Page 3 of 7 FirstFirst 12345 ... LastLast
    Quote Originally Posted by lucky View Post
    Because it's a crappy wee cup that is off no interest.
    Mr Stubbs doesn't agree with you thankfully
    "There's class, there's first class and there's Hibs class" - Eddie Turnbull

Quote Originally Posted by .Sean. View Post
    Take it it's still a 'Nothing tie', 'diddy cup', 'play the kids' scenario and those trotting out they lines won't be going, aye?

**** the Rangers
    Aye.

Quote Originally Posted by Bring_Back_Franck View Post
    Aye.
    Really ? This is a chance for us to stick it to them early doors. Chance to lift our confidence and dent theirs.

@hibs.net private member .Sean.'s Avatar
    Aye.
    If you're being a wideo its going right over my head and if not can I ask why?

First competitive game in weeks, at home against that lot? Personally I cannot wait.
    ''It's always been just part of the culture. Growing up, for most working-class kids, is all about football, music or clothes. You might not have much money, but whatever you have got, you're going to look good.'' - Paul Weller

First competitive game in weeks, at home against that lot? Personally I cannot wait.
    Me neither. If we were playing them blow football I would still be there.

A cup is a cup and it's not as if we don't have the space in our cabinet.

Quote Originally Posted by andrew70 View Post
    Can almost guarantee we'll play them in the midweek after.

Hearts host Everton on same day so can't see the police letting us play the Huns.
    Dont think anyway we will be playing the same day as Hearts Everton. One will be moved prob to the Sunday.

I'm still of the opinion that this competition should be very low on the list of priorities for Hibs but this will be a very good warm-up for the season, so we should play our first choice 11.

Given the draw, we should also get the bonus of a wee bit extra cash.

Not being a wideo, to me the opposition makes no difference. It's still a p1shy competition and I still couldn't care less if we won it by scoring 7 in the final. It'd still be the challenge cup.

There is a chance that games in this competition could impact on our results in the league, and as such I don't think we should be risking any first team regulars.

Not being a wideo, to me the opposition makes no difference. It's still a p1shy competition and I still couldn't care less if we won it by scoring 7 in the final. It'd still be the challenge cup.

There is a chance that games in this competition could impact on our results in the league, and as such I don't think we should be risking any first team regulars.
    even pre-season?

Quote Originally Posted by ALF TUPPER View Post
    Good shout danger mouse 
    Thanks Alf.

A good competitive tie to get the season started and get one over on them early. We have nothing to fear when Der Hun come calling anymore.

@hibs.net private member .Sean.'s Avatar

Well we're in this pishy cup 'on merit' you could say so how pish does that make us??
    ''It's always been just part of the culture. Growing up, for most working-class kids, is all about football, music or clothes. You might not have much money, but whatever you have got, you're going to look good.'' - Paul Weller

Quote Originally Posted by dangermouse View Post
    Thanks Alf.

A good competitive tie to get the season started and get one over on them early. We have nothing to fear when Der Hun come calling anymore.
    I'm confident that we'll do them 😊 #GGTTH

@hibs.net private member Mr White's Avatar
    Lets set down an early marker and keep them in our pocket at least 5 times this season.

Well we're in this pishy cup 'on merit' you could say so how pish does that make us??
    I agree that we deserve to be where we are. Where I disagree is that we should risk any first team players whatsoever playing in this competition when promotion is absolutely vital.

This is probably the first and hopefully the last time i'll say this, but we should do what Hearts did last season and play the kids and concentrate on the league.

Admittedly it takes on a new dimension now. Full strength team against sevco and treat it like a serious game. Kids after we beat them though.

I agree that we deserve to be where we are. Where I disagree is that we should risk any first team players whatsoever playing in this competition when promotion is absolutely vital.

This is probably the first and hopefully the last time i'll say this, but we should do what Hearts did last season and play the kids and concentrate on the league.
    I'd agree with this. Rangers will definately be fired up for this and the last thing we need is getting an injury to a Allan or a Fontaine before the leage has event started.

The Petrofact cup means absolutely nothing and I could not care less if we got knocked out early.

@hibs.net private member California-Hibs's Avatar

PSN ID: BringTheCairds
    Quote Originally Posted by andrew70 View Post
    Can almost guarantee we'll play them in the midweek after.

Hearts host Everton on same day so can't see the police letting us play the Huns.
    How the heck are Hearts playing Everton at home and we have Stubbs with all his connections...yet we get pishy away low league friendlies. Bizarre.

Servco (11) Scotland Ltd.

I can see where Bring Back Frank and others are coming from, it is a diddy cup, but I remember this fixture last season and we were all over them and should've won that one as well, until a disgraceful decision for Handling's sending off. Dunno how I feel about this, I'm not frightened of playing Sevco at any time, and I don't think they'll be looking forward to the fixture either, but I live in the west and work evenings, so if it's a rearranged midweek game I won't be able to go anyway.

Quote Originally Posted by Hibiza View Post
    Servco (11) Scotland Ltd.
    Is this a crossword clue?

Quote Originally Posted by Arthur Spooner View Post
    Is this a crossword clue?
    and the answer is 5 letters starting with a c and ending in an s

Quote Originally Posted by PatHead View Post
    and the answer is 5 letters starting with a c and ending in an s
    You got that right.

A post from the rangers media confirms it.
    GOAT

• HALF-TIME, TEA-TIME, BOW-TIME!
    • Club Legend
    • 23,220 posts

Posted Today, 01:10 PM
    Sket, on 29 Jun 2015 - 3:08 PM, said:
    Hope to **** we tell them to ram their tickets up their ****ing arse btw.
    Lets hope we don't, and lets hope we sell the away end out as usual and get tore into the *******s on and off the pitch.

I agree mate.we deserve no better so we should be treating every competition with respect until we earn the right not to be in it

It's just been pointed out to me that, after this season, we will have played the Rangers at least 12 times in two years. It's like we are the butt of some sort of sick joke after the two previous years of (relative) bliss without their presence.

Quote Originally Posted by Arthur Spooner View Post
    You got that right.

A post from the rangers media confirms it.
    GOAT

• HALF-TIME, TEA-TIME, BOW-TIME!
    • Club Legend
    • 23,220 posts

Posted Today, 01:10 PM
    Sket, on 29 Jun 2015 - 3:08 PM, said:
    Hope to **** we tell them to ram their tickets up their ****ing arse btw.
    Lets hope we don't, and lets hope we sell the away end out as usual and get tore into the *******s on and off the pitch.

Quote Originally Posted by SunnyLeith View Post
    I'd agree with this. Rangers will definately be fired up for this and the last thing we need is getting an injury to a Allan or a Fontaine before the leage has event started.

The Petrofact cup means absolutely nothing and I could not care less if we got knocked out early.
    This game against Rangers is ideal preparation for the league.

A proper competitive game in a decent atmosphere. The players will get much more out of it than playing a friendly.

Quote Originally Posted by B.H.F.C View Post
    This game against Rangers is ideal preparation for the league.

A proper competitive game in a decent atmosphere. The players will get much more out of it than playing a friendly.
    One of the 2 top teams in the competition will be knocked out in round 1, wonder who it will benefit in the long run, the winners or the losers

Diddy cup that the youngsters should be played to gain experience but seeing it's the New team, a full strength team should be put out to hammer them and gain a psychological advantage for the rest of the season, bring it on.

Quote Originally Posted by Billy Whizz View Post
    One of the 2 top teams in the competition will be knocked out in round 1, wonder who it will benefit in the long run, the winners or the losers
    I'd use it as part of pre season to get the first team properly fit. They'll get so much more benefit from this game than from any friendly. I wonder if this was Stubbs plan regardless of the draw given we aren't exactly overloaded with friendlies?

If we progress, I'd use it to get players a game that need it.

Hearts are playing Everton the same day so maybe the Hibs game will get moved to the Sunday?