@hibs.net private member Golden Bear's Avatar

40 years of Sportscene

Ok, twenty minutes afore the program starts, I'll start the ball rollinig by accusing them of blatent Old Firm bias. It's a disgrace I tell ye!

Quote Originally Posted by Golden Bear View Post
    Ok, twenty minutes afore the program starts, I'll start the ball rollinig by accusing them of blatent Old Firm bias. It's a disgrace I tell ye!
    I love Albert Kidd

@hibs.net private member Oscar T Grouch's Avatar
    It's no that bad, nice wee bit about greeting jambos 😂

Only two things are infinite, the universe and human stupidity, and I'm not sure about the former.

@hibs.net private member Bishop Hibee's Avatar
    Nice wee clip of a banana thrown at Mark Walters at Tiny. Hertz ****.
    "Washing one's hands of the conflict between the powerful and the powerless means to side with the powerful, not to be neutral.' - Paulo Freire

Albert Kidd rules ok! They've already highlighted his famous goal so all is forgiven!

It"s got the makings of being very entertaining - so far, so good.

I'm enjoying this already, just turned it over and they're showing the Hearts implosion from 1986.

Pleasing.

I'm recording this and actually quite looking forward to it.

Sport scene used to be a good show, early 90s, decent highlights of all the Scottish games and a couple of MOTD games tagged onto the end.

Hearts came out of the last few minutes well. 😂

Aberdeen's championship win at Easter Road. I was there that day and remember standing on the open terracing and clapping the Dons on their victory as it brought about a welcome change from the Old Firm.

Well have to say a well balanced program, enjoyed it.

@hibs.net private member Bishop Hibee's Avatar
    Good programme. I really wish the BBC would make all the footage they have available to fans. Every club will have goals and action rarely seen.
    "Washing one's hands of the conflict between the powerful and the powerless means to side with the powerful, not to be neutral.' - Paulo Freire

Quote Originally Posted by Lago View Post
    Well have to say a well balanced program, enjoyed it.
    Yip. A tongue in cheek remark but I thoroughly enjoyed the programme.

Well seeing it was written by a fan of a provincial team, Stuart Cosgrove (no offence intended). It was fair, gave most teams a decent hearing and didn't shy away from stories like the 1980 cup final riot, 1986, coming up short in the World Cup, etc. Gordon Rae and Sir Patrick got a mention and there was even a clip of us laughing about our lack of success in a certain competition Fair enjoyed it

Quote Originally Posted by FranckSuzy View Post
    Well seeing it was written by a fan of a provincial team, Stuart Cosgrove (no offence intended). It was fair, gave most teams a decent hearing and didn't shy away from stories like the 1980 cup final riot, 1986, coming up short in the World Cup, etc. Gordon Rae and Sir Patrick got a mention and there was even a clip of us laughing about our lack of success in a certain competition Fair enjoyed it
    Every team apart from ourselves and hearts are provincial tbf.

Yip - provincial means outwiith the Capital so in reality the ugly sisters are provincial teams.

Quote Originally Posted by Antwerphibs View Post
    Every team apart from ourselves and hearts are provincial tbf.
    True, that is one definition but the another is, "characteristic of people from the provinces; not fashionable or sophisticated".

Cannae possibly refer to us dudes then! (nae laughing smiley available frae phone)

< type ':' then 'greengrin' (no space between) then ':' on a phone or ':' 'aok' (no space again) then ':' for

Anyway, this is not a grammar thread, it's about expressing surprise at an enjoyable programme from the BBC that featured Hibs < ':' 'tee(space)hee' then ':' (no space)
    Last edited by FranckSuzy; 02-08-2015 at 08:31 AM. Reason: : tee hee :

< type ':' then 'greengrin' (no space between) on a phone or ':' 'aok' (no space again) for

Anyway, this is not a grammar thread, it's about expressing surprise at an enjoyable programme from the BBC that featured Hibs < ':' 'tee hee' (no space).
    Aye I'll suss that reply oot the morn (maybe!)

I've made an erse of it so will edit it just in case < ':' (no space) 'blushie' then ':'

Or maybies Tesco Special Reserve whisky is by now effecting my normally perfect judgement. But really I'm just pissed. ( no pissed smiley available from phone)

Not for me

Why should we celebrating 40 years of absolute crap football coverage. When I seen Archie(better together) Mcperhson that was final straw. Switched over to see stv sat night top bill Queens best songs I gave up and took dog for his annual walk. C'mon the Hibs

Last edited by Northern Hibby; 02-08-2015 at 01:10 AM.

: tee hee

No working 😞

Really enjoyed it, are there more shows to follow that one?

I couldn't agree more. Cosgrove has lots of experience in programme making and is not an Old Firm fan so he was a great choice for this one.

@hibs.net private member NORTHERNHIBBY's Avatar
    Just watched it. Good mix of nostalgia and facts and for me at least devoid of any judgement of why the game in our country is where it is now. Not a criticism, more of an acknowledgement that this was not in the scope.