Page 423 of 430 FirstFirst ... 323373413421422423424425 ... LastLast
Results 12,661 to 12,690 of 12884

Thread: Pet Peeves IV

Quote Originally Posted by DH1875 View Post
    If my wife doesn't get a card from our dogs she'll genuinely go in the huff with me. Same with her birthday. Was moaning about game on Sunday but with it being a later kick off I've talked her round. If it had be earlier, nightmare.
    Doesn't get a card "from your dogs"?!? Like a birthday card written presumably by you but as if it's from your dogs?!?

I think I'm misunderstanding something TBF 😅

For me, currently it's the word "winningest" and "he's come up clutch" in sports commentary. Just American bollocks, pure and simple.

"The streets will remember..."

WTF is all that about?

Further evidence that I'm clearly getting auld, which is my main peeve.

Quote Originally Posted by Smartie View Post

WTF is all that about?

Followed by a pretty well known player (or music artist etc) from about 15 years ago at most as if 2008 was some far off era dominated by whooping cough and outdoor lavvies.

@hibs.net private member Hiber-nation's Avatar
    Not having a clue what some posters' peeves are actually about.

Household dust and the speed at which it returns.

Quote Originally Posted by lyonhibs View Post
    Doesn't get a card "from your dogs"?!? Like a birthday card written presumably by you but as if it's from your dogs?!?

I think I'm misunderstanding something TBF 😅

For me, currently it's the word "winningest" and "he's come up clutch" in sports commentary. Just American bollocks, pure and simple.
    Nope, your right 🙃.

WTF is all that about?

You must be getting auld, it’s “the streets will never forget”! And the only person fitting of it is Adel Taarabt. What a pler.

WTF is all that about?

I'm not sure Mikey Skinner would remember. ☺️

Quote Originally Posted by ErinGoBraghHFC View Post
    You must be getting auld, it’s “the streets will never forget”! And the only person fitting of it is Adel Taarabt. What a pler.

And Tony Yeboah.

Sent from my SM-G991B using Tapatalk

The Evening News reporting on a cafe/restaurant/shop being "beloved" when it closes down, WTF.

@hibs.net private member overdrive's Avatar
    Folk that superset at the gym at a busy time and basically reserve several bits of equipment at once. I don't mind if they have a kettlebell or a dumbbell and use that between sets on a resistance machine but sometimes it is multiple resistance machines all being reserved at once.

There was an even more annoying variation on this at my gym last night. There was a girl who wasn't supersetting but reserving the next machine she wanted to go on. So for example, she was on the shoulder press machine and her towel and water were on the lat pull machine seat. She finished the shoulder press, moved the bottle and towel to the chest press machine and went on the lat pull machine and so forth this went on. I was very tempted to either remove the bottle and towel and go on the machine or try sneak in to the machine she was about to go on when she was mid-moving the bottle and towel.

@hibs.net private member One Day Soon's Avatar

Gamertag: 4 PSN ID: 6 Wii Code: 5
    People who litter.
    People who don't queue.
    People who don't vote.
    People who vote in ********s and are then surprised.
    People who have no historical knowledge of before about 2000.
    People who leave their dogs barking incessantly in the back garden after 10pm.
    People who drive with no spatial awareness of what is going on behind them.
    People who talk complete *****.
    People who endorse people who talk *****.
    People who ignore facts.
    Free massive advertising for Glastonbury on BBC news coverage when its a commercial event.
    Have I Got News for You for playing a massive part in making Boris Johnson a thing.

I am 59.

59 year old moaning buzzards 😀

@hibs.net private member One Day Soon's Avatar

Gamertag: 4 PSN ID: 6 Wii Code: 5
    Quote Originally Posted by Scouse Hibee View Post
    59 year old moaning buzzards 😀
    Fair

@hibs.net private member & Biggest, Funniest Slaver on hibs.net 2012 Pedantic_Hibee's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by One Day Soon View Post
    People who litter.
    People who don't queue.
    People who don't vote.
    People who ignore facts.
    Free massive advertising for Glastonbury on BBC news coverage when its a commercial event.
    Have I Got News for You for playing a massive part in making Boris Johnson a thing.

I am 59.
    Regarding the barking dog, simply do what I do and lift the dog into your own back garden and then go back indoors, see how your neighbour likes it.
    "Play for the name on the front of the jersey and the supporters will remember the name on the back"

Getting old, ever notice that the older you get you start to feel like an old car, one thing goes, then the next, then the next. Get something fixed and another thing goes South

Would love to be transported back to my bullet proof youth where I had never heard of a Drs Surgery 🤢

@hibs.net private member speedy_gonzales's Avatar
    People who litter.
    People who don't queue.
    People who don't vote.
    People who ignore facts.

I am 59.
    Testify brother, thread closed!

@hibs.net private member danhibees1875's Avatar
    Perhaps this now belongs in the things that give you pleasure thread due to a satisfiability ending but selling a house - time waster viewers, sales falling through due to things that should/could have been anticipated... finally got a part exchange offer from our next development which allows for us to make the move though.
    Mon the Hibs.

Virgin Media. I'm out of contract. I went on their website last night to see what deals I could get. I had to log into my account. Clicked on a deal to see what was included this was listed at "step 2 of 3". Didn't fancy it, so closed it down. I've now received an email with a contract. Changing buggers. I'll now have to phone them and wait in a queue for ages.

@hibs.net private member Oscar T Grouch's Avatar
    People who litter.
    People who don't queue.
    People who don't vote.
    People who ignore facts.

I am 59.
    I agree with a lot of this list but to be fair to both the BBC and Glastonbury, they have a deal where the BBC get to cover the festival exclusively and Glastonbury get the coverage*. Essentially the BBC aren't advertising the festival, as that would be against their own rules but they will advertise their coverage of the festival. Eavis could easily sell the rights to Glasto coverage to a commercial media service but choses the BBC so it is on non-subscription TV and the BBCs coverage of the event is excellent across their various services.

* There has been FOI requests put into the BBC to see the details of the cost of Glastonbury, which would include any payment to Eaves for the coverage but it has been ruled to be outwith FOI Act as it would place the BBC at a commercial disadvantage to their non public service competitors. But we know the BBC invest a lot of resources into the coverage across their radio/TV and online services (Glastonbury is far and away their most successful digital programming). Eaves has never stated he gets a payment for the coverage from the BBC but you'd need to assume he does, I doubt that would comes close to what he could get if the rights were auctioned off onto commercial media as it still remains one of the best music and arts festivals in the world.

Only two things are infinite, the universe and human stupidity, and I'm not sure about the former.

People that get **** faced on planes and act like Fanny's. Airline should have a duty of care to stop serving said individual. The guy had five bottles of wine and five rums on a 3.5 hr flight

Quote Originally Posted by Fuzzywuzzy View Post
    People that get **** faced on planes and act like Fanny's. Airline should have a duty of care to stop serving said individual. The guy had five bottles of wine and five rums on a 3.5 hr flight
    Ah you cant beat that holiday feeling 😁

I suppose its down to tolerance, Ive had many a “scoop” on a plane going a similar journey and wasnt drunk or being a dick, I enjoy a few as it relaxes me and then I pop on my headphones and chill out. Nowadays its coffee if I fly anywhere

A few years ago I had a pleasant wee Glaswegian lady sat beside me and she bought half the drinks trolley and more, I wasnt worried about her being a drunk old radge, I was more worried she would leave me nowt on the trolley 😁

Trouble is they will probably kick off at being told 'no'. Happened to a guy on my flight to Thailand last year. He was basically asking for a beer every time a member of staff went past. Eventually they said no and he caused an even bigger scene.

Quote Originally Posted by danhibees1875 View Post
    Getting banned from promotions and free games on Virgin Bet... ah sorry lads, did you not turn me into the problem gambler like you wanted?

(I'm a bit conflicted on this one to be fair, they're a business and have identified me as someone who just takes there's freebies and spends nothing... but they offer them up and that's their choice. Would Costco ban me if I go there every week, take a free sample and leave?).

I genuinely enjoyed by daily fives player and checking if they'd scored at the weekend, my wife played too and we'd compare teams etc. Generally I'd be wanting on some defender from West Ham scoring for 50p or something which would have no bearing on their profits.
    It's really poor from an industry that is completely devoid of morals. The wee games and free bets are chicken feed to them and the fact that they exclude people because they don't turn into gamblers just say tells you how much interest they have in the person using them.

Private Members Prediction League Winner Hibrandenburg's Avatar
    They do. If cabin crew see you are drunk you won't get any more or refused boarding if still on the ground.

'Why should I give money to Comic Relief, it all just gets spent in Africa anyway, we should look after our own first'.

Firstly it's factually incorrect. Secondly it's said by the type of people who don't do anything to help anyone; 'our own' or otherwise.

Team listings in numerical order rather than position

@hibs.net private member lapsedhibee's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by McD View Post
    Team listings in numerical order rather than position
    And also, players' positions should be stapled on to their backs, like in netball.

@hibs.net private member Moulin Yarns's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by lapsedhibee View Post
    And also, players' positions should be stapled on to their backs, like in netball.
    Aye, Jordan obita, goal defence 🤣
    There is no such thing as too much yarn, just not enough time.

@hibs.net private member Moulin Yarns's Avatar
    The BBC licence advert saying that it's needed to watch over 400 Live tv channels.

Last time I looked the BBC has 4 tv channels.
    There is no such thing as too much yarn, just not enough time.