Page 26 of 429 FirstFirst ... 1624252627283676126 ... LastLast

Thread: Pet Peeves IV

Quote Originally Posted by Scouse Hibee View Post
    Draught beers served in the wrong branded pint glasses.
    Only thing worse is when you get a pint served in a glass not long out the glass washer that hasn't been dried properly.

Head on the beer just dies and you get bar staff standing looking confused when you complain about it, it's not difficult to work out what's happened.

Only thing worse is when you get a pint served in a glass not long out the glass washer that hasn't been dried properly.

Head on the beer just dies and you get bar staff standing looking confused when you complain about it, it's not difficult to work out what's happened.

Or when (and I don't know why it happens) your drink is served in a glass that smells like a damp dog.

******* lorry drivers who fill their tanks so full that they leave a diesel slick on every roundabout. Total nightmare for bikers. Rode through Glenrothes this morning on the way to work and every roundabout was covered

@hibs.net private member Hiber-nation's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by Scouse Hibee View Post
    Draught beers served in the wrong branded pint glasses.
    Does my head in. Got a pint of Goose Island in that horrible Platform 5 place at Haymarket served in a Tennents glass. And the pint was crap.

Quote Originally Posted by Peevemor View Post
    Or when (and I don't know why it happens) your drink is served in a glass that smells like a damp dog.
    I think it's caused by careless cleaning and drying. I used to also think it was caused by drying glasses with overused and tainted tea towels.

Quote Originally Posted by Jim44 View Post
    I think it's caused by careless cleaning and drying. I used to also think it was caused by drying glasses with overused and tainted tea towels.
    If you do a google the question has been posed loads of times but I can't find the answer.

https://www.question.com/why-my-clea...wet-95373.html

https://answers.yahoo.com/question/i...1045605AAihfdU

Getting to the end of an online booking and clicking submit then the system crashing or timing out!

Quote Originally Posted by wpj View Post
    Getting to the end of an online booking and clicking submit then the system crashing or timing out!
    Jings. That's just taken me back to the dark days of dial-up.....trying to do a supermarket order, or book a holiday. Grim.

@hibs.net private member snooky's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by snooky View Post
    One of my pet peeves is paying a fortune to taking the kids/grandkids to some sort of animal farm/zoo and find that half the stalls are empty due to renovations or the like.
    No discount offered.
    If I went into a pub and the barman poured me half a pint I'd be raging if he charged me for a full one.
    To follow up the post above.
    We went to Edinburgh zoo today. What a disappointment.
    So many animals missing since I was young. Camels, giraffes, polar bears, seals, sea lions, elephants, etc. Are they all extinct? On the bright side we were treated to a host of mechanical dinosaurs who no doubt are cheaper to feed.
    Alas, the wee train that took you to the top of the hill is deceased.
    To crown it all they include a 'volentary' donation to the quoted entry fee in the hope that you will be too embarrassed to say that you don't want to pay it.
    Certainly my last visit to this sadly depleted menagerie.
    Last edited by snooky; 31-08-2015 at 09:16 PM.

@hibs.net private member Northernhibee's Avatar
    I don't drink alcohol anymore and it really irritates when I'm out and I'm told "Oh, you're no fun" when I don't drink. I have a laugh with everyone else, I have as good a night as I ever did when I did drink, I can give people a lift home, I don't get a hangover and I don't feel miserable the next day from the boozy blues. I have a really good Saturday night and my Sunday isn't ruined, everyone else in the group has a few pints and has a really good night, where's the hassle?

Do you think your security can keep you in purity, you will not shake us off above or below. Scottish friction, Scottish fiction

@hibs.net private member Hermit Crab's Avatar
    People who just won't listen when you are trying to help them.

Phone rings at 10 to5 last night at work. New woman in the office answers and I overhear a few snippets of the conversation, realise it's a big customer so make a point of asking if she needs any help when she hangs up (she's only been with us 4 weeks and has a bad habit of going of on her own wee tangents or trying to do things her way which causes all kinds of logistical problems for my job).

She explains that was a customer, and as I said one of our biggest, who is looking for quite a few items by a week on Tuesday. The conversation that followed destroyed a part of my soul:

'They are looking for this, this, this and this by next Tuesday'

'Just pass that straight over to their account manager, it's specialist equipment and the specs and stuff will need to be checked'

'I'll just send them a link to the website'

'Those items won't be on our website, they're specialist'

'I'll send them a link to the supplier website then, she can have a look over the weekend then I'll speak to xxxxx on Monday about it'

'Hand it over to her now, it needs to be dealt with asap. It's specialist stuff, it needs priced and then handed over to me to be ordered and transported'

'She doesn't need it until next Tuesday, that's loads of time'

'It's not really, I'll need to check stock with suppliers then get it brought over from Germany. Just hand it to the xxxxx now, she'll deal with over the weekend then pass it to me on Monday,

'I'll just send her a link to the supplier website and hand it over on Monday'

'I really wouldn't recommend doing that, you're just going to cause more trouble for yourself on Monday. Xxxxx likes anything like this passed to her right away, it's not your job to deal with it, just hand it over'

'I think I'll just wait until Monday, there's nothing can be done over the weekend anyway'

At this point I just put my jacket on and left.

How did her discipline go?

@hibs.net private member snooky's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by Northernhibee View Post
    I don't drink alcohol anymore and it really irritates when I'm out and I'm told "Oh, you're no fun" when I don't drink. I have a laugh with everyone else, I have as good a night as I ever did when I did drink, I can give people a lift home, I don't get a hangover and I don't feel miserable the next day from the boozy blues. I have a really good Saturday night and my Sunday isn't ruined, everyone else in the group has a few pints and has a really good night, where's the hassle?
    Age brings wisdom....... along with dodgy stomachs, weak bladders, longer hangovers, etc etc

You shouldn't ever pour beer into a dry glass. The issue you're referring to is usually caused because the glass hasn't been cleaned properly or, as you say, it's just out the glass washer but is still warm (rather than still wet).

I think the washing and drying process is usually responsible for the "wet dog" smell also. In my experience, it's usually most obvious when someone has left glasses in the washer for a period of time and they've been sitting in an unclean steam fog, or when the glass is taken straight from the washer after the cycle finishes. The best washers rinse glasses with cold water after the washing cycle finishes and allow the tray to be removed completely from the machine to air somewhere appropriate.

Of course, solving these issues requires a pub with lots of space, the right washer, experienced bar staff and enough of each type of glass to cope when the pub gets extremely busy. There's not too many of those around.

@hibs.net private member Galahibby's Avatar
    What is it with grown women on Facebook telling each other how "gawjus" they are?? WTF?? Is Ali G writing dictionaries these days???

Forever Living.

The use of the word "dystopian".

It seems that it is the new word to use to show that you're intelligent. Every other review in the Festival used the word. Even the review of Lanark (which was brilliant, by the way) used it twice in the same freaking paragraph.

I'd also mention the word "narrative", but Limmy has that covered....

PSN ID: hibee_easty
    Quote Originally Posted by Future17 View Post
    Forever Living.

Quote Originally Posted by easty View Post
    Sorry, thought it was becoming widely known.

It's an American company which is taking off over here. They use Sales Reps to both sell products and recruit others to do the same. You get a cut of whatever you sell and of whatever is sold by someone you've recruited. The result is essentially a gigantic pyramid scam with folk selling to their friends and relatives, some of whom feel obliged to buy to support the person in their new venture.

That alone doesn't necessarily bother me, but the products are massively overpriced IMO and the whole sales rhetoric is based around selling to people you know, which I think puts those people in an awkward situation - especially when multiple friends are doing it.

I know this type of thing has been around for a while in different forms and usually dies off quite quickly, but I think the combination of targeting people you know, mixed with the pervasiveness of Facebook, has meant this is easier for people to front whilst putting in very little actual effort.

There may be some people who genuinely like the products, can't buy similar elsewhere for cheaper and believe they are, therefore, worth the price. However, I think this will be a tiny minority and it basically boils down to people asking their friends and family for money, of which numerous other people are actually getting a cut.

Sorry, thought it was becoming widely known.

It's an American company which is taking off over here. They use Sales Reps to both sell products and recruit others to do the same. You get a cut of whatever you sell and of whatever is sold by someone you've recruited. The result is essentially a gigantic pyramid scam with folk selling to their friends and relatives, some of whom feel obliged to buy to support the person in their new venture.

That alone doesn't necessarily bother me, but the products are massively overpriced IMO and the whole sales rhetoric is based around selling to people you know, which I think puts those people in an awkward situation - especially when multiple friends are doing it.

I know this type of thing has been around for a while in different forms and usually dies off quite quickly, but I think the combination of targeting people you know, mixed with the pervasiveness of Facebook, has meant this is easier for people to front whilst putting in very little actual effort.

There may be some people who genuinely like the products, can't buy similar elsewhere for cheaper and believe they are, therefore, worth the price. However, I think this will be a tiny minority and it basically boils down to people asking their friends and family for money, of which numerous other people are actually getting a cut.
    Ah....I actually think one of the women at my work was banging on about this the other day. I doubt I'm her target market.

I'm not on FB etc but, I just cannae get my head round the numerous begging websites out there (gofundme etc), I doubt I could start asking strangers for dough, whatever it was for. Wouldnae sit well with me at all.
    Last edited by HUTCHYHIBBY; 04-09-2015 at 02:33 PM.

Jamie Oliver. Just **** off.

Ah....I actually think one of the women at my work was banging on about this the other day. I doubt I'm her target market.
    Do you not think you'd benefit from an Aloe Vera face scrub?

I'm handsome enough. In fact, it's possible that I'm too handsome already.

@hibs.net private member EH6 Hibby's Avatar
    Cash Machines.

If the first menu gives me the option of checking my balance or getting a receipt with my cash, and I select cash only, why the hell does it then ask me again if I want to check my balance and if I want a receipt before giving me my money? If I wanted either of those things I would have said yes the first time.

Quote Originally Posted by EH6 Hibby View Post
    Cash Machines.

If the first menu gives me the option of checking my balance or getting a receipt with my cash, and I select cash only, why the hell does it then ask me again if I want to check my balance and if I want a receipt before giving me my money? If I wanted either of those things I would have said yes the first time.
    Irritating perhaps, but people who do ANYTHING other than just take out cash at cash machine, in a prompt fashion, want shot.

Checking your balance? Do it online. Topping up your phone? Do it online. Have 3 cards? Do your financial management at home.

45 seconds max at a cash machine. Any longer and you're either a dithering pensioner or taking the piss.

Quote Originally Posted by lyonhibs View Post
    Irritating perhaps, but people who do ANYTHING other than just take out cash at cash machine, in a prompt fashion, want shot.

Checking your balance? Do it online. Topping up your phone? Do it online. Have 3 cards? Do your financial management at home.

45 seconds max at a cash machine. Any longer and you're either a dithering pensioner or taking the piss.

Quote Originally Posted by lyonhibs View Post

There should be a rule that you can only do one card at a time - if you need to check a balance on another card or draw money from a different account get to the back of the queue.

I'm handsome enough. In fact, it's possible that I'm too handsome already.
    Given the ridiculous list of ailments they claim their products help with, I think they'll probably claim to cure that too.

Quote Originally Posted by EH6 Hibby View Post
    Cash Machines.

The one at Scotmid on Easter Road by any chance? The only person I know that asks more questions than that cash machine is my girlfriend...and at least I can feel free to ignore her most of the time.

@hibs.net private member EH6 Hibby's Avatar
    Given the ridiculous list of ailments they claim their products help with, I think they'll probably claim to cure that too.

The one at Scotmid on Easter Road by any chance? The only person I know that asks more questions than that cash machine is my girlfriend...and at least I can feel free to ignore her most of the time.
    That's one of them yeah. It just so happens that I used that one, the one at Scotmid in Leith walk and the one in the Kirkgate all within a few days of each other and it really pee'd me off.

People who think the parking space outside their house on a public highway belongs to them.