Page 9 of 85 FirstFirst ... 78910111959 ... LastLast
    For those my side of town,new indian restaurant coming soon at Blackhall on the site of the old Suburban Pantry.

reigning hibs.net poker champion Wembley67's Avatar

Gamertag: Happyhibs62
    Quote Originally Posted by Scouse Hibee View Post
    For those my side of town,new indian restaurant coming soon at Blackhall on the site of the old Suburban Pantry.
    Quite sad the Pantry closed down.
    "You opened the box....and your soul belongs to me...."

Quote Originally Posted by Wembley67 View Post
    Quite sad the Pantry closed down.
    I know the owner Martin he still has the food franchise in Tiles. A good guy and decent chef.

reigning hibs.net poker champion Wembley67's Avatar

Gamertag: Happyhibs62
    I know the owner Martin he still has the food franchise in Tiles. A good guy and decent chef.
    I don't know him personally but I grew up with his wife, nice lassie. Always nice to see a local taking an interest in the area. I don't really think another Indian is going to do very well there.
    "You opened the box....and your soul belongs to me...."

Blackwood's tonight at Nira Caledonia, anyone been? Don't normally go out for steak but this place has a josper grill and supposed to be one of the best steaks in Edinburgh so making an exception.

Was very good, excellent Rib Eye Steak cooked to perfection on josper grill, duck terrine with pickled mushrooms a great starter. Will definitely be returning.

@hibs.net private member alhibby's Avatar
    Tried Tony Singhs new offering in the Apex at the grassmarket. Total rubbish, talk about someone not really giving a **** about what they put their name too. Poor service,raw chicken wings, bland fishballs, burnt haggis pakora, and the rest. The menu sounds so inviting too "fusion food" my erse.
    Went to this last year, it was awful then as well,

Quote Originally Posted by alhibby View Post
    Went to this last year, it was awful then as well,
    Having read the review of his similar set up in the Glasgow casino it seems it's awful everywhere.

Rip Off Britain (BBC1) have just done a thing on the food hygiene notices you see in the windows of eating places. It wasn't good viewing.

So I looked up the Food Standards website for my regular haunts. Just been on the Beeb so obviously the site has crashed. So then I thought they might have an app. They don't but there's a few to choose from.

Well I'm scunnered. I set it at 5 miles from my house which is quite close to Easter Road stadium, under 10 minutes walk.

There are 2,600 eating places in that area.

More than 600 (six flipping hundred) are noted "Improvement Required".

There's a fair few have been mentioned here as being worthy of visits.

There's an amazing number of well known places you'd think don't have the notice in the window because they're too up market to consider demeaning themselves.

Some national, even international chains!

Some quite new places.

Most worrying. A high number of places I frequent!

Both Edinburgh fitba clubs passed, only half surprised at that ;-)

https://play.google.com/store/apps/details?id=com.sotd.foodhygiene
    Last edited by Jack; 25-04-2016 at 10:34 AM.

@hibs.net private member Moulin Yarns's Avatar
    Had a bar meal at Teuchter's in Leith on Saturday night, fairly good, and very popular bar. Wouldn't mind it as my local.
    There is no such thing as too much yarn, just not enough time.

@hibs.net private member Mr White's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by Golden Fleece View Post
    Had a bar meal at Teuchter's in Leith on Saturday night, fairly good, and very popular bar. Wouldn't mind it as my local.
    fantastic boozer. Ticks every aspect i look for in a pub: good beer and whisky selection, dog & child friendly, good food and a variety of different areas to sit including a good beer garden.

Had a pizza at vin caffee earlier. Excellent pizza made using quality ingredients.
    Last edited by adhibs; 25-04-2016 at 08:15 PM.

Quote Originally Posted by Jack View Post
    Rip Off Britain (BBC1) have just done a thing on the food hygiene notices you see in the windows of eating places. It wasn't good viewing.

So I looked up the Food Standards website for my regular haunts. Just been on the Beeb so obviously the site has crashed. So then I thought they might have an app. They don't but there's a few to choose from.

Well I'm scunnered. I set it at 5 miles from my house which is quite close to Easter Road stadium, under 10 minutes walk.

There's an amazing number of well known places you'd think don't have the notice in the window because they're too up market to consider demeaning themselves.

Some quite new places.

https://play.google.com/store/apps/details?id=com.sotd.foodhygiene
    The thing you have to remember us that unlike the system in England were you are rated between 1-5 in Scotland there is no middle ground. Improvement required does not always mean poor hygiene,it can be for incomplete record keeping and other slight faults.

@hibs.net private member sleeping giant's Avatar
    Just been to Prezzo in Buckingham . One of my colleagues ordered some kind of chilli chicken pizza. I noticed that they had a low calorie option of the very same pizza so , being health conscious , I ordered that .
    I was amazed when it was served and he had a full round pizza and I was was served half a pizza with 2 small tomatoes and a lettuce leaf
    The kicker is that the half pizza was more expensive than the glorious looking full pizza.
    Starvin
    No Eternal Reward Shall Forgive Us Now For Wasting The Dawn

@hibs.net private member Frazerbob's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by Jack View Post

Some quite new places.

https://play.google.com/store/apps/d...td.foodhygiene
    Improvement Required could be something really small such as paper towels not being located near enough to the hand wash sink or the wrong type of sanitser or soap being used. They will then get a follow-up visit, usually within 6 weeks, by which time the improvements will have been made. Any serious improvement will have to be done within a shorter, agreed length of time. Don't panic!

I've booked this for end of May, looking forward to it.

Had brunch in the Roseleaf in Leith today. Excellent as always.

Not everyones cup of tea I'd wager but the food is decent and reasonable.

Was at a winemakers dinner at DiVino this week,5 courses matched with wines,excellent value.The next one is in May with food and wines from Tuscany.

@hibs.net private member hibee_girl's Avatar
    Going to Khublai Khans in leith tomorrow night, last time as its closing soon. Gutted!

Quote Originally Posted by hibee_girl View Post
    Going to Khublai Khans in leith tomorrow night, last time as its closing soon. Gutted!
    It's closing? Was planning to go there next month with a group.

@hibs.net private member hibee_girl's Avatar
    It's closing? Was planning to go there next month with a group.
    Yep, closing on may 15th

@hibs.net private member hibbybob's Avatar
    Finally got round to going to Tuk Tuk in Leven Street.

It's basically Indian tapas and very nice. The food was good quality, staff very attentive and the big bonus was it's BYOB without a corkage charge.

Will definitely go back.

Promising Youngster
    Just back from the Raj restaurant in blackhall and food was tremendous, will definitely be my local Indian now.

Quote Originally Posted by Ajo View Post
    Just back from the Raj restaurant in blackhall and food was tremendous, will definitely be my local Indian now.
    Used to like the Raj when it was in Leith,was pleased to see he has opened in my end of town,will try soon.

Went to Steak at Picardy Place last night. Thought my steak was a bit average compared to other steak restaurants ok but nothing special.

Was in The George St Bar & Grill yesterday for Sunday Roast & it was well worth the trip. Best roast dinner in a good while.
    Chocolate fondant desert is a treat !!

In town for a family get-together so going to Kanpai Sushi in Grindlay Street on Saturday night. My two like Jap grub and we used to enjoy Izzies previously of Lothian Road.

I've no idea why I've been oblivious to this before now, however, went to The Terrace yesterday lunchtime at West Lothian college. It is for training the student chefs and waiting staff in a real environment.

The food and service was really good quality and the best bit is the three course meal, with coffee and a bottle of wine, for two was £19 total!!

Quote Originally Posted by Andy74 View Post
    I've no idea why I've been oblivious to this before now, however, went to The Terrace yesterday lunchtime at West Lothian college. It is for training the student chefs and waiting staff in a real environment.

The food and service was really good quality and the best bit is the three course meal, with coffee and a bottle of wine, for two was £19 total!!
    Is it open to the general public all of the time?

Went her on a Friday night a few months back now, the food was very good and great value.

Now rated No 1 in Livingston on Trip Advisor

Opening details below

Open for evening dinner on Thursday and Friday nights - Table bookings from 6.30pm- 7pm (Fully booked until the end of term - June 2016)

Lunch is available every week Tuesday, Wednesday and Thursday - Table bookings at 12.15pm.

Summer term break: The terrace restaurant is
    CLOSED from Friday 10 June – Friday 9 September

http://www.west-lothian.ac.uk/about-...restaurant#_=_