Page 289 of 428 FirstFirst ... 189239279287288289290291299339389 ... LastLast
Results 8,641 to 8,670 of 12832

Thread: Pet Peeves IV

Quote Originally Posted by Hibrandenburg View Post
    Did STV (Scottish Television) really show the England game instead of the Scotland game last night? Wtf is that all about.
    A certain Edinburgh South MP has an ongoing campaign to get Scotland matches (and The Open) back on free to air TV

The Sky deal is a good one though so I can't see either the SFA or the governments budging. At the end of the day ITV and it's sibsidiaries are a commercial enterprise and will only bid what they think the rights to a certain set of fixtures are worth.

@hibs.net private member bingo70's Avatar
    When someone calls you and they don’t get good phone signal. Rather than waiting until later and are in a better area for phone calls or look for an alternative like a text or email they just keep calling over and over again.

Even more annoying when they start to get nippy that you can’t hear them.

@hibs.net private member RyeSloan's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by Hibrandenburg View Post
    Did STV (Scottish Television) really show the England game instead of the Scotland game last night? Wtf is that all about.
    No they didn’t do it ‘instead’ they simply didn’t have the rights to show the Scotland game, Sky do.

I suppose they could have put on a re-run of a 1970’s James Bond movie rather than show the England game like they used to do

The term 'bravehearts' when describing a Scottish sporting performance.

It's just so easy. Prior to 1995 journos must have had to work a little bit harder to find a descriptor.

Ian Crocker is the absolute worst for this.

"It's time for bravehearts" ...every...single...****ing...time..

Oh for the days of Montford, Crampsey and even Archie. Proper journalists.

Private Members Prediction League Winner Hibrandenburg's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by CloudSquall View Post
    Ian Crocker is the absolute worst for this.

"It's time for bravehearts" ...every...single...****ing...time..
    My 12 year old was invited to a St Pauli football camp a couple of years back and got labelled with the nickname Braveheart, he hated it.

Forum posters getting fully involved in a debate and then announcing “it’s not a hill worth dying on” for them, when they decide they can’t win, were wrong, or have had enough.

Or posters asking others if it’s a hill they’re going to die on.

Aye just that totally unnecessary phrase that seems to be a new one.

The use of the word "insane" currently fashionable on the internet to describe anything a bit good, a bit exciting, a bit profitable etc.
    I've no objection to it's use on mental health grounds. I'm certainly not offended on others behalf. I just think it's ****ing stupid.

Quote Originally Posted by Bangkok Hibby View Post
    The use of the word "insane" currently fashionable on the internet to describe anything a bit good, a bit exciting, a bit profitable etc.
    I've no objection to it's use on mental health grounds. I'm certainly not offended on others behalf. I just think it's ****ing stupid.
    “Sick” was always a strange word for meaning ‘really good’ as well...

Some f****ing folk

Quote Originally Posted by WeeRussell View Post
    “Sick” was always a strange word for meaning ‘really good’ as well...

Some f****ing folk
    I think it started with "bad" in the States.

The French equivalent is "terrible" which does actually cause confusion.

@hibs.net private member Alfiembra's Avatar
    When the price for postage and packing is more than the item itself, I need a small rubber O-ring its a special size and not readily available so have to go to a specialist supplier. The item costs £2.00, however p+p £2.95 I don’t see how that can be justified.

Forum posters getting fully involved in a debate and then announcing “it’s not a hill worth dying on” for them, when they decide they can’t win, were wrong, or have had enough.

Maybe it's a seasonal thing?

Or when a number of posters have made a counter argument to the one they made, said poster then goes in the huff and says there's no point posting if there's going to to be a 'pile on'.

Though on a similar vein, anybody that disagrees with anything I post is one of my biggest pet peeves...
    Last edited by Keith_M; 29-03-2021 at 01:39 PM.

@hibs.net private member Northernhibee's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by Keith_M View Post
    Or when a number of posters have made a counter argument to the one they made, said poster then goes in the huff and says there's no point posting if there's going to to be a 'pile on'.

Though on a similar vein, anybody that disagrees with anything I post is one of my biggest pet peeves...
    I've just noticed your location underneath your username and avatar and burst out laughing again. Who would have known that Hearts losing would cause laughter a full week after the game?

Do you think your security can keep you in purity, you will not shake us off above or below. Scottish friction, Scottish fiction

@hibs.net private member lapsedhibee's Avatar
    Not a hill I would choose to die on, but posters who respect the inasmuch as they self-censor their swearywords by asterixing out part of the words, but then miscount the number of asterixes required. It's f****ing insane.

@hibs.net private member Just Alf's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by lapsedhibee View Post
    Not a hill I would choose to die on, but posters who respect the inasmuch as they self-censor their swearywords by asterixing out part of the words, but then miscount the number of asterixes required. It's f****ing insane.
    Ha ha! Thats had me as well... scratchin' ma heid trying to work it out.

Mind you, if they have the 1st and last letter you can work it out... all asterisks and I'm flummoxed

Quote Originally Posted by Just Alf View Post
    Ha ha! Thats had me as well... scratchin' ma heid trying to work it out.

Mind you, if they have the 1st and last letter you can work it out... all asterisks and I'm flummoxed

Surely you mean you're f******ed"?

Quote Originally Posted by Northernhibee View Post
    I've just noticed your location underneath your username and avatar and burst out laughing again. Who would have known that Hearts losing would cause laughter a full week after the game?

You're welcome

Quote Originally Posted by Peevemor View Post
    Surely you mean you're f******ed"?

I cannot read anything that has asterisks in the headline.

It's the visual equivalent to nails down a, well, white (?) board.

@hibs.net private member The Modfather's Avatar
    Yodel. Ordered a scarifier, after two weeks of painful chasing, they admitted they have lost it and I’ve been refunded. The scarifier I had bought is now sold out, great!

Quote Originally Posted by The Modfather View Post
    Yodel. Ordered a scarifier, after two weeks of painful chasing, they admitted they have lost it and I’ve been refunded. The scarifier I had bought is now sold out, great!
    Same happened to me with amazon, I suspect they just realised they can get more money from elsewhere because of demand.

Quote Originally Posted by The Modfather View Post
    Screwfix £59.99

https://www.screwfix.com/p/wr6002-15...230-240v/296fg

On Twitter when someone tweets about something topical, usually a serious subject. They then reply to their own tweet with something along the lines of 'since you are here why not check out my Herbalife/Nu Skin/Juice Plus deals'.

Using suicides, murder and abuse to promote your pyramid scheme. Classy.
    "While you're here....follow me on insta"

Get that crap directly tae F..

The women at work “sending virtual hugs” every time one of them faces a minor inconvenience in their day and choose to share it with everyone.

@hibs.net private member overdrive's Avatar
    My girlfriend’s way of loading the dishwasher. All the heavy duty stuff (pots, pans) on the top shelf and all the glassware and mugs, etc. on the bottom.

@hibs.net private member danhibees1875's Avatar
    Updates that make things worse and online technical support determined to blame anything other than their update.
    Mon the Hibs.

@hibs.net private member Alfiembra's Avatar
    I’ve noticed more recently that a lot of mail I receive and also text on some web pages are using grey as opposed to black for the colour of the text which with my dodgy eyesight I find difficult to read. Got a letter the other day and the paper was a very pale grey colour with the text on it a slightly darker grey which was completely illegible to me even with glasses. Why???

Change for changes sake. Microsoft teams did an update and moved all the buttons around and they’ve made it worse

Spam e-mails. I look after the "contact" email address for my work, purely since when it was set up 15 years ago there were only 2 of us - the other being my boss (now retired) who wasn't at all computer/email oriented.

I can understand why spammers want to advertise viagra, or get you to click on links for whatever dodgy reason, but recently I've been inundated with emails from made up addresses with fake latin "lorem ipsum" text and nothing else.

What's the point? is there one?