Thread: Odeon

Odeon

I was looking at prices for going to see James Bond. Can anybody tell me why there is such a difference depending on where you go? East Kilbride £6.50, Fort Kinnaird £8.45, Kilmarnock £10.15, Leicester Sq £14. I know London has always been dearer but the others are baffling.

Westerhailes £6.50 plus free parking compared to the Dominion and its pishy wee seats for £9 and nae parking!!

Odeon

Probably depends on how close the nearest other cinema is. Like petrol stations, prices go up when there's less competition. Supply and demand.

london is the outlier in th study for obvious reasons.

Quote Originally Posted by HibbyAndy View Post
    Westerhailes £6.50 plus free parking compared to the Dominion and its pishy wee seats for £9 and nae parking!!
    £5 for non 'blockbuster' films as well. The seats are that worn and uncomfy I eouldnt recommend the place though

It's not long, well sixty years actually, since it was 6d for the stalls and 9d for the raised section at the back of the State, Leith. Ah the good old days.

I paid £25 for me, the mrs and the wee one yesterday to see Hotel Transylvania 2, that's before you get anything to eat.

United we stand here....

Have you ever been to the main cinema in the Dominion? Comfiest sofa seats ever.

Quote Originally Posted by hibsbollah View Post
    Have you ever been to the main cinema in the Dominion? Comfiest sofa seats ever.
    Aye true they have leather couches up the back that are ultra comfy

Seen it at the IMAX at Cineword last night the sound was spectacular.

Aye true they have leather couches up the back that are ultra comfy
    I've fallen asleep in there more than once

@hibs.net private member Speedy's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by Killiehibbie View Post
    I was looking at prices for going to see James Bond. Can anybody tell me why there is such a difference depending on where you go? East Kilbride £6.50, Fort Kinnaird £8.45, Kilmarnock £10.15, Leicester Sq £14. I know London has always been dearer but the others are baffling.
    Cinemas price based on demand and timing etc. as well as day.

I generally get my tickets in deals these days, meerkat movies (2 for 1 Tuesday/Wednesday) or RBS Rewards other days (Cineworld tickets for £5). Mars had a Sunday deal a while ago but it's expired now.

Quote Originally Posted by deano88 View Post
    Cinemas price based on demand and timing etc. as well as day.

I generally get my tickets in deals these days, meerkat movies (2 for 1 Tuesday/Wednesday) or RBS Rewards other days (Cineworld tickets for £5). Mars had a Sunday deal a while ago but it's expired now.
    Is there that much more demand in Kilmarnock compared to East Kilbride? The saving on 7 of us will just about pay me in tomorrow.

@hibs.net private member sleeping giant's Avatar
    £31 quid for me and 2 kids to see Pan last week in Livingston.
    Would have been £28 but booked the good seats.

Still expensive though.
    No Eternal Reward Shall Forgive Us Now For Wasting The Dawn

PSN ID: hibee-87
    Kids am at ocean terminal to see inside out, kids box meal.and a hotdog all for 8 quid this morning :-)

Quote Originally Posted by sleeping giant View Post
    £31 quid for me and 2 kids to see Pan last week in Livingston.
    Would have been £28 but booked the good seats.

Still expensive though.
    It used to be a cheap alternative to go to the pictures. We went for something to eat after it and the 2 things cost me £90. What I would say is that I love what they've done up at the fort with the cinema and all the restaurants, the area has been crying out for it for years.

United we stand here....

We go to WH Odeon quite a lot and are frequently the only people in the auditorium. How it stays open is a mystery but long may it continue.