Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 123 LastLast

Thread: Eh?

Quote Originally Posted by scott_b_ View Post
    If American TV networks want to pay for Scottish football that is played in Scotland then barry. Thats not what is being proposed here though is it?

They can ram their stupid idea.
    Maybe this game will lead to a tv deal. I don't see why people are so against it, we've got nothing to lose.

United we stand here....

It's a nonsense idea.............
    "There's class, there's first class and there's Hibs class" - Eddie Turnbull

I might be wrong, but I think the idea is the brainchild of the Texan Dundee owner.

Don't agree with this but if it was to happen to Hibs it would be a great trip.

Quote Originally Posted by lucky View Post
    Well I wouldn't be running a bus......
    "There's class, there's first class and there's Hibs class" - Eddie Turnbull

Quote Originally Posted by Baldy Foghorn View Post
    Dundee are well known in the States
    Aye, for teenage mums.

Quote Originally Posted by Scorrie View Post
    Would be good if Celtic just stay there after the game an aw!
    One advantage of Sevco going up this season would be that they could arrange to have this match with each other in the US and then they could both just stay over there.

I think I might suggest that!

@hibs.net private member KeithTheHibby's Avatar
    What happens if Dundee are relegated?

Other than that I don't see the problem with it. Good publicity for our league and to be honest any positive headlines have to help the game up here.

Quote Originally Posted by Jim44 View Post
    I might be wrong, but I think the idea is the brainchild of the Texan Dundee owner.
    It is a Dundee idea...

@hibs.net private member scoopyboy's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by KeithTheHibby View Post

Other than that I don't see the problem with it. Good publicity for our league and to be honest any positive headlines have to help the game up here.
    A hasty reconstruction?

All part of the masterplan.

@hibs.net private member scoopyboy's Avatar
    Only if it was an away game, remember you don't run buses to home games....

Quote Originally Posted by lucky View Post
    Aye it would, but when you look at our underwhelming set of friendlies at the start of this season I would just be happy if we could arrange a pre season game in Liverpool or London .... or Brugge, love that place

Testimonial Due Tha Cabbage Kid's Avatar
    Dundee are well known in the States
    aye crocodile dundee

Testimonial Due NadeAteMyLunch!'s Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by KeithTheHibby View Post

Then they can play Sevco over there in the championship

Quote Originally Posted by NadeAteMyLunch! View Post
    Then they can play Sevco over there in the championship
    Or they could just go and play the Texas Rangers.

Not dead against the idea, but as others have pointed out, we would do better by promoting the game more effectively here first. And lets be honest, season ticket prices would not reflect the one less game in the long term, maybe as a one off they would reduce them by 20 quid...but that would soon be forgotten about if the overseas fixture became regular.

The only way this would maybe work, would be to take the whole league over there for a full fixture long weekend, and no-one is going to wear that. Playing the odd game in Boston or wherever would not 'grow' the brand in the US.

@hibs.net private member .Sean.'s Avatar
    Taking the people's game away from the people. Any proper Dundee fan will quite rightly be raging with this. Work all week and look forward to a few pints an a day out at the football on a Saturday with your pals or your old boy and aw naw, you canny go because some ersehole Americans who are only in it for the cash and couldn't care less about you wants to take your football team across the Atlantic for their self-interest? Absolutely ridiculous.

Hopefully UEFA don't allow it. **** modern football.
    ''It's always been just part of the culture. Growing up, for most working-class kids, is all about football, music or clothes. You might not have much money, but whatever you have got, you're going to look good.'' - Paul Weller

Would like to say it shouldn't be considered, but the Scottish game is so starved of revenue anything has to be explored. A wee bit worried about the precedent it would set, but if it was Hibs and it meant earning the revenue that would help the club kick on, I'd be for it.

Not in favour of league games being moved. Why can't they have a 'glamour' friendly, maybe for a Transatlantic Cup? Or organise a pre-season Scottish tournament? Or something.

@hibs.net private member Hiber-nation's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by .Sean. View Post
    Taking the people's game away from the people. Any proper Dundee fan will quite rightly be raging with this. Work all week and look forward to a few pints an a day out at the football on a Saturday with your pals or your old boy and aw naw, you canny go because some ersehole Americans who are only in it for the cash and couldn't care less about you wants to take your football team across the Atlantic for their self-interest? Absolutely ridiculous.

Spot on, if this goes through then who knows where it could lead. Absolute joke.

But you'd be there. Imagine the extra loyalty points😄

Quote Originally Posted by s.a.m View Post
    Not in favour of league games being moved. Why can't they have a 'glamour' friendly, maybe for a Transatlantic Cup? Or organise a pre-season Scottish tournament? Or something.
    This is something the SFA/SPFL should be looking into! The EPL has the Asia cup in pre season which has helped market the game over there and gain an increaed TV deal (obvs the reputations of the clubs/league helps)

Theres a large number of Expats in America, Canada and Australia so why not play an expat cup with the SPFL champions playing along with a team from each top division in a knockout tournament, plaing in USA/Canada one year and Australia the next! I'd rather see this than playing league games abroad!

EH?......JAMBOS next post code....EH69

http://www.hmfckickback.co.uk/index..../#entry5113639

I reckon the fanny farts next game should be played in Lithuania and should be free of charge to all Lithuanian residents and free hospitality for the pensioners who were shat upon to fund their recent tainted success

Noel Hunts to a man the lotta them
    Last edited by SausageSurprise; 24-11-2015 at 08:02 PM.

If Dundee offer this to celtic then they'd be mad to knock it back. What I dont get though, what are Dundee getting out of it?

Quote Originally Posted by .Sean. View Post

Nothing to do with UEFA, is is the call of FIFA. They ruled out the EPL playing a 39th round of fixtures in other countries a few years back.

Mind you FIFA may not exist for much longer.

Testimonial Due NadeAteMyLunch!'s Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by SausageSurprise View Post
    http://www.hmfckickback.co.uk/index..../#entry5113639

I reckon the fanny farts next game should be played in Lithuania and should be free of charge to all Lithuanian residents and free hospitality for the pensioners who were shat upon to fund their recent tainted success

Noel Hunts to a man the lotta them
    What a totally shan thread that is. Top banter

Quote Originally Posted by jgl07 View Post
    Nothing to do with UEFA, is is the call of FIFA. They ruled out the EPL playing a 39th round of fixtures in other countries a few years back.

Mind you FIFA may not exist for much longer.
    The 39th game thing and this idea are very much different.

Quote Originally Posted by jacomoseven View Post
    You see no problem with playing a home league game 3,000 miles from home, in a different country? The NFL do it but those teams are franchises. We should be more protective of our heritage.

By the way, there is a huge opportunity for Hibs in North Eastern USA. I would love us to do a summer tour there. But not moving League games.
    you don't do jokes, do you. ? I couldnae gie a flyin' fiddler's mif it happens, to be honest. nothing would surprise me in football these days but it is blatantly obvious that the current owner of DFC is behind this idea and If the Dee fans and board allow this to happen, hell mend them.they almost fell for a Romanov deal. the only real winners would be CFC, on a merchandise front imho. Dundee have flirted with some dodgy characters over the last 15 years, although bringing in some fantastic players like the long haired Argentinian guy (?) but don't seem to have got out of the trough they have been in for years. N.E.America? where are we gonna somehow drum up a following that can put money in, on that front?

Quote Originally Posted by Coults1875 View Post
    Who?
    A poor man's John McGinn.