Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12
    Quote Originally Posted by SuperAllyMcleod View Post
    I couldn't agree more. Cosgrove has lots of experience in programme making and is not an Old Firm fan so he was a great choice for this one.
    I was never a huge fan of Cosgrove but he won me over during the Rangers liquidation fiasco. He was scathing in his assessment of how out of touch the sports media in this country were and seemed to genuinely have some understanding of the modern football fan.

Since then whist I've not always agreed with him but I've always listened to what he has to say.

I was never a huge fan of Cosgrove but he won me over during the Rangers liquidation fiasco. He was scathing in his assessment of how out of touch the sports media in this country were and seemed to genuinely have some understanding of the modern football fan.

Since then whist I've not always agreed with him but I've always listened to what he has to say.
    Yep, he has similar views on Hearts and any other club that overspends. He's never afraid to put his opinion of the ugly sisters forward either - always worth listening to.

@hibs.net private member scoopyboy's Avatar
    What was the BBC programme called before it was Sportscene?

Cannae mind for the life of me.

Quote Originally Posted by scoopyboy View Post

Sportsreel?

Quote Originally Posted by scoopyboy View Post

Scotsport?

Quote Originally Posted by oneone73 View Post
    Sportsreel?
    That's the fellow.

Quote Originally Posted by SaulGoodman View Post
    Scotsport?
    That was STV.
    Mature, sensible signature required for responsible position. Good prospects for the right candidate. Apply within.

Quote Originally Posted by SaulGoodman View Post
    Scotsport?
    That was the STV show.

It's on the BBC iPlayer if anybody is interested.

I'm watching later.

@hibs.net private member Golden Bear's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by oneone73 View Post
    Sportsreel?

40 Years of Sportscene.............. sounds like a life sentence with no chance of parole.

@hibs.net private member BroxburnHibee's Avatar

Gamertag: CoolHibeesdaft PSN ID: Hibeesdaft
    Quote Originally Posted by iwasthere1972 View Post
    It's on the BBC iPlayer if anybody is interested.

I'm watching later.
    Aye I watched it from there earlier.

I remember in the 70's there was a 'Scoreboard' programme after the games early evening before Dr Who were they had reports from each game.

Funny to think how far the game and technologies have evolved.
    Life should NOT be a journey to the grave with the intention of arriving safely in an attractive and well preserved body, but rather to skid in sideways, chocolate in one hand, vodka in the other, body thoroughly used up, totally worn out and screaming, "WOO HOO what a ride!"

Gamertag: TheBull1875
    Quote Originally Posted by Bishop Hibee View Post
    Good programme. I really wish the BBC would make all the footage they have available to fans. Every club will have goals and action rarely seen.
    Said on off the ball on the way home that when a tvstation wins the rights to show matches it also wins the archives.Find it pretty strange to be honest.Some of the old archive stuff would be great to see.

Quote Originally Posted by BroxburnHibee View Post
    Aye I watched it from there earlier.

I remember in the 70's there was a 'Scoreboard' programme after the games early evening before Dr Who were they had reports from each game.

Funny to think how far the game and technologies have evolved.

Remember that. Alistair Alexander, Brian Marjoribanks and Alistair Dewar who did the Edinburgh games.

I am old

Quote Originally Posted by Hamish View Post
    Remember that. Alistair Alexander, Brian Marjoribanks and Alistair Dewar who did the Edinburgh games.

I am old
    I saw Marjoribanks score a nice goal against Hearts so I must be even older.

It was always a dreich day at Easter Road when Alistair ( dour) Dewar reported on Hibs. Also mind a character called Sandy McLeish who was a wee bit chirpier than Dewar and Gordon Hewitt.
    Last edited by James70; 02-08-2015 at 05:53 PM.

Quote Originally Posted by Supermac View Post
    It was always a dreich day at Easter Road when Alistair ( dour) Dewar reported on Hibs. Also mind a character called Sandy McLeish who was a wee bit chirpier than Dewar and Gordon Hewitt.
    And there was a guy with massive specs called Fraser Elder. Think he was the Dundee rep. Alistair Dewar was one of the most miserable characters I've ever seen on the telly.

Quote Originally Posted by tamig View Post
    And there was a guy with massive specs called Fraser Elder. Think he was the Dundee rep. Alistair Dewar was one of the most miserable characters I've ever seen on the telly.
    Fraser Elder reminded me of "Brains" from Thunderbirds.

Quote Originally Posted by ancient hibee View Post
    I saw Marjoribanks score a nice goal against Hearts so I must be even older.

Aye I remember my grandad talking about that☺

40 years and it's still pish..

It was a better show than i expected but could have shown more grief stuff. Sunshine on leith at hampden,super caley go ballistic etc. Still too focused on the gruesome awesome and apart from pat nevin and Michae Stewart pundits are naff.

@hibs.net private member superfurryhibby's Avatar
    Watched it on player last night. Pretty enjoyable, but could also have been better. Perhaps needed a bit more of football included. I would have liked to have seen a few more archive clips from memorable games.

My 12 year old laddie laughed out loud when he saw Archie McPherson's attempted comb-over, WTF was auld ginger nuts thinking? Dougie Donnelly's moustache was also pretty

As someone has already said. I would live to see a retro series of highlights from a given season. It's been done with MOTD and I reckon it would go down nice up here. Question is, what did the Beeb do with the archives?

Finally watched this and enjoyed it a lot.

Could have done with a bit more football footage though imo. ITV 4 used to show The Big Match Revisited on a Sunday morning and it would be good if either the BBC or Sky could do something similar with Scottish football. There's some great old footage on YouTube and seeing it presented in a proper show would be superb.