Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 123 LastLast

Thread: Mighty Monarchs

48-42 for Somerset at home tonight, 2nd leg on Sunday.

Gamertag: Eh? PSN ID: No comprendo, senor. Wii Code: What's a Wii?
    Quote Originally Posted by cabbageandribs1875 View Post
    mon the weegies then good for scottish speedway
    Hm. Maybe.

I'm not bothered about 'Scottish' speedway. Or Weegie Speedway. Only Monarchs.

Quote Originally Posted by HUTCHYHIBBY View Post
    48-42 for Somerset at home tonight, 2nd leg on Sunday.
    Looks like Tigers, then. Big crowds and a lot of atmosphere.

The final ties will be Cookie's last races for us - off to Poland next season. If we have the team out in the final that we had last night, and they ride like they did last night, I don't think we need fear anyone.

Aye, If everyone stays fit there's not much to fear.

You don't often see a Hibs man posting THAT!

We were so unlucky with the KO Cup, I SOOOOO want to see us hold on to the Play-offs trophy.

The promoters have done awfy well to continually turn out a quality side under the averages team selection system, I wasnae too worried about The Weegies when the new owners started pumping money into them, its hard to buy a team under the speedway averages system.

Aye, but they got those two new guys in halfway through the season, and they messed us around about the dates for the League Cup Final ...

We don't want the playoffs postponed until after Sammy, Sedge and Erik are away to OZ. Even if we can field guests, the team as last night is the team that can win us the Championship.

Cookie-Monster ROOLs OK!

Glasgow won 49-41 and will face Monarchs in the final.

Gettin an edge on now ....

Thought we might've got some sort of tv coverage for these ties, doesnae look too likely though.

I believe ticket sales for the 2nd leg at Armadale are going through the roof, John Campbell deserves it, along with his loyal band of helpers.

what are the dates for both legs ?

1st leg in Glasgow tonight.
    2nd leg at Armadale tomorrow night.

1st leg in Glasgow tonight.
    2nd leg at Armadale tomorrow night.

ah gracias, as you said above a pity sky don't think these races are worthy of covering, i'm baffled as to why they saw fit to cover the somerset v monarchs league meeting earlier in the season but not the meetings in a a cup final...

Heat 01 2-4
    Heat 02 4-2 6-6
    Heat 03 3-3 9-9
    Heat 04 5-1 14-10
    Heat 05 2-4 16-14 (Branford withdrawn from meeting, arm & hip injuries)
    Heat 06 4-2 20-16
    Heat 07 0-5 20-21 (Every race up to this point has had at least 1 re-run)(Interval being held before the re-run of heat 7 to allow Summers to receive treatment, not too sure that that's very fair. Summers withdrawn from meeting, gone to hospital, no Glasgow rider in heat 7)(Now awaiting replacement ambulance)
    Heat 08 3-3 23-24
    Heat 09 5-1 28-25
    Heat 10 4-2 32-27
    Heat 11 4-2 36-29
    Heat 12 3-3 39-32
    Heat 13 3-3 42-35
    Heat 14 3-3 45-38
    Heat 15 3-3 48-41
    Last edited by HUTCHYHIBBY; 16-10-2015 at 09:24 PM.

tell those monarchs to get their acts together

I'm following it from here, pretty eventful stuff!

7 pts behind going into the 2nd leg, Monarchs to win on aggregate by about 8 pts.

I'm following it from here, pretty eventful stuff!

pretty hopeless in the last 8 heats or did we win most of them but rider 2 was hopeless

Mmmm 4 duck eggs for clegg
    Last edited by cabbageandribs1875; 16-10-2015 at 09:37 PM.

Cook fell whilst 2nd in one of the races and Riss had an engine failure whilst in a similar position.
    8 race winners to 7 in favour of Glasgow.

just noticed that link so i'm dissectiing the events of tonight...hopefully i'l work it out before the tapes go up tomorrow night :)

All to ride for tonight.

PSN ID: Euphoria1875
    Well done Monarchs

58-32 Monarchs... a slaughtering :) 99-80 agg

Im a tad bevvied but, I think there were 14 out of 15 race winners tonight for The Monarchs, if thats wrong its Strongbow's fault!
    Last edited by HUTCHYHIBBY; 17-10-2015 at 11:51 PM.

Im a tad bevvied but, I think there were 14 out of 15 race winners tonight for The Monarchs, if thats wrong its Strongbow's fault!

I think you're right - there were a few 3-3's where our guy won (we obviously came in first in the 4-2's and 5-1's) and I can only remember ONE race where a Tiger came in first.

But truth to tell, the evening's a bit hazy right now; my main memory (sweet, sweet!) is of a sudden exodus of red-scarved Weegies after heat 13. What was Corporal Jones's catchphrase in "Dad's Army" again? Maybe they all had buses to catch?

It's been a magic two years - 2 Championships, 2 League Cups and a KO Cup and some dream racing from Cook and Masters and Sedgman. I thought Wolbert was excellent last night, but Sammy was tops. He rides in the Aussie GP next weekend (on satellite in the wee hours and I've set my box to record it already).

Strange, I didn't really mind losing the KO to Somerset - wanted to win it but you can't win 'em all - but I am SO SO HAPPY the guys stuffed the Tigers.

Those new owners of theirs are acting as if they own the sport ...

... but wait, it's Glasgow, so no change there, then.

That's been on the cards for a few months now. He was talking about going to Poland, but I'd guess it's more likely that he'll end up in the Elite League. We'll need to shed at least one of the top four next season anyway because of the rankings. Sam, Sedge, Kevin, Erik - not too bad a start for next year's line-up.

But we've been spoiled these past two years - Top of the table two years running, 2 Championship Playoff wins, a KO Cup, 2 League Cups, the Pairs last season and the Fours this ...

How so dissimilar to the home life of our own dear Hibees ....

Just so long as they don't let the Tigers race on the Fridays in direct competition to us.

I can only compare Craig Cook to Les Collins from the time I used to go all the time to Powderhall and numerous away meetings and would imagine that John Campbell will do everything in his power to ensure Cook is there next season. The only problem is Les was approaching the end of his career having reached the heady heights of World No.2 and Cookie is just setting out relatively speaking.

Quote Originally Posted by Doddie View Post

Just so long as they don't let the Tigers race on the Fridays in direct competition to us.
    Doddie - see in the old Powderhall days when I went (Bobby Beaton then Les Collins days) did Glasgow race on a Friday as well?

I was sure they raced on the same night?

Gamertag: stevenl049 PSN ID: stevenl049
    Easily, the best speedway related night of my life. If anyone has Facebook, the Monarchs Facebook page has some tremendous videos from throughout the night including one which Justin Sedgmens mechanic stuck a go pro on just before the championship winning heat. To say we all went ballistic is an understatement.

Videos like that are always good to look back on I reckon.