Page 2 of 4 FirstFirst 1234 LastLast
    Quote Originally Posted by Craig_HFC View Post
    A bus conductor got on the Lothian bus I was on last week.
    Surely that was an inspector. Conductors used to collect fares.

@hibs.net private member Craig_HFC's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by Scouse Hibee View Post
    Surely that was an inspector. Conductors used to collect fares.
    Aye, you're probably right.

Either way I wasn't sure what was happening when some guy was walking about checking people's tickets!
    PERSEVERE
    Verb: pə:ːsɪ'ˈvɪə/
    To not give up.
    To go the distance.
    To stop at nothing.

Wallace Mercer

Quote Originally Posted by Smartie View Post
    Wallace Mercer
    Or anyone that has passed away!

Quote Originally Posted by Smartie View Post
    Wallace Mercer

Quote Originally Posted by Craig_HFC View Post
    Aye, you're probably right.

Either way I wasn't sure what was happening when some guy was walking about checking people's tickets!
    I've often wondered what's the point of an inspector on a bus these days?

The only way someone can get on a bus is if they've got a valid bus pass or bought a ticket and for that they'd have to go past the driver. So are inspectors trying to catch out drivers?!

Quote Originally Posted by easty View Post
    The bushes by Makro at Sighthill Park used to be made up of equal parts trees and pornos when I was a bairn. You could almost see more tits and fannys in there than you could see at Tynecastle.
    Quarry Holes used to be the same back in the day. I was shocked when I first saw a naked woman and she didn't have staples in her belly

Quote Originally Posted by LustForLeith View Post
    I've often wondered what's the point of an inspector on a bus these days?

The only way someone can get on a bus is if they've got a valid bus pass or bought a ticket and for that they'd have to go past the driver. So are inspectors trying to catch out drivers?!
    Probably drivers, folk with dodgy day saver tickets, people paying child fares.

@hibs.net private member snooky's Avatar
    Or folk wearing stolen poppies?

Quarry Holes used to be the same back in the day. I was shocked when I first saw a naked woman and she didn't have staples in her belly

Still reckon it's a great job being an inspector on an LRT bus. Surely the chances of confrontation with anyone is reduced by the likleyhood that the driver has done there job meaning you get to roam about Edinburgh on a double decker bus.

and all they do is look at your pass - they don't put it on one of those things that tram drivers carry. wonder how much these folk get paid?!?

@hibs.net private member StevieT's Avatar
    Kids with white patches on their eye to correct a squint.

Folk wearing a big black shoe (think this was something to do with polio).

Big T Bread (it was round)

Vesta boil in a bag

Gonks

Still reckon it's a great job being an inspector on an LRT bus. Surely the chances of confrontation with anyone is reduced by the likleyhood that the driver has done there job meaning you get to roam about Edinburgh on a double decker bus.

and all they do is look at your pass - they don't put it on one of those things that tram drivers carry. wonder how much these folk get paid?!?
    They're called Route Managers now and their main priority is to report drivers for running a minute early or so i've been told.

Quote Originally Posted by Mrs. S View Post
    Gonks
    ... and Trolls.

Oh, wait....

@hibs.net private member Hiber-nation's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by CropleyWasGod View Post
    ... and Trolls.

Oh, wait....

"Someone who posts inflammatory, extraneous, or off-topic messages in an online community, such as a forum, chat room, or blog, with the primary intent of provoking readers into an emotional response or of otherwise disrupting normal on-topic discussion.”

An Internet gonk.

@hibs.net private member Carheenlea's Avatar
    Children with broken limbs in plaster. At primary school in the 70`s the ritual of drawing on classmates casts seemed to be a weekly practice.

Easter Eggs

@hibs.net private member Hermit Crab's Avatar
    I saw the new style buses in October no sign of a clippy though,must have been on the top deck with Stan Butler.

I'll ave you Butler!!!!!! They definitely have them, I'm in London a lot for work and I see them regulary.

Found this on Wiki.

A revival in conductor operation on buses in the UK has occurred with the development of the ftr routes in York, Leeds and Swansea. Stagecoach Strathtay still uses conductors on service 73(A) from Arbroath, Carnoustie and Monifieth to Ninewells Hospital. Quantock Motor Services, Somerset, operates the service 400 'Exmoor Explorer' using crew-operated vintage open top buses. The conductors also returned to London in 2012 with the introduction of the New Routemaster. Some of the routes served by the New Routemaster will not have conductors so the service will be driver only operation controlling three doors of the bus. The role of the conductor is to ensure passengers validate their Oyster card as they board on the bus and supervise passengers using the open platform.[1]
    Last edited by Hermit Crab; 23-03-2016 at 04:30 PM.

@hibs.net private member Hermit Crab's Avatar
    The bushes by Makro at Sighthill Park used to be made up of equal parts trees and pornos when I was a bairn. You could almost see more tits and fannys in there than you could see at Tynecastle.

Used to find the scuddy mags dumped over the wall behind the Carrick Knowe bowling club when I was younger. We used to get chesed regular by the bowlers, then again we were usually climbing on the roof and being general pests.

Bairns in the park using jumpers for goalposts. 10 half time 21 the winner, those were the days!

Shortly after the wearing of shin-pads became mandatory I was playing in a game at some point between U-12 and U-15 level.

I was caught out having forgotten mine and had to wear a pair hastily fashioned out of a scud mag found in the bushes near the pitch before the game.

The ref was none the wiser.

Quote Originally Posted by Carheenlea View Post
    Children with broken limbs in plaster. At primary school in the 70`s the ritual of drawing on classmates casts seemed to be a weekly practice.
    Having four sons I can absolutely guarantee they still get stookies and they still get written on. One son has had at least seven stookies in his lifetime so far. :(

Quote Originally Posted by Mrs. S View Post
    Having four sons I can absolutely guarantee they still get stookies and they still get written on. One son has had at least seven stookies in his lifetime so far. :(
    Whit?? The lad wants to be a bit more careful no??

PSN ID: hibee_easty
    Quote Originally Posted by lyonhibs View Post
    Maybe he needs to stop answering back to his mum

Quote Originally Posted by lyonhibs View Post
    You'd think. That's not counting splints, concussions, stitches and operations. A mothers nightmare.

Maybe he needs to stop answering back to his mum
    Ha ha I did tell him just last night I'd knock him out if he didn't cut the attitude but he's a foot taller than me so I'd need a stool :)

@hibs.net private member Galahibby's Avatar
    The macaroon bar bloke.

Kids on giders (sp?) and Caramac.

Quote Originally Posted by Jim44 View Post
    Kids on giders (sp?) and Caramac.
    Aye Jim, guiders were brilliant. I built a few in my day. Burning a hole with a red hot poker in the spar for the front wheel axle block bolt. Raking for old pram wheels - large for the rear and small for the front. A FMA box was the standard main frame.