Page 25 of 427 FirstFirst ... 1523242526273575125 ... LastLast

Thread: Pet Peeves IV

Quote Originally Posted by easty View Post
    When you go to Greggs and ask for a sausage roll, then they give you one, and it's cold. Gies a hot one! Are we really expected to ask for a sausage roll to be hot? I don't ask Burger King to make sure my fries are hot. I don't have to remind Taste Good that I don't want cold shredded beef with chilli.

And dinnae even get me started on the lack of sausage in their sausage and bean bake.
    On a similar theme, when you're behind someone in the queue in Greggs who asks "are the sausage rolls hot?" and, if they are told they are not, asks "are the steakbakes hot?". This then continued until they've listed every baked item in the shop and sometimes doesn't even stop when they are told that something they've asked about is hot.

On more than one occasion I've heard a staff member reply by listing what is hot, but that still doesn't stop these folk who seem incapable or retaining information more than 3 words in length.

When you go to Greggs and ask for a sausage roll, then they give you one, and it's cold. Gies a hot one! Are we really expected to ask for a sausage roll to be hot? I don't ask Burger King to make sure my fries are hot. I don't have to remind Taste Good that I don't want cold shredded beef with chilli.

And dinnae even get me started on the lack of sausage in their sausage and bean bake.
    Straight from the oven or cooling naturally keeps them exempt from VAT.

PSN ID: hibee-87
    Quote Originally Posted by Antwerphibs View Post
    Away from eggs and onions. Although I think this has been mentioned.

People who stand up too early on public transport. Train today hadn't even left haymarket and people were queuing to get off at waverely! Ffs, get a grip you pricks. No standing until you are through the second tunnel at earliest.
    Funniest thing I saw was at waverly few years back, a woman with a pram got up early (as is acceptable imo) to stand at the door before getting off, then the usual crowd got up. A guy started to push through the crowd saying he only haf 10 min to catch a connecting train, he had plenty time
    He managwd to get to.the woman with the pram who literally had no where to move and said she couldn't move, he tried to barge by her but she stod her ground and some words were exchanged. As the doors open je jumped forward and actually stepped over this womans pram (it was one of tjose big ones with a proper baby, not a toddler) she shouted something like what you doing, and reached out to grab him.and caught is trailing leg causing it to Clip his other leg. He went proper flying and his manbag spread loads oof.paper on the platform. I was last of the train as I let every one off and he was still picking up the paper, I really hope he missed his train hah

Quote Originally Posted by Future17 View Post
    On a similar theme, when you're behind someone in the queue in Greggs who asks "are the sausage rolls hot?" and, if they are told they are not, asks "are the steakbakes hot?". This then continued until they've listed every baked item in the shop and sometimes doesn't even stop when they are told that something they've asked about is hot.

On more than one occasion I've heard a staff member reply by listing what is hot, but that still doesn't stop these folk who seem incapable or retaining information more than 3 words in length.
    Sandwich queues!

Where I get my lunchtime sandwiches, there are 3 blackboards that list the full range as well as glass displays full of sandwiches with a wee card in front of each pile to say what they are.

But there's always someone (normally a woman) who'll wait until they're served to ask "what sandwiches do you have?"

Then they might ask for something but with no butter or mayonnaise therefore the wifie behind the counter has to go and make it up specially. That's fair enough, but then they yake a big chocolate cake and a can of coke to go along with their sandwich. WHO ARE YOU TRYING TO KID???

@hibs.net private member Craig_HFC's Avatar
    Cold sausage rolls > hot sausage rolls.

Anyone who disagrees is wrong.

@hibs.net private member snooky's Avatar
    One of my pet peeves is paying a fortune to taking the kids/grandkids to some sort of animal farm/zoo and find that half the stalls are empty due to renovations or the like.
    No discount offered.
    If I went into a pub and the barman poured me half a pint I'd be raging if he charged me for a full one.

Random folk who see you smoking and ask for a fag, eh naw bolt.

PSN ID: hibee_easty
    Quote Originally Posted by stoneyburn hibs View Post
    I don't smoke so dinnae know, but if that sort of thing actually happens, it's mental. You'd never go up to someone and say "here mate, can I have the other half of your twix".

IF you wander about the centre of Glasgow with a takeaway in your hand the local populace seem to think they are entitled to "a bit"!! Very strange.

Group of asian folk who despite there being a half drunk pint, an open newspaper and a rucksack at my seat in the Doric thought it would be acceptable to take over my table while I was at the bar! Their response when I returned and told them to get to ****.......there are no other tables free!!!! Then the barman approached as I was about to lose it and told them sorry no kids allowed so they promptly left.

Quote Originally Posted by Scouse Hibee View Post
    Group of asian folk who despite there being a half drunk pint, an open newspaper and a rucksack at my seat in the Doric thought it would be acceptable to take over my table while I was at the bar! Their response when I returned and told them to get to ****.......there are no other tables free!!!! Then the barman approached as I was about to lose it and told them sorry no kids allowed so they promptly left.
    Racist!

Quote Originally Posted by stoneyburn hibs View Post
    I always get asked if I have a spare smoke... And I don't smoke!

@hibs.net private member speedy_gonzales's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by HUTCHYHIBBY View Post
    Racist!
    Did you mean Lacist or is that "racy lacism"

Quote Originally Posted by HUTCHYHIBBY View Post
    IF you wander about the centre of Glasgow with a takeaway in your hand the local populace seem to think they are entitled to "a bit"!! Very strange.
    We were in KFC a couple of weeks ago and a guy came in asking everyone if they had any spare change. After doing his rounds he left only to come back 10 minutes later and ask everyone for a bit of their KFC. Guy ended up up with a pocket full of cash and a free load of chicken.

Waiting staff who wait on your shoulder and "pounce" to take your plate away a second after you have finished eating.

It being festival time in Edinburgh, the usual tourist-related peeves are always on my mind. However, the thing I always find strange, year after year, is that groups from East/South-East Asia (Japan, Korea, China etc.) always seems to have both the worst and best manners and attitudes.

I'm not sure whether there's a distinct cultural difference between certain nationalities or cultural groups, but you could not get more extremes of behaviour in relation to respect for others.

Quote Originally Posted by Future17 View Post
    It being festival time in Edinburgh, the usual tourist-related peeves are always on my mind. However, the thing I always find strange, year after year, is that groups from East/South-East Asia (Japan, Korea, China etc.) always seems to have both the worst and best manners and attitudes.

I'm not sure whether there's a distinct cultural difference between certain nationalities or cultural groups, but you could not get more extremes of behaviour in relation to respect for others.
    I was in Shanghai for the 2010 World Expo and discovered that the Chinese simply don't do queues - it's very much a cultural thing.

Waiting staff who wait on your shoulder and "pounce" to take your plate away a second after you have finished eating.
    Agree, and waiting staff who ask if everything is ok with your meal. Guaranteed to always happen when you have a mouthful of your food.

The wife and I were doing xmas shopping at ocean terminal last year and decided to go outside for a fag break. A brass necked woman followed us out and tried to tap a fag from us. Happens all the time.

Quote Originally Posted by Peevemor View Post
    I was in Shanghai for the 2010 World Expo and discovered that the Chinese simply don't do queues - it's very much a cultural thing.
    It's much much better than it used to be. I think it's less cultural and more of an attitude thing. When life's basics were in short supply, you really had to push in ahead of the rest just to survive. But old habits die hard. You'll find this attitude on the road as well. The idea of giving way just doesn't exist. It's always 'I'm gonna be first, you'll have to wait'. My biggest gripe: inconsiderate drivers!

The number of people, particularly on this message board, who express disgust at certain newspapers and media, then advocate boycotts, swear to never buy the rag or give hits to their websites but whenever the need or desire arises, ask somebody for information or to paste the information. Principles are principles.

Automated, voice activated systems when you call a large organisation or office place.

"Please say the name of the person or department you are looking for"

Me - "John Smith"

"Connecting you to Joe Bloggs, unless you say cancel"

Me - "Cancel"

Ring Ring

Quote Originally Posted by #FromTheCapital View Post
    Automated, voice activated systems when you call a large organisation or office place.

"Please say the name of the person or department you are looking for"

Me - "John Smith"

"Connecting you to Joe Bloggs, unless you say cancel"

Me - "Cancel"

Ring Ring

That reminds me of my mate in a hotel room in Los Angeles who wanted to phone home.

As soon as he picked up the phone the automated system kicked in - "For room service say 'room service', for an alarm call say 'alarm call'..... for an outside line say 'operator'"

He said "operator"

"For room service say 'room service', for an alarm call say 'alarm call'..... for an outside line say 'operator'"

"operator"

"For room service say 'room service', for an alarm call say 'alarm call'..... for an outside line say 'operator'"

So he put on his bestest cheesy American accent "Uperaidrrr" - it worked!

Just had a work meeting, in attendance was someone wearing a brown suit, black shoes belt and shirt and an incredible hulk tie! Felt quite nauseous.

The fact that the DVLA can ban ARS as part of a number plate yet allows ERS in Scotland.
    And who seriously buys a car with FUD ( saw one today)in the plate.Would tell the salesman to bolt.

People who just won't listen when you are trying to help them.

Phone rings at 10 to5 last night at work. New woman in the office answers and I overhear a few snippets of the conversation, realise it's a big customer so make a point of asking if she needs any help when she hangs up (she's only been with us 4 weeks and has a bad habit of going of on her own wee tangents or trying to do things her way which causes all kinds of logistical problems for my job).

She explains that was a customer, and as I said one of our biggest, who is looking for quite a few items by a week on Tuesday. The conversation that followed destroyed a part of my soul:

'They are looking for this, this, this and this by next Tuesday'

'Just pass that straight over to their account manager, it's specialist equipment and the specs and stuff will need to be checked'

'I'll just send them a link to the website'

'Those items won't be on our website, they're specialist'

'I'll send them a link to the supplier website then, she can have a look over the weekend then I'll speak to xxxxx on Monday about it'

'Hand it over to her now, it needs to be dealt with asap. It's specialist stuff, it needs priced and then handed over to me to be ordered and transported'

'She doesn't need it until next Tuesday, that's loads of time'

'It's not really, I'll need to check stock with suppliers then get it brought over from Germany. Just hand it to the xxxxx now, she'll deal with over the weekend then pass it to me on Monday,

'I'll just send her a link to the supplier website and hand it over on Monday'

'I really wouldn't recommend doing that, you're just going to cause more trouble for yourself on Monday. Xxxxx likes anything like this passed to her right away, it's not your job to deal with it, just hand it over'

'I think I'll just wait until Monday, there's nothing can be done over the weekend anyway'

At this point I just put my jacket on and left.

Nightmare that eh? happens to us all. :-)

"Changed it up".

@hibs.net private member snooky's Avatar
    Urquhart Castle
    About ten years ago I was disappointed and scunnered to see that the toilets at the main car park were inside the pay gate forcing 'desperate' tourists to fork out big bucks just to relieve themselves.
    Their latest devious scheme appears to be allowing continual growth of bushes & trees to block all views of the castle or loch from the car park.
    Shylockism or am I being cynical?

Draught beers served in the wrong branded pint glasses.