Sooooooooo annoying

What gives with the latest language fashion of using 'so' at the beginning of a sentence when replying to a question? It's even more annoying than Australian Questioning Intonation or the over-use of 'well' to qualify an adjective.

@hibs.net private member hibbymick's Avatar
    Well said Jim, I thought it was just me that had an issue with that.It does my head in.

Just what is a "cheeky" anything?

@hibs.net private member snooky's Avatar
    Like the overuse of the word "like", like.

@hibs.net private member overdrive's Avatar
    The Northern Irish "so it is" or "so it was" or "so I am", etc at the end of nearly every sentence is pretty annoying as well, so it is.

@hibs.net private member Mr White's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by overdrive View Post
    The Northern Irish "so it is" or "so it was" or "so I am", etc at the end of nearly every sentence is pretty annoying as well, so it is.
    It's not the most annoying thing about those stubborn, argumentative, obtuse nordy ****ers. But it's up there.

The weegie "Bye the way" gets on my tits big time. I've tried my hardest to work out what it means it just appears to be a random finish to a sentence.

Quote Originally Posted by Geo_1875 View Post
    The weegie "Bye the way" gets on my tits big time. I've tried my hardest to work out what it means it just appears to be a random finish to a sentence.
    Also puzzles me why they end sentences with 'but'.

Quote Originally Posted by snooky View Post
    Also puzzles me why they end sentences with 'but'.
    As in "Aye But Naw But"?

Oh my god is the one I hate more than those already listed.

Quote Originally Posted by Danderhall Hibs View Post
    Oh my actual god appears popular with the youngsters just now. Usually crops up when they're shocked at something the rest of us assume to be obvious.

Like the overuse of the word "like", like.
    That is literally like, true? Work in Cambridge and the school and college kids use literally and like in every sentence

Quote Originally Posted by Danderhall Hibs View Post
    On a similar theme "Oh my days" gets right on my bosoms, what does it even mean?

Oh my actual god appears popular with the youngsters just now. Usually crops up when they're shocked at something the rest of us assume to be obvious.
    The other odd phrase is "You're joking". (Especially at times when it's most inappropriate).

For example ...
    Say, you're relaying sad news, like "Old Roger died last night" and the response you receive is "You're joking!"
    I've often wanted to say "Of course I am. Ha ha ha ha ha. Isn't that hilarious."
    Last edited by snooky; 21-03-2016 at 05:25 PM.

Quote Originally Posted by Scouse Hibee View Post
    Just what is a "cheeky" anything?
    You never been for a cheeky wee Nando's before?

Quote Originally Posted by peter douglas View Post
    You never been for a cheeky wee Nando's before?
    Never seen a cheek or the cheeky girls in Nandos yet.

Middle aged women as well - the Friends generation.

I cringe when I hear a gadgy say it.

@hibs.net private member Craig_HFC's Avatar
    The upward inflection at the end of sentences to make it sound like a question. Mostly 'yah' students and Aussies that do it.

Does my box in.

Quote Originally Posted by Craig_HFC View Post
    The upward inflection at the end of sentences to make it sound like a question. Mostly 'yah' students and Aussies that do it.

Does my box in.
    Also, the pick up of the annoying North American affliction of adding 'ay' to the end of every sentence...... ay?

Private Members Prediction League Winner Hibrandenburg's Avatar
    People who've not thought through what they're about to say and their brain makes them say e.......h whilst it tries to catch up with their mouths.

@hibs.net private member stantonhibby's Avatar
    Also, the pick up of the annoying North American affliction of adding 'ay' to the end of every sentence...... ay?
    Is that not a Fife thing....ay

@hibs.net private member Carheenlea's Avatar
    My in laws in Galway, and pretty much everyone else over there, precedes every question to you with "Come here" (more a `cummeere`). Don`t know if that is commonplace nationwide or a West of Ireland trait, but I always find it a funny thing to say.

Overused trendy phrases that appear from nowhere and then everybody uses them ad nauseum.

i.e. In the gulf war, Stormin' Norman's "The jury's still out on that one"

There are more and more English language words and expressions being used in France, especially in business talk. Obviously some of them are pretty cringey, but what's worse is that I have to use some of them when responding to people. To make things even worse, if I don't pronounce them with my best Allo Allo French accent, then people don't understand me. I shock myself by how much of a twat I (deliberately) sound sometimes.

Quote Originally Posted by Jim44 View Post
    What gives with the latest language fashion of using 'so' at the beginning of a sentence when replying to a question? It's even more annoying than Australian Questioning Intonation or the over-use of 'well' to qualify an adjective.
    I've read this thread from the bottom upwards, and this was going to be my reply. But you beat me to it. By starting the thread with it.

Quote Originally Posted by Peevemor View Post
    There are more and more English language words and expressions being used in France, especially in business talk. Obviously some of them are pretty cringey, but what's worse is that I have to use some of them when responding to people. To make things even worse, if I don't pronounce them with my best Allo Allo French accent, then people don't understand me. I shock myself by how much of a twat I (deliberately) sound sometimes.

I mind asking a group of 10-11 year old kids I was teaching who liked/had heard of David Beckham (pronounced properly). Not one hand went up and obviously I knew that most of the lads were footy mad so there's no way they've not heard of David Beckham.

It was only when I pronounced it "Davide Beck'am" that a forest of hands shot up. I can only imagine how grim that trend must be in the monde d'affaires (or probably "monde de buseeenezz" or whatever it is these days )

Quote Originally Posted by lyonhibs View Post

I mind asking a group of 10-11 year old kids I was teaching who liked/had heard of David Beckham (pronounced properly). Not one hand went up and obviously I knew that most of the lads were footy mad so there's no way they've not heard of David Beckham.

It was only when I pronounced it "Davide Beck'am" that a forest of hands shot up. I can only imagine how grim that trend must be in the monde d'affaires (or probably "monde de buseeenezz" or whatever it is these days )
    Is that Davide Beck'am who played for Mon-chest-err Yoo-nigh-teed?

I bet he could afford to buy the painting of the Fallen Madonna with the Big Boobies.

I can remember a visit to McDonald's that was worthy of its own sketch.

Me in German: "Can I have a Big Mac please"

Server: "A what?"

Me: "A Big Mac please"

Server: "Do you mean a Big Meck?"

Me: "No, a Big Mac, just like it's written on the board"

Server: "It's pronounced Meck"

Me: "No it's no, it's pronounced MAC but if you're gonna be ****ing pedantic about it, it should be pronounced MICK coz the ****ing restaurant is called McDonald's not ****ing Macdonalds but that's another story"

Server: "There's no need to lose your temper sir"

Me: "Awe ffs are you just gonna gie me one"

Quote Originally Posted by Hibrandenburg View Post
    I can remember a visit to McDonald's that was worthy of its own sketch.

Me in German: "Can I have a Big Mac please"

Server: "A what?"

Me: "A Big Mac please"

Server: "Do you mean a Big Meck?"

Me: "No, a Big Mac, just like it's written on the board"

Server: "It's pronounced Meck"

Me: "No it's no, it's pronounced MAC but if you're gonna be ****ing pedantic about it, it should be pronounced MICK coz the ****ing restaurant is called McDonald's not ****ing Macdonalds but that's another story"

Server: "There's no need to lose your temper sir"

Me: "Awe ffs are you just gonna gie me one"
    That reminds me of the time my mate, when trying to make an international call from a caifornia hotel room, was asked to say "operator" by the automated call system. After saying "operator" quite correctly 4 or 5 times without being recognised he tried "apurrairrerrr" and got straight through.

Elivin!