Page 98 of 428 FirstFirst ... 488896979899100108148198 ... LastLast
Results 2,911 to 2,940 of 12811

Thread: Pet Peeves IV

@hibs.net private member Alfiembra's Avatar
    The revolving doors at the Gyle and the numpties that try to hurry through them and end up stopping them so it takes even longer to get through.

PSN ID: hibee_easty
    The amount of time it takes my virgin box to start up. What's the hold up? I turn it off at the wall overnight, so when I turn it on again in the morning it takes ages to start up, but why?

Quote Originally Posted by easty View Post
    The amount of time it takes my virgin box to start up. What's the hold up? I turn it off at the wall overnight, so when I turn it on again in the morning it takes ages to start up, but why?
    Why turn it off?

Quote Originally Posted by Scouse Hibee View Post
    Why turn it off?
    Exactly, I never turn mine off and it's fine. It's designed to run constantly

United we stand here....

Its taking ages coz you're turning it off completely. You need to leave it on standby.

I always turn things off at the wall.

I could start up and shut down my laptop 4-5 times in the time it takes the virgin box to start up. Takes ages.

@hibs.net private member snooky's Avatar
    Pictures that are hanging squint on a wall drive me nuts.

I always turn things off at the wall.

I could start up and shut down my laptop 4-5 times in the time it takes the virgin box to start up. Takes ages.
    Do you switch your broadband off at the wall?

Quote Originally Posted by ColinNish View Post
    Do you switch your broadband off at the wall?
    Yep

Yep
    Do you have a Tivo box? It receives network updates overnight when in standby, by turning yours off completely you force it to update when you turn it on which takes time.

Quote Originally Posted by Scouse Hibee View Post
    Do you have a Tivo box? It receives network updates overnight when in standby, by turning yours off completely you force it to update when you turn it on which takes time.
    Aye I do.

The missus is convinced the house will burn down if things aren't turned off at the wall.

Aye I do.

The missus is convinced the house will burn down if things aren't turned off at the wall.
    Ah well fair enough, can't argue with the missus :-)

Aye I do.

Do you turn your fridge off overnight?

Quote Originally Posted by SuperAllyMcleod View Post
    Do you turn your fridge off overnight?
    What do you think?

@hibs.net private member Just Alf's Avatar
    What do you think?
    Must be a YES then as both items are specifically designed to be on 24/7!

:D

Sent from my SM-G925F using Tapatalk

Quote Originally Posted by Just Alf View Post
    Must be a YES then as both items are specifically designed to be on 24/7!

:D

But, women are completely irrational.

Ah....

Good point, well made

Mentioned it on another thread,

Samsung Galaxy predictive text since the last system update.... It's like it goes out its way to misspell stuff or even use completely wrong words!

I fail you're Spain!

Quote Originally Posted by Fritz View Post
    I fail you're Spain!

Aaaargh that'she what happens to me as well,it'seems so annoying g

Yep
    There's your problem then, when you switch your broadband off it takes forever to get back to the best speeds for uploading/downloading, BT engineer told me this. same with switching your TiVo box off for updates.

@hibs.net private member Hermit Crab's Avatar
    Parents that park where they like on the school run, selfish lazy gits. Best thing I ever did was invest in a dash cam. Great evidence gatherer.

Quote Originally Posted by Hermit Crab View Post
    Parents that park where they like on the school run, selfish lazy gits. Best thing I ever did was invest in a dash cam. Great evidence gatherer.
    There's a decent sized car park at my younger daughter's primary school and as I normally finish early on a Friday I'm there in good time to pick her up. Some of the parents are so lazy that they'll park across the front of cars blocking them in instead of walking 40-50 yds from a proper space. I seem to be the only one that pulls people up for this - grandparents, yummy mummys, I don't give a toss.

@hibs.net private member Hermit Crab's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by Peevemor View Post
    There's a decent sized car park at my younger daughter's primary school and as I normally finish early on a Friday I'm there in good time to pick her up. Some of the parents are so lazy that they'll park across the front of cars blocking them in instead of walking 40-50 yds from a proper space. I seem to be the only one that pulls people up for this - grandparents, yummy mummys, I don't give a toss.

Quite right too, the term yummy mummy is definitely a matter off opinion as well.

PSN ID: Euphoria1875
    Quote Originally Posted by Hermit Crab View Post
    The School Run in general, Most kids live within walking distance of their school. For the vast majority of people there is no need to clog up the streets at all.

Quote Originally Posted by Gatecrasher View Post
    The School Run in general, Most kids live within walking distance of their school. For the vast majority of people there is no need to clog up the streets at all.
    Remember back in the good old days when your parents let you go to school yourself and didn't have to wait until the bell went before they left for work?

I think I walked to school on my own from about age 6 or 7.

Quote Originally Posted by Danderhall Hibs View Post
    Remember back in the good old days when your parents let you go to school yourself and didn't have to wait until the bell went before they left for work?

Me too. I was just commenting on this yesterday when I was at my parents. At the back of their house is an emergency access road for an old folks home and some smart alec parent started parking there last year to pick up their "little cherub" from school and now there are about 15 cars parked there every weekday. God forbid an ambulance needs to get up that road to the home.

@hibs.net private member snooky's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by Danderhall Hibs View Post

When I was 7 years old I fell in the sea walking along the rocks on my normal walk home from school. Got stitches in my temple where my head hit the rocks. Went home the same way along the rocks the next day. Nae probs.

Cottonwool kids these days. Ye canny do this, canny do that .... utter nonsense.

Long sleeved t shirts.

Very rare to find one that keeps a decent shape. No idea why adding material to the sleeves makes them more likely to fit badly so quickly.