Page 41 of 428 FirstFirst ... 3139404142435191141 ... LastLast
Results 1,201 to 1,230 of 12825

Thread: Pet Peeves IV

Quote Originally Posted by lord bunberry View Post
    We are governed by the operator.
    I'm an old fashioned cash carrying tipping passenger,though I do love the City Cabs app and use it every time to call a cab to my house.

People who pay by credit card in the taxi. Do these people realise that it takes up to a month for me to get paid for these jobs? No where in the world would a business man be made to wait that length of time.

I'd guess most people don't know to be fair, I certainly didn't

Private Members Prediction League Winner Hibrandenburg's Avatar
    That all threads on this board ultimately end in a squabble about how black cab drivers are the contemporary super heroes.

I'm 6 feet tall which isn't huge these days (especially in nz) But I find the world is designed for short *****. Using the cash machine at the bank? Have to crouch to see the screen. Same with the dishes in the kitchen sink. Bus seats, train seats and plane seats... all too short on leg room. Makes my back and neck ache!!

People who pay by credit card in the taxi. Do these people realise that it takes up to a month for me to get paid for these jobs? No where in the world would a business man be made to wait that length of time.
    Ha....

Most businesses would love to rely on being paid by all of their customers after only a month.

Sent from my GT-I9505 using Tapatalk

Quote Originally Posted by CropleyWasGod View Post
    Ha....

Most businesses would love to rely on being paid by all of their customers after only a month.

Tell me about it. My work deal with the NHS and some trusts are taking at least 4 months to pay despite our terms being 30 days.

Although it could be worse. In my old job we sold to tradesmen and on many occasions we just got bumped completely.
    Last edited by #FromTheCapital; 28-08-2016 at 10:11 AM.

Quote Originally Posted by Mixu62 View Post
    I'm 6 feet tall which isn't huge these days (especially in nz) But I find the world is designed for short *****. Using the cash machine at the bank? Have to crouch to see the screen. Same with the dishes in the kitchen sink. Bus seats, train seats and plane seats... all too short on leg room. Makes my back and neck ache!!
    These things are designed to be accessible to wheelchair users (along with petrol pumps, door entry panels, self service checkouts, etc.). Yes it can be inconvenient (I'm 6'3"), but at least we can bend down - not everyone can stand up.

There are some accessibilty regs that are way over the top though.

@hibs.net private member sleeping giant's Avatar
    The fact that I can't eat cereal without having to wipe milk off my chin with every spoonful. It's like there is a hole in the spoon.
    This doesn't happen with soup though ! WTF ?
    No Eternal Reward Shall Forgive Us Now For Wasting The Dawn

@hibs.net private member Hiber-nation's Avatar
    Commercial radio DJs. Even the ones who play half decent music seem to think it's all about them and their amusing "banter".

The fact that chippys drown your supper in sauce if you ask for it. Who the hell uses that amount of sauce normally?

Private Members Prediction League Winner Hibrandenburg's Avatar
    Drivers that slam on the brakes when the lights change to amber. Amber is there for a ****ing reason.

Quote Originally Posted by Hibrandenburg View Post
    Drivers that slam on the brakes when the lights change to amber. Amber is there for a ****ing reason.
    Many moons ago I was driving up South Bridge towards the lights at the High Street. There was a car, hard on my tail. As I approached the junction, the lights changed to amber and, to avoid a bump from the back, I drove on. Out of the corner of my eye, I caught sight of Bill and Ben on their motorbikes waiting to drive up the High Street. They stopped me at Surgeon's Hall and, despite my logical explanation, proceeded to charge me ..... the rest is history. They got the rule wrong but then, they were the experts.😬

@hibs.net private member Mr White's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by CropleyWasGod View Post
    Ha....

I regularly had to wait 6 weeks or more for significant sums for jobs that I'd paid out for materials on when working for property management companies.

Quote Originally Posted by sleeping giant View Post
    The fact that I can't eat cereal without having to wipe milk off my chin with every spoonful. It's like there is a hole in the spoon.
    This doesn't happen with soup though ! WTF ?
    No idea what happens but aye, that happens to me too! Pain in the arse!!

Quote Originally Posted by matty_f View Post
    No idea what happens but aye, that happens to me too! Pain in the arse!!
    I was starting to think it was just me :

Quote Originally Posted by Hibrandenburg View Post
    Red light cameras. Imo a complete money making scam. They don't make the roads any more safe, as they only catch people who miss the amber by a split second....

You can probably tell I've been caught a couple of times :-D

@hibs.net private member speedy_gonzales's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by #FromTheCapital View Post
    Red light cameras. Imo a complete money making scam. They don't make the roads any more safe, as they only catch people who miss the amber by a split second....
    C'mon guys, amber after a green means stop. Red light cameras are only activated after the red aspect has been displayed so nobody gets caught going through an amber, they were caught crossing the stop line when a red was displayed.
    You'd think we'd be more worried about causing an accident or perhaps killing someone by not obeying signals but apparently we only comply with the threat of a fine and 6 points.
    And yes, I do get a little humpty on this subject after I was wiped out by a car going through a blatant red,,,
    Last edited by speedy_gonzales; 28-08-2016 at 10:52 PM.

@hibs.net private member snooky's Avatar

You can probably tell I've been caught a couple of times :-D
    When I was sitting my test 50 years ago the trick question they asked was what does amber mean. The correct answer was STOP apparently. Don't know if that's still the case.
    I sympathise with the generally sentiment of the previous few posters though.
    Last edited by snooky; 27-10-2016 at 10:13 AM.

Quote Originally Posted by snooky View Post
    When I was sitting my text 50 years ago the trick question they asked was what does amber mean. The correct answer was STOP apparently. Don't know if that's still the case.
    I sympathise with the generally sentiment of the previous few posters though.
    Stop if it's safe to do so IIRC.

Quote Originally Posted by Peevemor View Post
    Stop if it's safe to do so IIRC.

Quote Originally Posted by speedy_gonzales View Post
    C'mon guys, amber after a green means stop. Red light cameras are only activated after the red aspect has been displayed so nobody gets caught going through an amber, they were caught crossing the stop line when a red was displayed.
    You'd think we'd be more worried about causing an accident or perhaps killing someone by not obeying signals but apparently we only comply with the threat of a fine and 6 points.
    And yes, I do get a little humpty on this subject after I was wiped out by a car going through a blatant red,,,
    I agree that anyone going through a blatant red should be punished and I'm sorry to hear about what happened to you. However the vast majority of people stop at red and there is no intent of wrong doing when they get caught by these cameras after missing amber by a split second. In most cases it's probably better for them to keep going rather than slam on the brakes, but they get a £100 fine and 3 points instead. There should be a margin of error here a bit like the speed cameras, but of course that probably wouldn't make them viable as they wouldn't generate any money.

If there was a margin of error then everyone would do it.
    There surely no need to SLAM on brakes to stop at a red light.
    If you are having to slam brakes on then you are obviously going far too fast for the road.

Pet peeve - People who speed up at Amber lights

If there was a margin of error then everyone would do it.
    There surely no need to SLAM on brakes to stop at a red light.
    If you are having to slam brakes on then you are obviously going far too fast for the road.
    There's a margin of error for speed cameras but that doesn't make everyone speed. I just think it's ridiculous that someone could potentially lose their license because of a split second timing that didn't cause any problems anyway.

Perhaps 'slam' is exaggerating it a little, but coming to a sudden stop, when it would be much easier to keep going. You don't necessarily have to be speeding for that to happen.

Pet peeve - People who speed up at Amber lights
    Especially when I'm going the opposite direction and am waiting to turn right and can't get round until they've passed.

Have we mentioned noisy eaters yet? Why do people feel the need to chomp chomp and smack their lips?

Being asked if I want to taste the wine in my local Chinese, it's hardly going to have corked with a screw top

@hibs.net private member Hermit Crab's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by Scouse Hibee View Post
    Being asked if I want to taste the wine in my local Chinese, it's hardly going to have corked with a screw top

The Manor House?

This "challenge accepted" pish on Facebook. Post a black and white selfie/picture?? What's that all about?

Joey Essex. Wee fanny that should be nowhere near a television camera.