Greetings From...

As many if us will now be going on our Holidays, I thought we could have a thread for sending back greetings to our fellow Hibbies.

So, where are you all going? Add a wee post below, maybe even a photo or two

I'll get us started....

Greetings From Immenstaad on Lake Constance (Bodensee). Weather mixed but enjoying being away just the same. So far visited the Zeppelin and Dornier Flight Museums in Friedrichshafen and been on the ferry to Konstanz.

Sunny Sandhead. Greetings

MA GARDEN.jpg

Private Members Prediction League Winner Hibrandenburg's Avatar
    All inclusive in tenerife for a fortnight. Just like the last 3 years.Normally head for the hills instead of the beach but the all inclusive option with entertainment for mini-me makes for an easy time and hassle free.

Also having an extended camping/canoeing weekend on the Mecklenburgischen Lake District in a few weeks with the boy and some mates.

Skiing in the French Savoy is also on the cards in February. Normally hire a chalet but might opt for an all inclusive hotel, again because of the wee man.

Coming back to Edinburgh probably doesn't count as a holiday but it always feels like it and I try and fit that in 3-4 times a year.

I only work part time so I do have the odd extended weekend on the Med in winter just to keep the cold out of my old bones.

Having read through that again, mibbes I should spend more time at home for a real holiday

Quote Originally Posted by keekaboo View Post
    As many if us will now be going on our Holidays, I thought we could have a thread for sending back greetings to our fellow Hibbies.

So, where are you all going? Add a wee post below, maybe even a photo or two

I'll get us started....

Greetings From Immenstaad on Lake Constance (Bodensee). Weather mixed but enjoying being away just the same. So far visited the Zeppelin and Dornier Flight Museums in Friedrichshafen and been on the ferry to Konstanz.

Nice but pricy?

Quote Originally Posted by <3Morrissey View Post
    Sunny Sandhead. Greetings

MA GARDEN.jpg
    Looks nice mate.

@hibs.net private member HiBremian's Avatar

Greetings From...

Our bolthole in the south of France. These dark clouds brought thunderstorms that knocked out the internet for over a week but, hey, that's rural France. Strictly speaking not just a holiday - I do a lot of my editing here - but magic all the same. Could be a great base for the Euros next year too ;-)

Quote Originally Posted by atomheartfather View Post

Our bolthole in the south of France. These dark clouds brought thunderstorms that knocked out the internet for over a week but, hey, that's rural France. Strictly speaking not just a holiday - I do a lot of my editing here - but magic all the same. Could be a great base for the Euros next year too ;-)

You lucky man Richard. Good food, decent wine and clement weather. I'm sure your companionship is top notch too

Our bolthole is on hold due to a recent battering of the bank account.

@hibs.net private member HiBremian's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by Hibrandenburg View Post
    You lucky man Richard. Good food, decent wine and clement weather. I'm sure your companionship is top notch too

Our bolthole is on hold due to a recent battering of the bank account.
    Not just decent wine but decent organic wine from lots of wee producers all around us :-) You and yours always welcome here if you fancy a break that won't batter the bank account, Paul! Just need to coordinate dates when we're here.

Goleniow in Western Poland - currently being stuffed full of food (breakfast had three courses) and being treated like royalty by my girlfriend's family. No-one has heard of Zibby Malkowski.
    Last edited by steakbake; 20-06-2015 at 10:43 PM.

image.jpg
    Greetings from Playa Blanca in Lanzarote. It's going to be 29C today.

United we stand here....

Nice but pricy?

Actually, we got a really good late booking in a Chalet in Immenstaad. There's no way we could have afforded to stay in either Fiedrichshafen or Konstanz, as they wanted crazy money.

As you have mini-me, this place would be ideal, as it really centres around keeping kids entertained.

Wee Chalet, with room for the brat.... ehm, I mean Paul Junior ;-)

ferienwohnpark_in_immenstaad.jpg

Quote Originally Posted by steakbake View Post
    Goleniow in Western Poland - currently being stuffed full of food (breakfast had three courses) and being treated like royalty by my girlfriend's family. No-one has heard of Zibby Malkowski.

Uneducated peasants!

Quote Originally Posted by keekaboo View Post
    Actually, we got a really good late booking in a Chalet in Immenstaad. There's no way we could have afforded to stay in either Fiedrichshafen or Konstanz, as they wanted crazy money.

As you have mini-me, this place would be ideal, as it really centres around keeping kids entertained.

Wee Chalet, with room for the brat.... ehm, I mean Paul Junior ;-)

ferienwohnpark_in_immenstaad.jpg
    That looks really nice Keith, peace and tranquillity with a wee bit of hiking and culture thrown in for good measure is the perfect holiday. Before mini-me came along we used to rent a wee chalet on a Norwegian fjord with boat every year. I grew to love Norway during my time in the army and was seriously considering moving there. That sort of thing is only an option again when the boy is old enough to amuse himself.

Quote Originally Posted by lord bunberry View Post
    image.jpg
    Greetings from Playa Blanca in Lanzarote. It's going to be 29C today.
    Nice, 5 weeks and I'll be across the water from there. Enjoy!

Quote Originally Posted by atomheartfather View Post
    Not just decent wine but decent organic wine from lots of wee producers all around us :-) You and yours always welcome here if you fancy a break that won't batter the bank account, Paul! Just need to coordinate dates when we're here.

Don't be surprised if we do!

Quote Originally Posted by steakbake View Post
    Love Polish scran!

Looks nice mate.
    Thank you, that's me in front of my Garlic bed. I probably have enough to supply everyone on Hibs.net!

Nice, 5 weeks and I'll be across the water from there. Enjoy!
    I've never been to Tenerife, I can't ever seem to find a flight that suits us. I've been coming to this hotel for 4 years now and its nice when you arrive and people remember us(and give us a free room upgrade)

United we stand here....

Greetings fromy the sunny shores of Lake Zürich. My big holiday of the year is done , 2 weeks in Colombia back in May.

Not away just yet, the wife and I are off to Holland in September along with my folks, first time away in 2 years, can't wait

Last night was midsummer night here and they had a mini festival to celebrate, it was great they had all sorts of traditional food and drink that I've never tried before including some drink that was hot and made from the leftover from wine production, I've never tasted anything like it, but I couldn't stop drinking it.

United we stand here....

@hibs.net private member sleeping giant's Avatar
    Ola from Lanzarote . Absolutely loving it here.
    No Eternal Reward Shall Forgive Us Now For Wasting The Dawn

Only been back for a week !!
    How I miss Sunny Turkey.
    Roll on September......

Up at this bloody time for my flight back home, 2 weeks flew in.

@hibs.net private member I'm_cabbaged's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by sleeping giant View Post
    Ola from Lanzarote . Absolutely loving it here.
    Where in lanzarote? In Puerto del carmen just now, boiling today 😀

Just back yesterday after two weeks in Vilamoura.

Beautiful weather, at least 30 degrees every day and a couple of days even saw the temperatures in the high 30s.

Back for five minutes at Edinburgh airport yesterday afternoon and it was chucking it down.

Back to reality today and working at 9am this morning.

077.jpg

Fae Zante Greece!

Quote Originally Posted by I'm_cabbaged View Post
    Where in lanzarote? In Puerto del carmen just now, boiling today 😀
    We are in Costa Teguise. Absolutely love it here. Massive waves and perfect beaches.
    Roasting today indeed .
    1.5 Euros for a pint of San Migel at our pool bar:-)
    No Eternal Reward Shall Forgive Us Now For Wasting The Dawn

@hibs.net private member I'm_cabbaged's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by sleeping giant View Post
    We are in Costa Teguise. Absolutely love it here. Massive waves and perfect beaches.
    Roasting today indeed .
    1.5 Euros for a pint of San Migel at our pool bar:-)
    Yesterday was ***** roasting here, no breeze at all. Combined with not getting in until 5am after drinking ridiculously strong cocktails and no air con made it a brutal day 😀

Quote Originally Posted by I'm_cabbaged View Post
    Yesterday was ***** roasting here, no breeze at all. Combined with not getting in until 5am after drinking ridiculously strong cocktails and no air con made it a brutal day 😀
    My wife and I were like that on Monday.
    We had a trip to the volcanoes booked and it was roasting with no air .
    The day before we had been having a few beers round the pool with another family then hit the sangria in the evening . I was hanging all day.
    Only had a half pint since then :
    That was our only blow out. I can't even remember getting in and I woke up in my sons apartment thinking everyone had left me as it was empty.
    Never again :

Edit : went Scuba diving with the bairns today. Can't recommend it enough.
    Last edited by sleeping giant; 08-07-2015 at 09:35 PM.