Thread: Dublin

Dublin

Heading off to Dublin tomorrow, as a Hibernian fan is there any place that is a must see?

Dublin

I was over a few weeks ago and rocked a hibs shirt for a day and a few people recognised the shirt/club. One thing I went to see was Shamrock Rovers ground, didn't see Pat mind you!

At Easter Road we play...

Quote Originally Posted by Iceman1875 View Post
    I was over a few weeks ago and rocked a hibs shirt for a day and a few people recognised the shirt/club. One thing I went to see was Shamrock Rovers ground, didn't see Pat mind you!

At Easter Road we play...
    Think i'm getting to old to be walking around on Holiday, with my wife, wearing a Hibs top, but I do have a cheeky wee black Nike Number with Hibs Badge on it.

First Team Breakthrough hibbypostie's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by Northern Hibby View Post
    Heading off to Dublin tomorrow, as a Hibernian fan is there any place that is a must see?
    I was there a couple of years ago and would defo recommend these

~http://www.tripadvisor.co.uk/Attract...ty_Dublin.html

~http://www.atlasobscura.com/places/st-michans-church

@hibs.net private member Dalianwanda's Avatar
    I'd recommend a trip to Croke Park and the museum..jamieson distillery tour at Smithfield really good..cobblestone in Smithfield for a great pub with best trad in town..Dinnae bother with temple bar, it's crap..have a walk along the canal and turn at portobello..nice bars and restruants going down there to Camden st to Georges st..long haul bar, library bar for something different...Phoenix park is worth a stroll and kilmainham jail well worth a trip

Plenty of great stuff on on Sunday as its a bank holiday....us girls playing at whelans...pitty I'm there but running the marathon Monday so best behaviour required
    Last edited by Dalianwanda; 21-10-2015 at 01:52 PM.

Johnny Foxes

Croke Park was good and so was the Aviva Stadium. The gpo building in oconnell Streets worth a look. Kilmainham jail was good as well. Bus tour is also worthwhile.

Gamertag: sjmcg1304
    Avoid the Temple Bar area if you're going out for a drink - plenty of other great pubs in the city that WON'T rip you off for succumbing to a tourist trap.

Quote Originally Posted by Dalianwanda View Post
    I'd recommend a trip to Croke Park and the museum..jamieson distillery tour at Smithfield really good..cobblestone in Smithfield for a great pub with best trad in town..Dinnae bother with temple bar, it's crap..have a walk along the canal and turn at portobello..nice bars and restruants going down there to Camden st to Georges st..long haul bar, library bar for something different...Phoenix park is worth a stroll and kilmainham jail well worth a trip

Plenty of great stuff on on Sunday as its a bank holiday....us girls playing at whelans...pitty I'm there but running the marathon Monday so best behaviour required
    My Daughter is at UCD so me my Wife and other Daughter, daughters both Gaelic speakers so sure we will be taken to Traditional music spots

Quote Originally Posted by underscore View Post
    Johnny Foxes
    Hope it's better than the 1 in Inverness

What I mean is, is there anything important to us ?

First Team Breakthrough Mathias Jack's Avatar

Gamertag: GazA1875
    The Guinness Factory...obviously!

Quote Originally Posted by Mathias Jack View Post
    Obviously!!

there's a street called either Hibernian st or Hibernia st somewhere just outside the center.

@hibs.net private member overdrive's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by Mathias Jack View Post
    Brewery

It was very good as was the jail.

My Daughter is at UCD so me my Wife and other Daughter, daughters both Gaelic speakers so sure we will be taken to Traditional music spots

Scots or Irish Gaelic? My mother was from Syke but unfortunately I only know a few words...
    "We know the people who have invested so far are simple fans." Vladimir Romanov - Scotsman 10th December 2012
    "Romanov was like a breath of fresh air - laced with cyanide." Me.

Oops thought I'd replied...Yeah Cobblestone is a hidden gem..Tourists there but its a proper session pub rather than done for tourists...Some amazing musicians and a nice buzz about the place..Whe I first moved to Dublin knew no one and lived in the square, was practically my living room ;-)

https://youtu.be/_lFGCgS3dwU

Left by mutual consent! Iggy Pope's Avatar

Can't see my post but if it's been removed I'd still strongly recommend a trip to Kilmainham Jail. It's important to some of us! And you'll find it interesting.

Scottish garlic but she's doing a bit of Irish whilst there, Guinness getting done obviously the jail sounds good, is that where James connelly was shot?

Aye.

Past celtic shop in Jervis shopping centre in Dublin 3 times on 3 different days nota sole inside, very pleasing ;-)

@hibs.net private member Speedy's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by overdrive View Post
    Brewery

It was very good as was the jail.
    Messy night was it...?

Past celtic shop in Jervis shopping centre in Dublin 3 times on 3 different days nota sole inside, very pleasing ;-)
    Never is...Hope you had a great time..I was in Dublin for the marathon on Monday..Horrible weather! Managed a quick pint in Foggy Dew before heading west again..