View Poll Results: would you like to see bain's as the provider of Pie's at Easter Road

107. You may not vote on this poll
  • YES

98 91.59%
  • NO

9 8.41%
Page 1 of 5 123 ... LastLast

Thread: bain's pies

the mild mannered janitor Last Minute's Avatar

bain's pies

would you like bain's to be the provider of pies at Easter road

1. YES

2.NO

Haven't eaten any food at ER for years - over priced and poor selection on offer.

PLEASE CHANGE THIS HIBS!! IT'S BEEN POOR FOR TOO LONG!

First Team Breakthrough chasitup's Avatar
    100% yes.

why bains ?
    why not mcgills pies ?

@hibs.net private member Oscar T Grouch's Avatar
    Love Bains pies and bridies. Would be happy to buy these at ER. (Can't vote as on my phone).

I normally make my own sausage rolls the morning of the match and scoff them at half time. I then know what's in them and they are cheaper than anything comparable at Easter Road. Also don't have to queue.

Simples.

Quote Originally Posted by GreenDevil View Post
    Haven't eaten any food at ER for years - over priced and poor selection on offer.

PLEASE CHANGE THIS HIBS!! IT'S BEEN POOR FOR TOO LONG!

That's it for me too

Quote Originally Posted by iwasthere1972 View Post
    I normally make my own sausage rolls the morning of the match and scoff them at half time. I then know what's in them and they are cheaper than anything comparable at Easter Road. Also don't have to queue.

Simples.
    Fancy setting up a stall outside the East Stand?

Quote Originally Posted by LancashireHibby View Post
    Fancy setting up a stall outside the East Stand?
    My soup is to die for as well. A bit like the pies at Easter Road.

No. Still wouldnt buy one, not as great as there made out

@hibs.net private member mutley's Avatar

PSN ID: mutley074
    I can't answer this yet until I try one, but I am guessing that they can't be as bad as the ones we already get at ER

The last time I bought a mince pie at Easter Road was probably the mid eighties. What exactly is in the mince pies that are currently on offer. Is it still a lump of some hard unrecognisable stuff encased in something that a crocodile would have trouble biting into?

Can't believe that I ate five of them at one match. I obviously had no taste forty years ago.

@hibs.net private member staunchhibby's Avatar
    Take my own pies made by boghall butchers

Commentator on Hibs TV the other night, was stating that the new hibs pies were fantastic and that he had no problem reversing a couple down his neck! (hibs have taken over the catering??)

He wasn't sure if the new pies had found their way down to the hungry masses though?

Quote Originally Posted by iwasthere1972 View Post
    The last time I bought a mince pie at Easter Road was probably the mid eighties. What exactly is in the mince pies that are currently on offer. Is it still a lump of some hard unrecognisable stuff encased in something that a crocodile would have trouble biting into?

Can't believe that I ate five of them at one match. I obviously had no taste forty years ago.
    Wallpaper paste and sawdust mixed together, microwaved to 500 degrees Celcius then encased in cardboard, you could soften the whole lot down a bit with a polystyrene cup full of recycled engine oil sold as Bovril.

Macaroon bar and spearmint chewing gum for pudding.

Quote Originally Posted by Bostonhibby View Post
    Wallpaper paste and sawdust mixed together, microwaved to 500 degrees Celcius then encased in cardboard, you could soften the whole lot down a bit with a polystyrene cup full of recycled engine oil sold as Bovril.

Macaroon bar and spearmint chewing gum for pudding.
    The fuel of champions!

Left by mutual consent! Iggy Pope's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by Last Minute View Post
    would you like bain's to be the provider of pies at Easter road

1. YES

2.NO
    Do you mean Baynes?
    Let me know before I vote on this vital subject.

Bains/Baynes at Stenhouse Cross? I had them recently and they are nowhere near as good as I remembered them when I was wee but they'd make a change I suppose

If you mean Bains/Baynes as in the chain that's sprung up all over the place then it's a definite yes

Quote Originally Posted by Iggy Pope View Post
    Do you mean Baynes?
    Let me know before I vote on this vital subject.
    Nope it's the butchers at Stenhouse Crooss we are voting on. 😉

Quote Originally Posted by AndyM_1875 View Post
    The fuel of champions!

The same thing works for pizza slices except you spread the ingredients onto the cardboard and put orange food colouring on.

@hibs.net private member HibbyKeith's Avatar
    Voted yes but only as ANYTHING would be better that what we've got at the moment.

Key for me though really has to be the price.

£9.20 for two mince pies and two cups of bovril is shocking.( the quality of the food on offer makes this even more of a rip off.) I can currently get two Latte's and two bacon rolls for £4.00 from Greggs and they're making money selling at these prices!

As the weather turns for the worse I will sometimes have a half time hot drink but it really is grudged.

Both my son and I often have hot filled rolls from the takeaway van outside the stadium pre-match, so it's not a reluctance to spending money, Cash that hibs could have if it was sensibly prices inside the ground.

Gamertag: TheBull1875
    My kids, 33 and 30 years old absolutely love the ER pizzas as they are.

@hibs.net private member LaMotta's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by hibbykeith View Post
    Voted yes but only as ANYTHING would be better that what we've got at the moment.

Key for me though really has to be the price.

£9.20 for two mince pies and two cups of bovril is shocking.( the quality of the food on offer makes this even more of a rip off.) I can currently get two Latte's and two bacon rolls for £4.00 from Greggs and they're making money selling at these prices!

As the weather turns for the worse I will sometimes have a half time hot drink but it really is grudged.

Both my son and I often have hot filled rolls from the takeaway van outside the stadium pre-match, so it's not a reluctance to spending money, Cash that hibs could have if it was sensibly prices inside the ground.
    Also you're lucky if you can get served quick enough at half time without missing the restart. I gave up at half time during the Dun Utd game.

On a Saturday you can nip out at half time and go to the takeaway van these days!

@hibs.net private member scoopyboy's Avatar
    Voted yes blindly on the assumption they cannae be any worse.

Best food I have tasted in years at the footy is the bridies at East End Park.

If it's the Stenhouse Cross Bains then aye! If it's the other lot Baynes then I'm no bothered

Quote Originally Posted by Lucius Apuleius View Post
    My kids, 33 and 30 years old absolutely love the ER pizzas as they are.
    The pizzas remind me of the ones we had to make at school that was basically a heel from a half loaf with tomato puree and a bit cheese sprinkled over the top and are drier than a ryvita

Either they've changed them over the years or I've been brainwashed by Pizza Hut because they are bowfin now

Quote Originally Posted by Victor Park View Post
    Also you're lucky if you can get served quick enough at half time without missing the restart. I gave up at half time during the Dun Utd game.

On a Saturday you can nip out at half time and go to the takeaway van these days!
    I've heard of folk legging it round to Greggs for their half time scran and been back with more time to spare before kick off than they would have had if they had queued at ER. Better and cheaper food plus a wee bit exercise in the process.
    Last edited by iwasthere1972; 19-11-2015 at 03:43 PM.

As long as they're not £2:50 a pop

@hibs.net private member Golden Bear's Avatar
    Where can I get a free sample?

Then I'll vote.

Do people honestly take their own rolls/pies to the game? Never seen that before 😂