Should we have signed Daly

Just watched STV news and reported Raith Rovers signed John Daly, the Raith manager said a big club in their division tried to sign him last night but he shook hands with Raith and kept to his word.

Was it Hibs?

No, we shouldn't have signed him.

Smile

Quote Originally Posted by WestStandMoaner View Post
    Just watched STV news and reported Raith Rovers signed John Daly, the Raith manager said a big club in their division tried to sign him last night but he shook hands with Raith and kept to his word.

Was it Hibs?
    I think it was probably us but I'm glad we didn't get him.He done nothing at rangers and is constantly injured and we have enough of that already.He was a good player in his day though

On BBC news Strachan says that Griffiths refused a loan move to Hibs last year in favour of staying at Parkhead. I remember him opting to work for a place at Parkhead but had forgotten or didn't know about him coming to us.

Was it Hibs?
    Either us or St Mirren.

Apart from Sevco, who obviously didn't try to sign him, we're the only two clubs in the league which a Raith Rovers manager is going to describe as a "big club".

Probably St.Mirren.

Be interesting to read the comments on .Net IF he scores the winner against us when we next play RR

PSN ID: hibee_easty
    Quote Originally Posted by Grumpy Auld Git View Post
    Be interesting to read the comments on .Net IF he scores the winner against us when we next play RR
    Nade did that...I wouldnt have signed him either though.

No, he's awful.

No, we don't need to be any slower - still a no even when he inevitably scores against us for Raith.

@hibs.net private member overdrive's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by Jim44 View Post
    On BBC news Strachan says that Griffiths refused a loan move to Hibs last year in favour of staying at Parkhead. I remember him opting to work for a place at Parkhead but had forgotten or didn't know about him coming to us.
    It happened twice. It was the big Hibs related transfer deadline story. It was said that Hibs had agreed the move with Celtic but then Celtic pulled out at the last minute - I don't think anything was said about Griffiths refusing the move. Then later in the year it was rumoured he would joining one of these "emergency" loans.

Was it Hibs?
    Probably, wish we'd got him a fit Daly is a handfull and would of been a significant improvement on Malonga!

he's garbage and i wouldn't have in my 5 a side team.

Higdon is a better option IMO.

Gamertag: yekim evol
    Proper targetman, capable of winning the ball in the air ... Yeah that is the striker we've needed for a few years now to give us a different dimension of attack; cant believe we have missed out on him.

@hibs.net private member overdrive's Avatar
    Daly would have been decent cover at both centre forward and centre half. Probably nothing more than cover mind you.

Knees of glass and about as pacey as me.

No cheers.

Quote Originally Posted by thebausburst View Post
    Probably, wish we'd got him a fit Daly is a handfull and would of been a significant improvement on Malonga!
    Honestly mate, you were on another thread saying our strikers were inept??? And you want to sign john daly?? Really??

Naw, the main reason being he's pish. The other being he's slower than nade.

**** no.

@hibs.net private member scoopyboy's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by yekimevol View Post
    Proper targetman, capable of winning the ball in the air ... Yeah that is the striker we've needed for a few years now to give us a different dimension of attack; cant believe we have missed out on him.
    A few years ago I would have agreed.

Quote Originally Posted by thebausburst View Post
    Possibly one of the funniest posts on .Net 😂

Daly is horrific and finished! Nothing else really to add.

Quote Originally Posted by Grumpy Auld Git View Post
    We play them on Saturday, two things, Daly won't score winner, We will win.....
    "There's class, there's first class and there's Hibs class" - Eddie Turnbull

Quote Originally Posted by Baldy Foghorn View Post
    We play them on Saturday, two things, Daly won't score winner, We will win.....

It's a simple straight forward no from me If Raith Rovers have signed him ,good luck to them .

St Mirren are desperate for a few players given they have one out of a possible nine points from their start to season .
    I often come on here and moan about Hibs ,but I still turn out to watch them .I can get into St Mirren games for nothing and usually take in a few games a Season and I can Categorically State without any hesitation ,I could not go and watch them regularly ,but I did wear my Hibs top ,and enjoyed watching them beat Hearts in that Cup a Final a few years back . But like a lot of Clubs after winning Finals ,That Team was broken up ,and the Cup run masked thier poor leaugue form that year ,and it got worse and it came as no surprise to me they were relegated last season
    Ian Murray has his work cut out for him ,and the more they loose out on players the more desperate they will be to bring in players to appease the Fans .

When he left Dundee Utd yes....now...no....god no

Surely St Mirren already have Steven Thomson for the "over-age, talented but ultimately too slow" position?

Can't see them being interested, unless they are following the Sevco "Ally's grandad army" recipe that brought them failure via the playoffs last season?

I'd have taken the Untied version of a few years ago in a heartbeat but not this latest version. Past it.

Quote Originally Posted by Thecat23 View Post
    Possibly one of the funniest posts on .Net 😂

Daly is horrific and finished! Nothing else really to add.
    He could be this season's Nade for Raith....

Scotsman reporting that we made a late bid to sign him.

Quote Originally Posted by Iain G View Post
    He could be this season's Nade for Raith....
    Yeah, him scoring 6 goals is a decent bet. Nade was nothing special, just a solid target man for a ***** team.

Daly is a donkey, we have 4 better forwards and 3 better center halfs.