Page 2 of 5 FirstFirst 1234 ... LastLast

Thread: Debt

Quote Originally Posted by TheFall View Post
    No world domination i'm afraid or European for that matter but a good quality team that won't get relegated again.

Of course success is reliant on good administrators choosing good managers who will have to sign good players who are not prone to injury. That along with a wee bit of good luck.

The more supporters, the more money we will have to pay for quality players.
    I've been reading that book for a good number of years, took it back to the library last week and filed it back in the fiction section.

Quote Originally Posted by The Green Goblin View Post
    Hiya Rod. Hiya pal. Quiet during the break is it?
    Have you stopped arguing with Michael Stewart

I've been reading that book for a good number of years, took it back to the library last week and filed it back in the fiction section.
    Talking of which I am going to watch the Scotland game

Wish I had never said anything. ...

Sent from my GT-I9505 using Tapatalk

Quote Originally Posted by Tyler Durden View Post
    An incredibly healthy picture!

Think you're at the wind up here.
    Absolutely. Yamtastic or HOH, take your pick.

Coaching Staff The Green Goblin's Avatar
    Have you stopped arguing with Michael Stewart
    Ouch!

Started reading the thread, got bored with it, imo, we are football fans, who gives a flying one about behind the scenes, that will take care of themselves, I for one just want a successful football team on the pitch every Saturday, playing good football. When the yams won ths Scottish cup do you think there was even one of them saying " We won the cup, but we are skint" ? Nah didnae think so.

Quote Originally Posted by JimBHibees View Post
    Absolutely. Yamtastic or HOH, take your pick.
    all properly spelt so my money is on Yamtastic...........

Quote Originally Posted by Grumpy Auld Git View Post
    Started reading the thread, got bored with it, imo, we are football fans, who gives a flying one about behind the scenes, that will take care of themselves, I for one just want a successful football team on the pitch every Saturday, playing good football. When the yams won ths Scottish cup do you think there was even one of them saying " We won the cup, but we are skint" ? Nah didnae think so.
    Is that not what Rangers supporters did and were robbed blind until Dave King came in

Quote Originally Posted by CropleyWasGod View Post
    Wish I had never said anything. ...

Sorry for dragging you into this

Quote Originally Posted by Bostonhibby View Post
    I hope you are not saying Hibs fans can't spell

@hibs.net private member Just Alf's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by Bostonhibby View Post
    Mines 2.. sky bet no takin' any more bets!

Wonder why?

Lol!

Sent from my SM-G925F using Tapatalk

Excuse my ignorance.
    I should know this stuff.

Do Hibs have any debt or loans?
    Do Hibs own Easter Road or does Tom Farmer?
    Do Hibs own the training facility or does Tom Farmer?
    Hibs have a loan due to the holding company. Being paid off, interest free, at £500k pa. It was £5m at 31 July 15, therefore will currently be £4.67m.

No other debt, other than the normal working capital creditors.

Hibs own both ER and EM.
    That's what 'wee teams' do. 'Big teams' just owe it to themselves.

Quote Originally Posted by Just Alf View Post
    Mines 2.. sky bet no takin' any more bets!

Wonder why?

Lol!

Sent from my SM-G925F using Tapatalk
    I have already renewed my Hibs season ticket for next season.
    Have those calling me a yam?

I hope you are not saying Hibs fans can't spell
    Just firing out the controversial statements hoping for a reaction - you know how it works

I have already renewed my Hibs season ticket for next season.
    Have those calling me a yam?
    I hope you have had some proper financial advice then since, bizarrely, you don't seem to have any idea of our financial position....

Quote Originally Posted by Ozyhibby View Post
    Shame he's lost 5000 supporters along the way.

Im no fan of RP but you really need to be factual here. You can't keep comparing our 2nd highest average attendance in the last 50+ years with current attendances. If you do that then you have to acknowledge RP was in charge when we set that average attendance record.

Quote Originally Posted by FranckSuzy View Post
    I hope you have had some proper financial advice then since, bizarrely, you don't seem to have any idea of our financial position....
    No, as a result of not mismanaging my funds I was able to pay for my season ticket without recourse to a financial adviser. Obviously if I had squandered my funds on a Ferrari and all the latest shiny baubles to impress my friends in the short term this would not have been possible.

Playing in the 2nd tier of the footballing backwater thats Scottish football for 2 consecutive seasons, maybe more?

I will thank god when he leaves, i will never thank him for anything else.

@hibs.net private member Alfred E Newman's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by brog View Post
    Im no fan of RP but you really need to be factual here. You can't keep comparing our 2nd highest average attendance in the last 50+ years with current attendances. If you do that then you have to acknowledge RP was in charge when we set that average attendance record.
    At last, someone talking sense.

We sold ...

GOC £1.6m
    Whittaker £2m
    Thomson £2m
    Murphy £1.5m
    Brown £4.4m

We built a training complex and finished off the stadium, I'd still like to know what happened to the money and how we were still paying off £5m bank loan?

Quote Originally Posted by brog View Post
    Yes he was, but the evidence clearly shows he got lucky, 1 from how many is it now shows he knows nothing about appointing managers good enough for our club.

He's gone from appointing manager after manager with completely different philosophies, Mowbray to Butcher, thats the kind of thought that clown puts into appointing managers.

Throw in Fenlon and Calderwood, 2 more managers that play THEIR football as far away from the type of football we supporters want and expect at Hibs, he clearly in my opinion just had a scattergun approach and was completely out of his depth.

So yes lucky, completely lucky and the sooner he's away from the club the better for me.

Quote Originally Posted by J-C View Post
    We sold ...

GOC £1.6m
    Whittaker £2m
    Thomson £2m
    Murphy £1.5m
    Brown £4.4m

We built a training complex and finished off the stadium, I'd still like to know what happened to the money and how we were still paying off £5m bank loan?
    Our debt, remember, was at £18m at one point.

Quote Originally Posted by J-C View Post
    We sold ...

GOC £1.6m
    Whittaker £2m
    Thomson £2m
    Murphy £1.5m
    Brown £4.4m

At one point the club's debt was in excess of £18m. The car park and the above players were sold, probably bringing in a total of around £20m which, for argument's sake, brings us to +£2m. Then deduct the £9-10m or so spent on EM & the new East stand and we're at minus £7-8m plus (or minus) losses made some seasons.

It's very much fag packet stuff but I don't see any mystery.

Was talking to my accountant friend about debt the other day, specifically the yam debts before they left everyone high and dry without a backward glance, and also the now defunct Glasgow rangers debt.

His view of business debt was that there's nothing wrong with it if you are paying it as that very act enhanced credit worthiness and your business standing. When a business stops paying and when the details of what it was doing instead of paying its way that's when its true culture is revealed and it's often hard to get rid of the stigma.
    Quickly starting trading much the same as before leaving the creditors high and dry is also another reason not to deal with the business on normal credit terms.

A foolish man only judges overall health by what he can see on the park.
    A wise man looks at the whole picture.
    I'm surprised you can see any picture with all that sand in your eyes

Yes he was, but the evidence clearly shows he got lucky, 1 from how many is it now shows he knows nothing about appointing managers good enough for our club.

He's gone from appointing manager after manager with completely different philosophies, Mowbray to Butcher, thats the kind of thought that clown puts into appointing managers.

Throw in Fenlon and Calderwood, 2 more managers that play THEIR football as far away from the type of football we supporters want and expect at Hibs, he clearly in my opinion just had a scattergun approach and was completely out of his depth.

So yes lucky, completely lucky and the sooner he's away from the club the better for me.
    I doubt Petrie ever gave much thought to football philosophies when appointing managers. If there was 10 candidates then the one wanting the lowest salary got the job.

Quote Originally Posted by giro playboy View Post
    I doubt Petrie ever gave much thought to football philosophies when appointing managers. If there was 10 candidates then the one wanting the lowest salary got the job.
    Is that what happened?

@hibs.net private member KeithTheHibby's Avatar

So of those managers that Petrie appointed did you have reservations at the time of their appointment?
    It's easy to stick the boot in once things don't work out.

Is that what happened?
    I would bet my house on it