Page 195 of 427 FirstFirst ... 95145185193194195196197205245295 ... LastLast
Results 5,821 to 5,850 of 12798

Thread: Pet Peeves IV

Quote Originally Posted by heretoday View Post
    People who preface everything they say with "So". It's happening increasingly. Where did it start, I wonder?

So, it started................
    I included this one some time ago on this thread. It drives me nuts, especially when they are responding to a question. The other ‘fashionable’ one is, when responding to a question, to start the answer with ‘D’you know what.’

Quote Originally Posted by Jim44 View Post
    I included this one some time ago on this thread. It drives me nuts, especially when they are responding to a question. The other ‘fashionable’ one is, when responding to a question, to start the answer with ‘D’you know what.’
    I'll add people who start a response with 'listen'.

'I disagree with that'
    'Listen, all I'm saying is.....'

I find it really rude because I always find there is an implication that the reason you have a different view is because you are incapable of paying attention.

Quote Originally Posted by Jim44 View Post
    You're right. They need a slap an' all.

@hibs.net private member Hermit Crab's Avatar
    Big brother, the Mrs is sitting watching this pish, it really is the biggest load of garbage I've ever seen, there is a boy in it who has had so much plastic surgery he will melt if he stands next to a hot radiator. He has had it done to look like a Ken doll. Complete and utter roaster!

People.

YouTubers. Especially ones who arrange boxing matches to fleece kids.

Quote Originally Posted by brianmc View Post
    People.
    Correct. They should all be lined up and shot.

@hibs.net private member Lancs Harp's Avatar
    Baseball caps being worn in the gym Ive always found a bit curious, and then the modern man using the hairdryers in the changing room to dry their bodies, would have been laughed out of the place back in the day I tell yer.

@hibs.net private member bingo70's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by Scouse Hibby View Post
    People who never listen fully to an instruction, interrupt you to tell you that they already know, then make a complete arse of the task by not doing it as you asked.
    People who give ****, or unclear instructions then get humpty when you can't follow them.

I'm not saying that's you by the way, just your post reminded me of a pet hate of mine.

@hibs.net private member bingo70's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by Lancs Harp View Post
    Baseball caps being worn in the gym Ive always found a bit curious, and then the modern man using the hairdryers in the changing room to dry their bodies, would have been laughed out of the place back in the day I tell yer.
    If we're talking about changing room etiquette surely the worst offenders have to be the (normally older) guys who are just a bit too comfortable with their bobby out. I get there'll be times when it's on display but the first item of clothes that goes on surely has to be the pants. Doesn't always seem to be the case with some people though.

I saw someone respond to being asked how a bar they went to was the other day with the answer 'very instagramable'.

If that's a thing then it's my new peeve.

I saw someone respond to being asked how a bar they went to was the other day with the answer 'very instagramable'.

Oh dear! Their bad! :-)

@hibs.net private member danhibees1875's Avatar

Not quite the same, but I visited some ruins in Meixco over the summer, TUI described them as:

"It’s like the ancient Maya had Instagram in mind when they built Tulum."

Mon the Hibs.

Its very much the same, fuds!

Folks who can somehow shoehorn their political affiliations and opinions into almost every conversation/discussion they participate in no matter how unrelated the conversation is.
    Gie yersels (an the rest o us) peace!

Quote Originally Posted by Greentinted View Post
    Folks who can somehow shoehorn their political affiliations and opinions into almost every conversation/discussion they participate in no matter how unrelated the conversation is.
    Gie yersels (an the rest o us) peace!
    That’s Thatcher’s Britain for you.

@hibs.net private member The Modfather's Avatar
    Probably as relevant for the things you don’t get thread as here but the use of question marks after a statement.

Have I missed something? Since when did adding a question mark to a statement like “ I thought he was poor on Saturday?” Turn it into a question? Has written language evolved or am I a dinosaur? Surely the statement should be “anyone else agree he was poor on Saturday?”, or some such, to turn it into a question.

I might be the one who is wrong but every second post does it and it drives me nuts!

@hibs.net private member danhibees1875's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by The Modfather View Post
    Probably as relevant for the things you don’t get thread as here but the use of question marks after a statement.

Have I missed something? Since when did adding a question mark to a statement like “ I thought he was poor on Saturday?” Turn it into a question? Has written language evolved or am I a dinosaur? Surely the statement should be “anyone else agree he was poor on Saturday?”, or some such, to turn it into a question.

I might be the one who is wrong but every second post does it and it drives me nuts!
    I've never seen that?
    Mon the Hibs.

Yoghurts! I just want a yoghurt, not a fat free chemical filled pot of ****. Just a yoghurt. And while im on a rant - bananas! I want to buy a banana i can have for lunch not one that has to sit for a week til its ripe. Im hungry . Its no wonder folk buy crisps and rubbish really.

Quote Originally Posted by Mrs. S View Post
    Yoghurts! I just want a yoghurt, not a fat free chemical filled pot of ****. Just a yoghurt. And while im on a rant - bananas! I want to buy a banana i can have for lunch not one that has to sit for a week til its ripe. Im hungry . Its no wonder folk buy crisps and rubbish really.
    green bananas are better!

Sent from my SM-A520F using Tapatalk

Quote Originally Posted by Just Jimmy View Post

Nope

Best to get bananas greenish, but save a very ripe one in the dish as it quickens the ripening of the green ones. That way you can have a variety of consistencies.

Nope
    you're a hibs fan. everything is better in green.

Why does nobody queue at bus stops now? It's just a crowd of people hovering on the pavement with the bus shelter empty. Gets my back up

@hibs.net private member lapsedhibee's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by The Modfather View Post

It's a natural concomitant of the widespread adoption of AQI/HRT (Australian Question Intonation/High-Rising Terminal) as an acceptable method of making statements.

you're a hibs fan. everything is better in green.

Except bananas

Tomatoes?

Quote Originally Posted by HappyAsHellas View Post
    Tomatoes?
    Only from The Whistle Stop Cafe.

Quote Originally Posted by lapsedhibee View Post
    It's a natural concomitant of the widespread adoption of AQI/HRT (Australian Question Intonation/High-Rising Terminal) as an acceptable method of making statements.
    Yea but it's weird?

Quote Originally Posted by lapsedhibee View Post
    You said concomitant.

?