how you get back up – I think that can apply to both Hibs and my life over the past couple of years. GGTTH!!!
    Great story.

@hibs.net private member Lancs Harp's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by Superfurry72 View Post

Top stuff fella

Personally I've only just sobered up, how has the start of the season gone? Are we still in Europe? How did the Brexit vote go?

Admins, don't close this thread! I've got my story on another pc and will try and get round to getting it on here.

My Trip to Hampden
    Glasgow
    53 years old

My story is actually about two members of the West of Scotland Branch, Ian and Elaine. he's from Glasgow and she is from Perth. They got together almost two decades ago and as time wore on they would often be asked about wedding plans, to which they both replied "We'll do it when Hibs win the cup."
    So on the 21st of May at around 4.50pm as Hibs fans hugged each other and some ran onto the pitch following David Gray's late winner, high up in the south stand debenture section, Ian dropped to one knee and produced the ring he had been carrying since we went to the final in 2001 and asked Elaine if she would finally marry him. She said yes, making David Gray not only a cup winning captain but also a cup winning cupid. I had texted her after the final to say what they were going to say now and she just texted a picture of the ring on her finger.

Hopefully happy ever after

N
    Quote Originally Posted by Vini1875 View Post
    My Trip to Hampden
    Glasgow Nice won Vinnie GGTTH.

53 years old

My stonry is actually about two members of the West of Scotland Branch, Ian and Elaine. he's from Glasgow and she is from Perth. They got together almost two decades ago and as time wore on they would often be asked about wedding plans, to which they both replied "We'll do it when Hibs win the cup."
    So on the 21st of May at around 4.50pm as Hibs fans hugged each other and some ran onto the pitch following David Gray's late winner, high up in the south stand debenture section, Ian dropped to one knee and produced the ring he had been carrying since we went to the final in 2001 and asked Elaine if she would finally marry him. She said yes, making David Gray not only a cup winning captain but also a cup winning cupid. I had texted her after the final to say what they were going to say now and she just texted a picture of the ring on her finger.

First Team Breakthrough EastThomasSTboy's Avatar

Majorca for me. (Missed the Cup Final).

After being utterly miserable after the playoffs, the wife and I went to Majorca for a weeks holiday.
    I am almost 60 and been a Hibby all my days, always recalling my granddads words that I would never live to see my team win the Scottish Cup.
    He had been to both finals in the 1920s and never got over the Hibs losing both of them. I went to all the Hampden SC nightmares as well.
    We went to a local Sports bar in Cala D'Or, where I counted 13 people in the large bar, average age 75, not a Hun in sight (all Hibbys).
    Great to go one up, then reality hit us, as we were 2-1 down with 20 minutes to go, when super sub Henderson came on.
    The auld yins in the bar where muttering about Hampden hoodoos, when Stokesy headed in the equaliser (He really loves playing against the Rangers).
    Well,!!! after looking like coffin-dodgers, all the auld yins went mental ( Zimmers cast asunder!!), I don't think the Spanish bar staff knew what was going on.
    When Gray scored the third, the place went even more mental, then the whistle, and the realisation, that 114 years of hurt were over.(Felt strangely numb & exhilarated at same time).
    The bar staff then changed the Channel!!! (didn't get to watch the Hibs fans taking home some souvenirs!!!) as the FA Cup Final was about to start.
    Wife then asked, if I wanted to contact our Airline and try and fly home that Evening/next morning, for the Glorious Sunday Parade!!.
    I said "Naw", as I wanted to lie on my sun bed for the next 6 days thinking about what had just happened.

Got home and spent the next 8 weeks drawing our heroes.!!

Scottish cup

My son who is coming up for 6 bleeds green and white, and he knows formations etc already. I wouldn't say he got what it means to us Hibs fans to win the Scottish cup but he did know it had been 114 years.

When Ross County scored I looked at him and he had a tear running down his face. I felt horrible seeing that but being a Hibs fan I thought he will see more than his fare share of heartache. After the league cup final I posted a pic on my Facebook of us and I just said one day son we'll stand together at Hampden and see Hibs lift a cup. I was surprised to receive a PM from Marvin Bartley and all it said was "tell the wee man, we'll have him smiling come may."

I thanked him for the message and deep down I never thought I'd be heading to another Scottish cup final. But when we went to pens my son cuddled into me and couldn't watch the last pen. The roar meant he knew exactly how it went and his face was such a picture.

So then it was Scottish cup final day, all the talking we had done about how the game would go stopped. Instead it was very quiet in our car more nerves than anything. The evening news got our pic and Mason was on the BBC 1 national news as well. I thought please don't lose this not now, let us see us win it. We got in took our seat and it was just a see if green and white.

The first goal I thought was a feeling I'd never feel again, then boom 2-2 and we're right in this again. Mason said dad we are going to win this. My heart sank as I knew if we had lost he'd be a state and so would I being honest.

But up steps captain marvel Sir David Gray, and BANG.... The roof of Hampden was just about blown clean off, the noise was incredible I've grabbed my boy I feel to my knees and couldn't contain myself. All I could hear is him screaming in my ear YEEEESSSSSSS DADDY, YEEEEEEESSSS!

After that I couldn't breath, the air seemed to vanish inside the ground and I had to sit down to take this in. It Hibs after all, this could still go to E.T! Then the full time whistle and the hurt from any other final was gone, we'd done it.. We have won the Scottish Cup. I turned to Mason and there he was crying again, this time tears of joy!

I'm 38 years old, and I'll never feel like I did at those moments when we scored the third and when that whistle went. An incredible thing to see and one that gave me such a close bond to my son.

Thank you Hibernian, all the heartache we suffered made this so much more special.

We love you. 💚🇳🇬🏆

Well I am now in the senior category ..just creeps up on you actually, but I and my grown up son went to the final and it was just so special..I kept thinking of when I got a lift over by my Dad to Easter Road all those years ago,even saw Gordon Smith but can hardly recall it as I was very small.. I looked up to the sky at the end to tell him(Dad) we had won...Having lost the final just a few weeks before and those dreaded play offs the team seemed inspired so those two events did add a lot to the teams drive...The Time For Heroes DVD reminds me too the players are all human with families....Let's use all use that win to stay positive this year for the team!!! A brilliant day out and a time to think of our absent friends etc...Great to be a Hibs man.

First Team Breakthrough The Weeman's Mum's Avatar
    The moto PERSEVERE, has been very important to our family and my son. He was born with a lifelong health and mobility condition, and has been through many adventures in and out of hospital since he was born. He is 18. He has been through good and bad times with Hibs. The best obviously when we HIBSD it in May. My son was critical last April after having another surgery, (had that many we have lost count). Every member of his medical care team and his Dad and I, constantly used the target of us lifting the going to Hampden and lifting the cup, to aid insist recovery. He, along with myself, had every faith it would happen. He has never lost faith in the prospect of us lifting the Scottish Cup. He even predicted the score, the opposition and the winning goal scorer. To see the look on his face when Sir David and the team came through, was indescribable, especially through my 😢. The fact he has been fortunate to see us lift two cups in his lifetime, in itself is incredible. With many more to come.

Sent from my E5823 using Tapatalk
    Last edited by The Weeman's Mum; 05-12-2016 at 08:09 PM.