Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12

Thread: Best hibs goal.

A toss up between Joe McBride Snr against Sellik in 1970 (2-0), Steve Archibald at the PBS (2-1) or Michael O'Neill against Motherwell at ER (2-2).

Alen Orman v Rangers, before they became The Rangers, at Ibrox in 2003.

Think we lost 3-2, but his goal was an absolute belter.

Quote Originally Posted by craigmounthibby View Post
    Alen Orman v Rangers, before they became The Rangers, at Ibrox in 2003.

Think we lost 3-2, but his goal was an absolute belter.
    Game finished 2-2.

[QUOTE=MJN1875;4478416]http://youtu.be/egKPu90S2SU

What about Lewis's goal last season against the boys in blue/

@hibs.net private member Argylehibby's Avatar
    add in Andy Watson at Tannadice many moons ago. Curled into the opposite top corner from out wide

Keith Keith Keith v Pars to seal the cup in Skol Final .. meant so much

@hibs.net private member stantonhibby's Avatar
    Wotherspoon's goal in the cup v them will live long in the memory. Deegan's v Dons in the cup was good too.

First Team Breakthrough Bighoose's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by bernz View Post
    One of the best I've seen wasn't actually a goal. Whittaker with the cross field ball from his own half, and Riordan volleying from outside the box straight into the top corner.

It was chopped off for offside contentiously, and I think would've put us 5 1 up against Dundee, instead we went on to draw 4 4 iirc.

This is mine too.

Right in line with Deek who looked to be a good two yards onside, also the keeper (Speroni??) didnt know it was offside so tried his best but got nowhere near it.

My best goals have already been mentioned so - thread hi-jack:

Best own goal I ever saw was John Blackley at Ibrox, must have been 1973 or 4 when he took the ball of a Rangers player's toe not far from the half way line (no idea what he was doing that far up the park) and the ball never got more than two feet off the ground as it rocketed past Jim MacArthur. That or Roy Bains palming a harmless cross in to his own net v Cowdenbeath at ER, I think it was in a League Cup game

First Team Breakthrough Yuillsy's Avatar
    Not known for his goalscoring but Neil Orr scored an absolute peach against Aberdeen. I was about 9 or 10 and right behind the goals as it curled into the top corner. I'm sure I've seen better since then but that 1 will live long in the memory!!!

My fav ever was Joe T away against Falkirk at Brockville - think we ended up loosing 2-1 - belting goal - only Hibs game my ex misses ever attended and she just moaned about the rain!!😳

I still love Gordon Rae's goal at Dundee Utd, when he broke from inside his own half, and ended up hitting a thunderbolt. It was magical, one of my all time fav's............
    "There's class, there's first class and there's Hibs class" - Eddie Turnbull

Quote Originally Posted by Bronson View Post
    Aye he did, it was runner up for goal of the season behind Nakamura's volley v Rangers IIRC.

Chipped Fraser Forster who was practically on his line from about 20 yards, perfect top corner. Incredible technique, can't find a video on youtube for you unfortunately.
    Those goals were about 2 years apart, must have been a pretty long season

It has to be ..HAS to be Riordan against the cheats at Easter rd, Scored at the hearts end from fully 30 yards out.

Dinnae quite get the Archibald one at Tynie ?? Aye i was there as a wee laddie and can remember the absolute carnage in losing my dad when he scored but his goal really wasnae anything special...Aye it was in the pissin rain at the hibs end and his celebration was cool as a cucumber but the goal ? Ive seen hunners of hibs goals better than that...Infact Riordan has scored about a 100 better goals.

One of my favourites is Mixu's 3rd in the 6-2.

The moment I realised they were about to get a serious hammering.

@hibs.net private member NORTHERNHIBBY's Avatar
    Joe McBride jnr with a free kick to get us a 2-2 midweek at Tynie comes close but doesn't beat Steve Archibald's winner at Tynie with ten men.

Quote Originally Posted by NORTHERNHIBBY View Post
    Joe McBride jnr with a free kick to get us a 2-2 midweek at Tynie comes close but doesn't beat Steve Archibald's winner at Tynie with ten men.
    The night when it absolutely hosed it down from an hour before KO until I made it home - absolutely soaked but carefree after nicking a point.

I only thawed out from that night a few weeks ago.

Quote Originally Posted by HibbyAndy View Post
    It has to be ..HAS to be Riordan against the cheats at Easter rd, Scored at the hearts end from fully 30 yards out.

Dinnae quite get the Archibald one at Tynie ?? Aye i was there as a wee laddie and can remember the absolute carnage in losing my dad when he scored but his goal really wasnae anything special...Aye it was in the pissin rain at the hibs end and his celebration was cool as a cucumber but the goal ? Ive seen hunners of hibs goals better than that...Infact Riordan has scored about a 100 better goals.
    If previous threads on the subject which seem to appear about once a month are anything to go by you won't get much support for that viewpoint HA.

Nearly all my fav Hibs goals have come at ***********. Joe jnr as prev poster. Steve Archigoal, Pat's 5 o'clock goal, John Hazel's diving header and Arthur, Arthur's winner in the same game. The sixth goal in THE game scored (almost) by Pat would have been in there but Rourky nicked on the line. AG's header for No. 7 included if only for Shades tackle.

Quote Originally Posted by MWHIBBIES View Post
    Those goals were about 2 years apart, must have been a pretty long season
    You're quite right, no idea where I got that from

@hibs.net private member Bayern Bru's Avatar
    Chico from behind the halfway line against Alloa in the cup in '97.

No cameras at the game.

Stephen Glass against Aberdeen - cracker

@hibs.net private member Alfred E Newman's Avatar
    Bobby Duncan from 35 yards against Napoli and Pat Quinn's third at Tynie both in 1967.

Quote Originally Posted by Bayern Bru View Post
    Chico from behind the halfway line against Alloa in the cup in '97.

No cameras at the game.

Up the slope as well (cue arguments)

Mcginlay down the slope v Killie was decent too.

Quote Originally Posted by Salamander View Post
    Stephen Glass against Aberdeen - cracker
    Left foot volley over his shoulder? Peach.

Derek Riordan volley at Tynie, Gordon didn't even move. Great technique.

That or wee Russell in the 6-2

Quote Originally Posted by Argylehibby View Post
    add in Andy Watson at Tannadice many moons ago. Curled into the opposite top corner from out wide
    He wouldnt have meant it though.

Gamertag: Iainhfc PSN ID: Iainhfc
    Stokes goal at ibrox goal of the season?

Few sauzee free kicks.

Rougier v motherwell away

Latapy v hearts

Zitelli v dundee bonfire night

@hibs.net private member Northernhibee's Avatar
    Not the best, but was most amused by the reaction of the guy in front of me at this game who shouted "Don't shoot" then went mental for the goal

Do you think your security can keep you in purity, you will not shake us off above or below. Scottish friction, Scottish fiction

Quote Originally Posted by Andy74 View Post
    The Michael O'Neil volley has to be up there.

I think best goal I've seen live from a Hibs player was Jackson for Scotland B at Easter Road.
    This is the one I remember

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=dvgDNxueTtA 2 mins 48s