Ross County -a bigger club than Hearts

Also Hibs valued as the biggest club in Scotland out with the Old Firm

Shows what a good deal HSL is if Hibs are worth £14m and we are getting to buy 50% for £2.5m.
    Get signing up folks. :-)

That's such a simplistic way of valuing football clubs. I haven't seen the full report, but I would be surprised if the authors relied on such a crude method.

Would you really have to pay £14m for Hibs? Would you really only have to pay £1.1 for Hearts?

Sent from my GT-I9505 using Tapatalk

Have they not simply taken the book value published in each club's most recent accounts?

Quote Originally Posted by Peevemor View Post
    Have they not simply taken the book value published in each club's most recent accounts?
    Yup.

If we are talking about a moral and ethical standpoint they are indeed, but then again who isn't? they are maybe last equal with the now defunct Glasgow rangers on that one. It's a shame this sort of headline is doing the rounds as they are normally very sensitive to attacks on their much heralded bigness.

Does it not say - £14m

@hibs.net private member Ringothedog's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by CRAZYHIBBY View Post
    Does it not say - £14m
    No, it is a hyphen. The club's with a minus value have "minus" beside them.

@hibs.net private member erin go bragh's Avatar
    So the list looks like this [Hearts scrape in joint 9th]

Celtic 46.6 m
    The Rangers 31.5
    Hibernian 14.9
    Killie 10.9
    Aberdeen 7.3
    Thistle 4.5
    Ross C 3.5
    St Johnstone 1.8
    Dundee Utd 1.1
    Hearts 1.1
    Well 737,400 k
    ICT 291,800
    Hamilton minus 102,700
    Dundee minus 115 k

SCOTTISH CUP WINNERS 2016

@hibs.net private member Spike Mandela's Avatar
    Hearts...officially THE WEE TEAM.

It appears to be the break up value of the clubs if they ceased trading tomorrow.

Quote Originally Posted by CropleyWasGod View Post
    That's such a simplistic way of valuing football clubs. I haven't seen the full report, but I would be surprised if the authors relied on such a crude method.

Would you really have to pay £14m for Hibs? Would you really only have to pay £1.1 for Hearts?

I've no idea if the figures are right/wrong but it's certainly rattled that 'paper's resident/regular Jambo-posters - as it can indeed be read as this thread's title and that Ross County are BIGGER than them, it's guaranteed to have them all frothing at the mouth as their fixation with 'SIZE' is legendary !!

Quote Originally Posted by Ozyhibby View Post
    It appears to be the break up value of the clubs if they ceased trading tomorrow.

That's what they are, but based on the break-up values at their last published accounting date. In our case, July 2014.

@hibs.net private member Spike Mandela's Avatar
    If recent football administrations prove anything it is that football clubs ar only worth what someone is prepared to pay .............or should that be what people con the creditors into believing is all they would get.for the club and it's assets.

These figures can all be taken with a pinch of salt. All that matters for the majority of Scottish clubs (because in most cases there aren't many (any) players worth millions) is how much they have in the bank (or not) and the value of their property - the stadium in most cases. The valuation of a football stadium is difficult - if you take ER for example, you could say that it's worth £25m, ie. the value of the land + the cost of the stands, however in real terms the land sell-on value is the only thing that counts.

Across the city, our pink neighbours may be showing a positive value, but in reality their stadium could almost be viewed as a liablity given the money that will have to be spent.

Quote Originally Posted by Peevemor View Post
    These figures can all be taken with a pinch of salt. All that matters for the majority of Scottish clubs (because in most cases there aren't many (any) players worth millions) is how much they have in the bank (or not) and the value of their property - the stadium in most cases. The valuation of a football stadium is difficult - if you take ER for example, you could say that it's worth £25m, ie. the value of the land + the cost of the stands, however in real terms the land sell-on value is the only thing that counts.

Across the city, our pink neighbours may be showing a positive value, but in reality their stadium could almost be viewed as a liablity given the money that will have to be spent.
    Bollocks. It's no easy to build an extra 384,000 seats ye ken

Stop giving them it tight just because they drink from puddles, have eyebrows that are far too close together to be natural and talk mair pish than yer average drunken slaverer doon the grassmarket on a Saturday night

A clubs value would probably be more accurately assessed by looking at it the way they do pubs .... a boozers sale value is gauged by its potential or actual turnover rather than what the pubs fittings and fixtures or the building is worth. From that point of view we would probably be the 5th biggest club with potential to be 4th or even 3rd if we got things right on the park on a long term basis.

If the figures are accurate its testament to how well some owners are running their clubs, at least off the park ... how the hell the likes of Killie and St Johnston are not in negative equity with the poor crowds they get is beyond me.

Quote Originally Posted by NAE NOOKIE View Post
    A clubs value would probably be more accurately assessed by looking at it the way they do pubs .... a boozers sale value is gauged by its potential or actual turnover rather than what the pubs fittings and fixtures or the building is worth. From that point of view we would probably be the 5th biggest club with potential to be 4th or even 3rd if we got things right on the park on a long term basis.

If the figures are accurate its testament to how well some owners are running their clubs, at least off the park ... how the hell the likes of Killie and St Johnston are not in negative equity with the poor crowds they get is beyond me.
    I agree, though it depends on the purpose of the valuation.

Quote Originally Posted by NAE NOOKIE View Post

Killie had their debts written off and they hold additional land and businesses.

St Johnstone have a loyal if small band of supporters and have never been in debt. Them and Inverness are probably the best run clubs in Scotland.
    Geoff Brown has run that club superbly. He once said if they were relegated again they would look to going part time as the club always runs to budget.

Quote Originally Posted by AndyM_1875 View Post
    Killie had their debts written off and they hold additional land and businesses.

St Johnstone have a loyal if small band of supporters and have never been in debt. Them and Inverness are probably the best run clubs in Scotland.
    Geoff Brown has run that club superbly. He once said if they were relegated again they would look to going part time as the club always runs to budget.
    Ross County are owned by Roy mcgregor multi millionaire and all round decent man plus county's training facilities are superb and paid for out of mcgregors own pocket.
    lnverNess thistle got handouts from the common good fund totalling 3/4 0f a million pound. County are much better ran .

Talking about the biggest, I wondered if it was the yam or the team formerly known as Glasgow rangers who had the biggest number of creditors that never got paid, and which one it was that admitted to the biggest debt in their own published creditors list?

Totally meaningless figures.

Quote Originally Posted by keekaboo View Post
    Totally meaningless figures.
    They are.

Now that I've read the report, it's clear that it isn't BDO that compiled the so-called ranking, it's the Scotsman themselves.

Quote Originally Posted by Not In The Know View Post
    Some surprising figures in there.............
    "There's class, there's first class and there's Hibs class" - Eddie Turnbull

First Team Breakthrough MJN1875's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by erin go bragh View Post
    So the list looks like this [Hearts scrape in joint 9th]

Celtic 46.6 m
    The Rangers 31.5
    Hibernian 14.9
    Killie 10.9
    Aberdeen 7.3
    Thistle 4.5
    Ross C 3.5
    St Johnstone 1.8
    Dundee Utd 1.1
    Hearts 1.1
    Well 737,400 k
    ICT 291,800
    Hamilton minus 102,700
    Dundee minus 115 k

What are these values based on?

The kilie value surprises me.

Quote Originally Posted by MJN1875 View Post
    What are these values based on?

The kilie value surprises me.
    The latest published accounts. Book value of assets less debts.

First Team Breakthrough MJN1875's Avatar
    The latest published accounts. Book value of assets less debts.

Thanks 👍🏻

@hibs.net private member Bayern Bru's Avatar
    They are.

Now that I've read the report, it's clear that it isn't BDO that compiled the so-called ranking, it's the Scotsman themselves.

Actually, from reading the article, it looks like companycheck.co.uk is where the figures came from?

Quote Originally Posted by Bayern Bru View Post
    Actually, from reading the article, it looks like companycheck.co.uk is where the figures came from?
    Company Check is a commercial site, which gets its data from Companies Houses, where all Limited Companies publish their accounts.

It's the Scotsman that has decided that those figures represent the value of the companies.